We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a venue with a serious personality disorder. You see the images on their website, and then you open the door to your room and it is as far apart as the east from the west. The state of rooms 204 and then thereafter 201 is absolutely dismal. I read the hotels responses on this site and I see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpetersen423
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is an email( not replied to) regarding our experience staying at the Mont Aux Sources Chalets in Drakensburg. Upon searching for accommodation to let in the web, I came across this resort, it looked appealing via the website with all the modern pictures and luxury promises. Little did we know we were in for a surprise: the rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angelica F
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel . We are concerned to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay. Excellence in the services we offer and customer care is of paramount importance. We do assure you that this is no way our guests should be treated, and therefore we would like...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We rented a self catering chalet. The location is awesome. The gardens and property is lovely. The staff are good. That's where it ends. The chalet is poorly equipped, poorly furnished, barely clean and quite neglected. This could be a gem in the Drakensberg BUT it has been neglected by its owners. Not sure why but we won't be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waggy1610
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. Your feedback is valuable and will be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned. This helps us to know that we are delivering the standards we aim towards and where improvement is required. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you...

Howick, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Just had a week in unit 18 at Mont Aux Sources. Andrew the manager answered all my questions before we arrived so really appreciate his efforts. Elsewhere, things not so good. The chalet is needing a serious fixer up. Rotten doors in bathrooms, broken toilet roll holders, doorknobs that fall off, hinges that squeak terribly, patio chairs missing half the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley C
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel . We are concerned to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay with certain aspects of our services. Excellence in the services we offer and customer care is of paramount importance. We do assure you that this is no way our guests should be...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Great location and views. Decent food in the buffet. But the fact that they seem to have one towel per room is unacceptable. Each day we had to beg to get towels. There were 3 of us in the room and we got 1. They said the rest were in the drier. Same issue affected many guests. Also these towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgr83
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We are concerned to learn of your disappointment with certain aspects of our service. Excellence in customer care is of paramount importance. Your comments specifically refers to the standard we strive to achieve. We cannot afford to be complacent and we are making constant...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

My dad and I stayed here for a night before a mountain bike race and, although it was just a place to crash for the night, we were still left very disappointed. The worst of it were the dirty sheets which I couldn't bring myself to sleep on - stained yellow with other marks all over - really disgusting. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymondorae
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel . We are concerned to learn of your disappointment on your recent stay. Excellence in the services we offer and customer care is of paramount importance. We do assure you that this is no way our guests should be treated, and therefore we would like...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Last year we mention on Tripadvisor that we believe that it is unacceptable to stay there and then to get a letter that say that the restaurant area is closed due to a religious group that stay there. The management actually say on Tripadvisor that they agree and will look into it. This year a letter was received in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wim_traveler
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wim, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We are concerned to learn of your disappointment with certain aspects of our service. Excellence in customer care is of paramount importance. Your comments specifically refers to the standard we strive to achieve. We cannot afford to be complacent and we are making constant strides...

Reviewed 27 August 2016

In spite of the shabby condition of the chalets, the tranquil setting of this hotel offers the best view of the Amphitheatre. According to the helpful General Manager, extensive renovations are in progress. Once completed I would reccommend this resort wholeheartedly. Excellent breakfast buffet but please work on the service standards generally. Hiking: The guides from the local village, in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fani J
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. We would like to thank you for you kind words! Excellence in customer care is of paramount importance. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valued business. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I had my reservations about this hotel after reading very mixed reviews on trip advisor but I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed at all! The service from start to end of our weekend was superb. The rooms were excellent; clean, warm and inviting. The staff were friendly and happy to assist us whenever we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kareena I
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kareena Thank you for your great review on Mont Aux Sources following your stay, your feedback is highly appreciated. We are absolutely ecstatic to see that you have enjoyed your experience and that our staff went out of their way to assist. Customer care is off paramount importance and therefore your feedback is vital. We would love for you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Spend the weekend at the his amazing hotel. It was crazy busy and it is great to see management almost every second. Dinners and breakfast was a feast and with the Chef always at hand it was great. The Breakfast Buffets was incredible good and there so much to choose from. Dinners was even more spectacular and the choices endless....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelanieDF
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. We are absolutely thrilled to see that you had a feast at our dinner and breakfast and with our wonderful staff accommodating you with all your needs. We would love for you to visit us again in the near future! Warm Regards...

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
33.5 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
37.5 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
547 reviews
5.0 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
6.9 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
382 reviews
5.0 km away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Price Range: $106 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Aux Sources Hotel South Africa/Bergville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a completely different place in the area, there are plenty to choose from.”
  • Towel full of holes, stained and yellow
  • Room 201 verandah
  • Not anything like the images on the website - view from room 201
  • Water stains on ceiling - leaking roof.
 of 5 bubbles mpetersen423, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the chalets until renovations are completed. The hotel rooms are fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 68fanij, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose downstairs room, doors open on hotel's garden”
 of 5 bubbles MelanieDF, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Chalet number 1”
 of 5 bubbles naeemgoga, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“The new superior rooms are a bit boring as the decor is standard boring hotel decor ( greys and browns).”
 of 5 bubbles pegasus_lady_10, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay