We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House Hotel

Save
Traveller (150)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (20)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“herm island”(28 reviews)
“white house”(88 reviews)
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Contact Info
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
186
62
23
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
186
62
23
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherm islandwhite houseconservatory restaurantday tripperschannel islandsthe cottagespeace and quietthe main hotelenjoy the peacewine listnew chefsunny dayamazing locationtwo night staythe hotel receptionlovely hotelspecial hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend in August. It was lovely. Our room was towards the back of the holiday as we had booked it fairly late but the hotel itself offers plenty to enjoy,. It gives you...More

Thank Chris G
Reviewed 1 November 2017

It is a shame to give this hotel a poor review but I can only write as I found it. We booked a three centre holiday in the Channel Isles including 2 nights at the White House. We booked it with a Channel Isle tour...More

3  Thank ChrisMLocke
Response from Robert L, General Manager at The White House HotelResponded 2 November 2017

Dear ChrisMLocke I am very disappointed that despite the personal communication you and I have been sharing since your stay in August that you still wish to review the hotel into disrepute. I would have thought a gentleman as integral to the industry and it's...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We were kindly given a hotel voucher for a two night stay in this hotel which included two dinner meals in one of their restaurants. Of course we were very excited and eager to book our room, we chose to have one of the cottages...More

Thank holidaycoco
Response from Robert L, General Manager at The White House HotelResponded 2 November 2017

Dear holidaycoco Very many thanks for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and I am thrilled to hear everyone looked after you so well. I would pass on your comments to the team but...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017

The title says it all. The reason for sitting on the fence between three or four stars is due to the cost of our weekend compared to the resulting experience. Ours wasn't awful by any means, but for what it was - it's been too...More

3  Thank Simon B
Response from Robert L, General Manager at The White House HotelResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Simon B Thank you for your very descriptive review. In short I must apologise for not providing you with the experience most of our guests experienced on this particular weekend, indeed we are very nearly full for the same event next year on return...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017

The White House Hotel in Herm is unlike anything else in the UK or even perhaps in Europe! The standard of customer service here has always been great, but the hotel's biggest boon is the island of Herm itself. Once the last boat departs with...More

Thank SarniaCherie
Response from Robert L, General Manager at The White House HotelResponded 25 September 2017

Dear SarniaCherie Thank you for your wonderful comments. Herm is indeed a very special place. Many of our guests keep returning year on year to experience the unchanging nature and very different pace of the island. We are presented with a variety of challenges which...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Tennis Court
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 1,400 - USD 1,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 1,400 - USD 1,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (150)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (20)
Dining (16)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hgrimmer2016
15 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Ron B | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately I cant answer that question myself but if you contact them via their website I'm sure they will be able to help. I have always found the staff to be very very helpful.
2
Votes
mininut
15 June 2016|
Answer
Response from HermIsland | Property representative |
Hi mininut, Yes there are tea and coffee making facilities in the hotel bedrooms. There is also a free coffee service in the Hotel lounge for hotel guests.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"make sure you get a front room with a view and more space"
Read review
"Likely the rooms in the main building are better - but on our experience avoid the cottages where we were."
Read review
"Ask for a room in the main house, but even if you are in the Cottage Annex the standard is high."
Read review
"Not all rooms have a sea view."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing