We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mont Aux Sources Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I am based in Cape Town and in February of 2015 we booked to hold our annual international conference at Monte Aux Sources hotel in November of 2015. We flew in a few days prior to our event to discover we had blatantly been misled and lied to by top management, their marketing director and booking agent for the duration...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank DiJaneWill
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We booked 5 self-catering chalets for a family get together and chose this location due to the photos of the units we saw. It looked modern and fresh and the location of the resort is amazing Unfortunately the unit was nothing like the photos. It was old and dirty, with old couches with big stains on them. The kitchen was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank YVONNESA
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest review. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced.Senior management have been brought in to investigate the matter. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valued business. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely open garden setting, with a view over the surrounding village and mountains. Friendly greeting by gate guard on arrival and at reception. Manager around most of the time we spend in the communal areas. With the prevailing draught in most of SA certain challenges face the establishments in the area as far as water supply goes and I trust...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Minas01
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We appreciate your patience and your kind words during a difficult time we are facing with the drought. Please visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

So many things wrong with this hotel from the rooms to service staff. We stayed in a standard room which upon arrival had huge cracks in the corners covered with polofiller and not painted over. No remote, small safe which after enquiry didnt have a key? After 2nd day our rooms were not cleaned and upon enquiry we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tamrin P
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tamrin Thank you for your honest review following your time with us. We thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We will investigate the matter promptly. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valuable business. Warm Regards Staff and Management...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We booked a self catering chalet your a end of year break and chose this location due to the photos of the units we saw. It looked modern and fresh and the location of the resort is very good. Unfortunately the unit was nothing like the photos. It was old and dirty, with old couches with big stains on them....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RikusB
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rikus Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We would like to aplogise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valuable business. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont...

Pretoria
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed in 5 hotels over a 2 week period and this hotel was the worst of all 6 and the most expensive. Definitely not value for money. And how can the kitchen close at 17h00 in peak season and you aren't even told this upon checking in? Staff are very unfriendly and does not seem to be happy serving...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marlene K
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marlene Thank you for your honest review and for bringing these matters to light. We take these issues very seriously and we thank you again for bringing this to our attention. A thorough investigation will take place. We do hope that you will afford us the chance to win back your most valuable business. Warm Regards Staff and Management...

Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 January 2016

At the first sight a lovely hotel, with a very warm welcome, and a welcomedrink. In the lounge are very pleasant chairs and benches. In the room everything was old-dated.I think that our room was in the not yet? renovated section. The bed looks like a hammock / gardenbed ;) but serious there was a big hole in the mattress....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank de pinos t
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear De Pinos Thank you for your review following your time with us. Thank you for the kind words and we would like you to know that we acknowledge the issues you have raised. We will definitely investigate the matter further. Thank you once more and we hope that we will see you again. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Booked here for New Year's. room was fine, fabulous views, lots of space and clean. But towels were thin, shower handle kept falling off , amenities not replenished and no fridge. Towels ran short and we had to ask several times for new ones. It would have been nice if there were ice machines or any ice at all. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SNG56
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your response following your time with us. Thank you for your kind words and we would also like to let you know that we acknowledge the points you have raised. We assure you that we will look into these issues immediately. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please do visit us again...

Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Our check in was communicated to be at 2pm. We arrived at 2:30pm and waited till after 3pm to enter the room due to cleaning staff still occupying the room. Room was modern, just a pity the toilet seat was broken, bathroom door handle broken and the shower hadn't been cleaned properly. The staff clearly did not do a proper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa B
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melissa Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments and we also acknowledge the points you have raised-which we take very seriously. We will look into the matter immediately. We do hope that we will see you again soon. All the best for 2016. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

We walked in to our room, and immediately left. This place has no ambiance - it smelled, looked and felt like an old age home - maybe we expected too much but will definitely NEVER go back!! Didn't even offloaded our luggage, can't comment on the food as we didn't stick around long enough

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicheleA77
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michele Thank you for your response. We do apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Unfortunately, we cannot comment any further due to the fact that you did not stay over and experience our service and facilities. We do hope you will return. All the best for 2016. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
33.5 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
5.0 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
37.5 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
6.9 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
413 reviews
34.1 km away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#6 of 11 in Bergville
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Price Range: $115 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Aux Sources Hotel South Africa/Bergville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on the top floor, they have a small balcony) and away from the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles europeholidays, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the chalets until renovations are completed. The hotel rooms are fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 68fanij, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose downstairs room, doors open on hotel's garden”
 of 5 bubbles MelanieDF, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Chalet number 1”
 of 5 bubbles naeemgoga, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“The new superior rooms are a bit boring as the decor is standard boring hotel decor ( greys and browns).”
 of 5 bubbles pegasus_lady_10, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5