We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plainsman Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Plainsman Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Plainsman Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

When you book into a motel you would expect a smile and a friendly greeting. Well you WON'T find it at this one. The lady at reception was very rude and abrupt she's not a friendly person at all. A friendly greeting and a clean motel usually gets repeat guests well I can assure you we won't be one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barney587
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read this review and cannot recall an unpleasant conversation with a recent guest. We carefully read other comments also and are pleased with our guests favourable assessments of our Hospitality and Friendliness. Please reread the most recent reviews.

Sydney Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice people including the lovely housekeeping ladies whose friendly personalities were so nice to be around. We had a big family group with 4 adjacent rooms fro the Elvis festival in January. The pool was a hit. I don't usually take time to write reviews so this is due to wanting to share with the staff what a difference...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin_Barlow
Reviewed 4 January 2017

After a long drive we pulled off the road and checked in to the Plainsman. We were offered a newly refurbished room at the back of the complex. It was nicely appointed in blue hues. There was a kitchenette that was very handy for us as we like to prepare our own salad meals when travelling. The beds were comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannynsteel
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased our guests have a comfortable stay. Our refurbished rooms are very relaxing and a stroll across the road to the Forbes Services Club Bistro for food and beverage. Our motto is "Many Happy Returns". Cheers, Steve & Marilyn.

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Comfortable clean white beds. Friendly helpful hosts. Central location close to park's to walk your dog. Your dog is allowed on the room. You are asked to not let the dog on the beds. To bring the dogs own bed or mat to rest on. Show respect for the next tenant. Not an unreasonable request for a greatly appreciated service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie w
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Lovely to have you & pet stay. We strive for guest's comfort and relaxing stop over. Steve & Marilyn

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Husband and I and 6 year old stayed overnight in family style room , very neat and clean.Hottest day ever thank goodness for the pool and a/con.Good value for money and very friendly staff.Have stayed here before and will definitely stay again.Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlbarker21
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the cool pool. A new cabana sun shade has been added this weekend to add comfort for pool and BBQ users. Safe travel, Steve & Marilyn

Narromine, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

the room was ideally situated however the toilet had skid marks from the previous occupant, the shower had a leak that saturated everything on the vanity and the ac was extremely noisy and this place was top dollar, people came in off the street when booking in and got given deluxe rooms for $2 more. We go to Forbes a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnkaren2016
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Firstly we apologise for your uncomfortable stay. The benefit of having an onsite manager is that most inconveniences can be attended to immediately 'if' reported. From your Trip Advisor nickname I was able to trace your stay date and room number. The shower head was a 5 minute fix with a new 'O' ring. The toilet was a more serious...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Very friendly staff, managers were very accommodating, rooms nicely renovated and comfortable. Could do with more lighting around the basin mirror, quite difficult to see to shave and my lady had a little difficulty with applying her makeup. Recommended though, a pleasant experience overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisgilm0ur
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you had a comfortable stay. A light fitting has been installed above the vanity basin to provide better lighting. We hope you can stay again when you next travel through Forbes. Regards, Steve & Marilyn

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Very comfortable accommodation, Comfortable beds, clean, quiet. The only issues were hard to get a park if staying in the corner back rooms - big 4wd's take up corner spaces. Some heavier curtains which block out car headlights at night would be great too. Otherwise Good value for money. Customer service was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0m08
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying. We are pleased you had excellent service and a comfortable stay. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit. Steve & Marilyn

Reviewed 13 July 2016

The rooms (we upgraded to a Family room) are spacious. Upside: The room and bathrooms have been renovated and are very modern and stylish. Parking area is massive. Too cold to try the pool but it looked clean. Fantastic staff who are very friendly and helpful. Downside: Lack of pay TV channels and the wifi didn't work in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OzTripcritic
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed our friendly service and renovated rooms. We are endeavouring to increase our WiFi signal to overcome the weakness in your room because of a large shady tree. Look for improvement. Safe travel, Steve & Marilyn.

wagga
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately the worst motel I have ever stayed in. I didn't even sit down because the sofas and dining chairs were filthy. The floors were also dirty with chewing gum on the floor next to the stove. I didn't take my shoes off either because the floors were sticky. The Windows were open on a cold evening when we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mumofthreeWagga
Steve - Marilyn C, Manager at Plainsman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive property evaluation. We agree that our apartment is not renovated and mainly used for our rural working guests but refer to Kimothy555's review on 26 May 2016 'Good value for money & excellent customer service' if you would like to take an average mark. Safe travel.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forbes
1.1 km away
Town and Country Motor Inn
0.1 km away
Forbes Victoria Inn
Forbes Victoria Inn
#6 of 8 in Forbes
39 reviews
32.3 km away
Hotel Gracelands
Hotel Gracelands
#6 of 15 in Parkes
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Lake Forbes Motel
Lake Forbes Motel
#2 of 8 in Forbes
66 reviews
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Ben Hall Motor Inn
33.5 km away
Station Motel Parkes
Station Motel Parkes
#1 of 15 in Parkes
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Plainsman Motel

Address: 22 Sherriff St, Forbes, New South Wales 2871, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Forbes
Price Range: $120 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plainsman Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Plainsman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Forbes
Forbes Comfort Inn
Plainsman Motel Forbes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plainsman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the deluxe”
 of 5 bubbles Johnkaren2016, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“try getting a side room if you have a large car and not a corner room.”
 of 5 bubbles m0m08, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“newly renovated rooms at the back of the motel eliminates any street noise”
 of 5 bubbles X3046BJkarenp, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for renovated room at back of property”
 of 5 bubbles 29kurtb, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“right side of motel next to a rural supply store....go left”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseIreland63, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5