We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Merville Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merville Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 866: English reviews
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We had visited this lovely hotel on three previous occasions over the last 15 years. It's not a shiny new place and therein lies its charm. Location: Fabulous! A beach to die for. All pale sands and blue ocean. Hotel: A little tired but incredibly homely. I think they're working their way through. This is the reason for my 4*...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dirkjoy
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Dirk, Thank you for staying at the Merville Beach hotel and I cannot thank you enough for trusting us. I am delighted reading that you are overwhelmed by the location and that the facilities and services offered were highly appreciated. My team was deeply touched to learn about your praises in their regards for which they are thankful....

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

The bad...Got "upgraded" for our honeymoon - which sounds nice in theory, but the Room was badly in need of an upgrade. Had large gaps around the doors and ceiling, letting in critters and cockroaches. Had cockroaches in the restroom every night that I had to kill so my wife wouldn't freak out. knobs falling off tub. Evening food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad832126
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Brad, Greetings from Merville Beach! First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Merville Beach as destination for your honeymoon in Mauritius. Yet, please accept my humble apologies for all the inconveniences you encountered in the first room you were assigned to. Every single detail have been analysed and discussed together with our housekeeper...

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Having moved to the Merville from a 5* location we were a little apprehensive.The hotel is certainly a little tired in places but if you can see beyond that and appreciate the dedication and enthusiasm of the staff then it is a first class holiday destination. The beach is fabulous and the hotels location means you can walk out straight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melinda D
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Melinda, Greetings from Merville Beach! I cannot thank you enough for choosing the Merville Beach for your holidays in Mauritius. My team was deeply touched to learn about your praises and they were proud to go the extra miles to serve you. Thank you for mentioning Simi, she was delighted to learn about your appreciation for which she...

Grand Bay
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Very nice and clean hotel. Beautiful clean beach. Good location. 2 km to SuperU. Taxi 200 to Grand Baie. Service was excellent in hotel. Rooms were nice and clean. Free watersports available. Good beach for walking & swimming (no coral pieces)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari P
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Kari, Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to share your comment. We are all delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We sincerely hope to see you back again to our shores in a not too far distant future. Meanwhile, do rest assured of our hospitality at all times....

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Location - Merville Beach. A really stunning stretch of white sand beach & turquoise sea within a reef lagoon near Grand Baie Property - A mixture of lovely thatched cottages in garden setting and the main hotel building no higher than highest palm tree Service - All staff were welcoming and friendly. Special thanks to Anacia, Chandon & Kosaal who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seapink12
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Sir/Madam, Greetings from Merville Beach! On behalf of my team; I cannot thank you enough for trusting us and we all appreciated to learn about your valued comments. Anascia, Chandan, Kosaal, Ashok, Kristoff, Raj & Fazal are deeply touched to learn about your praises for which they are thankful. Your recommendation goes straight to our heart and we cannot wait...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

A friendly mid expensive hotel with great amenities on the sheltered North west coast. Fantastic sunset. Very good water sport offers free of charge. Good restaurant with view of the ocean. The buffet dinners are a bit boring but the breakfast is good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jochenrang
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jochen, It was such a pleasure having you at the Merville Beach Hotel. The team and I are delighted to learn that the location, facilities and services offered were highly appreciated. I regret to learn that the buffet at dinner times were not to your expectations. However, the chef has been briefed accordingly and he will be pleased...

Grand Bay
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Beautiful and peaceful location and very friendly staff, who made us feel welcomed. If we come back some day, we'll choose this hotel. Clean and nice room and beautiful beach, could not have asked for more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 27tinak
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Tina, It was such a pleasure having you at the Merville Beach and it goes without saying that we will welcome you back with this same pleasure. We are all delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay. In our endeavor to continuously help people celebrate life; do rest assured of our hospitality at all times. Sincerely Always,...

Grand Bay
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Amazing stay at Merville Beach hotel all the staff were more than happy to help and serve you very clean and the food was excellant could not fault any of it would definitly go again loved it the beach was very clean and the towels you could change every day

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretmF6721TX
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Margaret, The team and I were also more than happy to have you at the Merville Beach recently. Your praises go straight to our heart and we cannot wait to see you back again to our shores for other great moments. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need further assistance for your forthcoming stay. Until...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

One of the aims of this hotel is service - all are very focussed on providing that from hotel to bar to kitchen to room staff. We were particularly helped out by Saskia on arrival - after a very long flight we were able to get into our room well before check-in and get some well-needed recuperation. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr George, I would like to thank you for the 4 days spent at the Merville Beach Hotel. I am delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us as well as the facilities and services provided. I shall not miss to congratulate my team, particularly Saskia, who have gone the extra miles to help you...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful bungalow room always well kept by neha. 3 star but should be 5. All staff outstanding and friendly. Beautiful beach being well travelled to many places world wide merville exceeded many 5 star will be back to merville and mauritius next year thank you for our memories.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tony D, General Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Sir/Madam, Thank you for staying with us and also for the time afforded to share a review. Your satisfaction towards our facilities and services offered is our greatest reward. Neha was so touched to learn about your praises for which she is thankful. We cannot wait to see you back again next year. In the meantime, do rest assured of...

2,519 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (545)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
View from Room (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (382)
Viewed
Room/Suite (158)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
2:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (749)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (385)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Bungalow (68)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (2)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Spa Pool (9)
Viewed
Superior Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.9 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
8.2 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,045 reviews
1.1 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
2,096 reviews
3.1 km away
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resor...
#1 of 6 in Pointe aux Canonniers
3,218 reviews
40.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Price Range: $81 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merville Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
104 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (104)

Questions? Get answers from Merville Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on the hotel side of the block, so its not as far to the beach and amenities.”
  • Stunning view from our 1st floor room! Perfect
 of 5 bubbles skistar15, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The partial sea view is pretty awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles Battuta_v2, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are lovely overlooking the sea. Bungalows also lovely but opt for downstairs if you want shade”
 of 5 bubbles Dirkjoy, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room away from the main building”
 of 5 bubbles jochenrang, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had the bungalow rooms - we liked this a lot - very accessible, quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles P5199MMgeorgeh, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay