We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,624: English reviews
Noida, India
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Intercontinental Mauritius - one of the top ten destination for honeymooners - that was one of the reviews we had come across on internet. It was the month of Feb when we touched this hotel, and was a pleasant surprise. We were touched by the hospitality when we were received at the hotel by Elsa & Shaun. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank amitk0310
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

We went to this resort one month back fr a 6 days stay. I would like say it is one of the resorts in Mauritius having its personal beautiful beach. We stayed at Its terrace Jacuzzi room. Which was the perfect bliss. Food was very awesome. Being indian and 100 prcnt vegetarian we were provided with wonderful food at veda...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karnika J
Reviewed 14 March 2015

we had booked our honeymoon at this resort, with the presidential suite and an all inclusive package The condition of the suite was totally below standard, I attach photos which speak for themselves. (Broken furniture etc) The air conditioner in the unit is useless, and leaks all over the place, and my spouse almost broke her ankle when she slipped...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Mercades S
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Mercades S, Greetings from InterContinental Mauritius Thank you for sharing your experience with us with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our facilities and the service provided by our resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced. The situation you encountered is...

Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

Please change your hotel staff specially miss adilya at main reception. She dont know how to speak with guest. Very bad review for the hotel just because of that lady. But mr neel and david were gud. Else oberoi is much better than intercontinental.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ankit123456789
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Ankit123456789, Greetings from InterContinental Mauritius Thank you for taking the time to share comments with us and we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service provided by one of our staff but on the other hand you have appreciated Mr. Neel and Mr. David. Please be assured that we have taken good note of...

Varanasi, India
Reviewed 11 March 2015

property is good .Food is good however while taking massage i left my belonging in locker and kept my slippers just below them but unfortunately it was stolen. The only bad thing that happen to us in the hotel was the staff not realizing there mistake. In five star hotels it was not expected. Please be careful in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeepakJainVns
Paris, France
Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

It is the second time that my husband and I are spending our European winter holidays at the Intercontinental. Pretty familiar with the island (already stayed at more than 10 top rated hotels in Mauritius), we can confirm that the Intercontinental has its place in the podium. Employees are the most sympathetic, smiling and helpful. Olivier at the gym is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cinderella A
Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

My husband and I just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary there, very relaxing lots you can do, great friendly service and people and choice of food will definitely go back. I recommend getting a room on the upper level with your own jacuzzi.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rubber-it
Reviewed 7 March 2015

I went with my family back in 2012, and after being nosey and looking round at other people's comments; I was shocked! we had a brilliant time and although there were a few slightly poor things to say, overall it was great. To get the bad news over with first, one of the best pools with the bar stools at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex P
Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Do not get me wrong, this is a nice hotel. The rooms are amazing, we got the extra-room with jacuzzi on the terass, well worth it. The lobby is stunning as well. But. The beach are not very pleasant. And its dirty. If they got so much staff they could at least get one person to clean the beach from...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DanielKarlstad
Mi_Janssen, General Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear DanielKarlstad, Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with you. We are sorry that your holidays have not been fully to your expectations. Please do accept our sincere apologies. I have to mention that we have both a food safety system in the resort and that we have very strict hygiene compliance requirement. We do...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2015

This hotel is in an excellent location. Facilities are so good you never have to leave the hotel. Large sized island styled rooms with good air conditioning and comfortable bed. My room had a full bath too. Lots of different dining choices on the grounds too. Breakfast by the sea was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank TheChairmanMeow

3,114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2361)
Viewed
Room/Suite (299)
Viewed
Dining (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (554)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (464)
Viewed
View from Room (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (723)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (68)
Viewed
Family Room (60)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
South Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (295)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (121)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (67)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
28.0 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,171 reviews
18.0 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,157 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,361 reviews
0.8 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: $291 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and other travellers.
110 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (110)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms are of Maharajahs style”
 of 5 bubbles mvidyadhar, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Anything that's sea facing really”
 of 5 bubbles franktX8722TP, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1014 was a great room!”
  • 1014
 of 5 bubbles ToniN719, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the infinity heated pool are the best..however the main restaurant will then be slightly further..”
  • View from boat trip
 of 5 bubbles zinahd2016, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room near the lobby or you will do a lot of walking”
 of 5 bubbles Bhupen4359, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5