We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Hotels.comUSD 263*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 277*
USD 263*
Great Deal
USD 272*
USD 272*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 646: English reviews
Start your review of The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
 Click to rate
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The good: 1. Large and well appointed rooms 2. Lovely personal beach 3. Water sports included in the package 4. Courteous staff 5. Kids centre The not so good: 1. Very poor maintenance. Lots of broken handles, blocked drains, air conditioning problems. Though they were quickly addressed, its not what you want to spend time on during a holiday. 2....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pheru
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent our honeymoon at the Westin for 12 days and booked a suite with halfboard and access to the executive lounge, which was beautifully located at the adult’s pool. The suite was very spacious, tastefully decorated, had amazingly comfortable beds, a huge bathtub and separated shower and a big terrace with nice outdoor furniture and it’s own rotating sunloungers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladietee
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good Things First. Great Room; lovely View of the sea; a very comfortable bed; superb bathtub. Friendly Staff. Two staff members in particular need mention. Mystique manager Kavi - we are vegetarians and he helped us have a wonderful vegetarian Dinner Executive Chef - Kiran Ramkalawon - when we mentioned our need for indian vegetarian breakfast, he ensured that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandrashekar P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stunning hotel food amazing great restaurants to choose from all inclusive good. Beautifully oppointed rooms make sure you get one of the rooms that goes out to the beach/sea. Very relaxing time the only down side is you cannot swim on the sea however there are 2 pools which are lovely and I would recommend a car to make it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to echo the review below of julest230. Some of the staff are superb, but there are a lot of service issues. Senior management did try hard to make it up to us, but we could see every day that there were other guests with frustrations. It's not what you expect for a honeymoon in a 5* hotel at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick K
Shivanee B, Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Nick K, It was a pleasure meeting you during your stay and getting your feedback firsthand. Our objective has always been to provide our guests with a superior experience at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius. As mentioned during our conversation, I am sincerely sorry that you have felt let down on this occasion and I can...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Westin Resort in Mauritius is just superb. Beautiful landscape, pleasant and elegant interiors, great food and friendly and courteous staff. Mauritius is naturally beautiful and Westin Resorts has added beauty to it. It should be on your bucket list.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Indrasen
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for part of our honeymoon in Mauritius. The hotel was fantastic. I travel for work so have stayed in my fair share of Westins and expected this to be fairly traditional. I was wrong. This Westin is a true luxury resort. The Executive Lounge is amazing. We stopped there for tea one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annique D
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time visit to Mauritius staying at the Westin. Beautiful, luxury hotel. Service tops and staff extremely friendly. We could not find anything negative about this resort. After this visit we stayed at other hotels but nothing compared with the Westin. So... lasts year we were back and we had a warm welcome us as if they remembered us from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loraine3112
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had decided to extend my holiday in Mauritius, was unable to stay at my preferred hotel and decided to give the Westin a try. It is an attractive looking hotel with large rooms and great views. Unfortunately the level of service was inconsistent and the restaurant menus outside of the buffet restaurant are poor value or money. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank julest230
Shivanee B, Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Julest230 Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor. I really would like to get in touch with you and kindly ask you to please email me personally on tristan.dechalain@westin.com so we can discuss your stay in depth. Regards, Tristan de Chalain

Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: 1) We fell utterly in love with the room as we had a magnificent view onto the pool and the seaside. On top of that we had a grandiose veranda, all for ourselves. 2) We enjoyed the variety of food available at every meal time, though we were expecting more quality than quantity. 3) The pool was great, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leisha R

1,854 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1260)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (148)
Viewed
Dining (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (208)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (636)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (485)
Viewed
Amenities (106)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Sea View (78)
Viewed
Heavenly Suite with Sea View (86)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Reflections Wisper Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (109)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,414 reviews
0.5 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.5 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
2.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,930 reviews
45.9 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Embraced by the gently swaying sugar cane fields and the warm turquoise water of the Indian Ocean, The Westin Mauritius Turtle Bay Resort & Spa invites you to experience the magic of Mauritian hospitality in a truly luxurious setting. The resort boasts 190 guest rooms and suites, all of them offering stunning views over the ocean, a kids club, luxury Mandara spa and a fine selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa)
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: $304 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mauritian Hotel Balaclava
The Grand Mauritian Resort And Spa
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius staff and other travellers.
101 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Mauritius
6 months ago

See all questions (101)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If they don't give you the room you feel you have paid for, make sure to ask to be moved.”
nickk967, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor in the garden on the beach is the best”
Loraine3112, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for the rooms over looking the pool. I had room 410”
pip0072015, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Most of the rooms have sea view”
bhatla, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Carry your own liquor”
Rushabhbshah1989, 9 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 263* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 272
TravelocityUSD 272
CancelonUSD 277
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates