We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wainscott Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wainscott
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wainscott Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wainscott Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wainscott Inn is a wonderful place to stay at. The owners are so friendly and hospitable you feel like you are at home!!! Clean and cosy, the grounds are impeccable and it's a home away from home!!! Strongly recommend it!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathie T
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Affordable, convenient and nice spread for breakfast, as promised make this place a little better than average. Road noise, thin mattress and HUGE ants, TV up to the ceiling, and thin walls make this place below average. Owners are not helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicole L
Bronx, New York
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My sisters and I stay at this Inn every summer, we were there early this month and just had a great time. We love the location, accommodations, its clean, quiet and cozy. The owners are so hospitable, just really down to earth people. Look forward to next year!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angelita A
San Antonio, United States
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Wainscott Inn and had a terrific time. Steve and his Bro share the desk and maint duties and both are very personable and capable. The room was large, updated, and clean. Continental breakfast was very adequate and very good coffee. Just far enough out of East Hampton (2 mi) to avoid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul W
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Was there for 3 nights. Room was fine, clean. Like staying at a friend's house. Mattress was too hard for my taste but my husband liked it. Nice continental breakfast in the weekend. Pool area was good except they should get normal size pool towels (ones they provided were tiny & you needed 2 or 3 per chaise). Also would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Girlnextstore
Maryland
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My friend and I rented a studio at the Wainscott for a girls' trip/vacation. Pulling up to the property, my first impression was how pretty the grounds were. The owners were very friendly and accommodating when we checked in. We opted for a studio, which is separate from the main building. My first impression on walking in was how bright...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I should have known when they were the only available hotel in the area for the weekend. I also should have known based on my first phone conversation and the abrupt manner in which I was spoken to. I also should have known when they said 3 night minimum, ok we will let you stay for 2 and then reduced...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LoriMA2013
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed on a recent family vacation room temperature was at 86 degrees it was one of the hottest weekends in July , all the more reason to have your units working . When we complained the owner said there's not much we can do about it . Second night of our uncomfortable stay we invited him up to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Judy P
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review

Ditto for this guest !

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed on a recent Hamptons visit and would never return again to the Wainscott Inn! Location is ideal, but that is about it. Place is run-down, owners a rude and unhelpful and rooms are not air conditioned in the summer as advertised. Yes, it was a hot weekend in July, but the air conditioning in the rooms was completly non-existent....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank FamilyTravellers2013
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review

These are the same guests with in one family who had their rooms paid for by someone else! They were rude and blew their chance of any discount because of their behavior. Notice only one review ! These are undesirable guests and are not allowed back on the property.

Concord, NC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Air conditioner got cool about 3AM and not before. The only cool place was the managers office. No pool towels, we had at least 10 rooms for a wedding and we all complained to ask for more air conditioning and to no avail. No discount for being hot. As mother & father of the bride it was so hot getting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beverly P
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review

This was the hottest week of the year. The guests were arrogant and rude, even after I added a additional AC Unit in their room and had a service man check the system.. The room was 72 degrees, hardly sweltering. These guests were looking for any way to get money back.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wainscott
6.9 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
178 reviews
14.1 km away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
89 reviews
3.5 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.6 km away
380 Inn
380 Inn
#1 of 2 in Wainscott
38 reviews
3.1 km away
The Bridge Inn
The Bridge Inn
#2 of 2 in Bridgehampton
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open year round, The Wainscott Inn is more than a summer resort, allowing guests to enjoy the ambiance that each season brings to the Hamptons. Our central location to Southampton, Water Mill, Bridgehampton, East Hampton, Amagansett and Sag Harbor provides guests the opportunity to enjoy the pleasures of these nearby villages. Visit wineries, ocean beaches, farms, art galleries, antique shops, boutiques, historical landmarks, theaters, museums, restaurants, or take the ferry to Shelter or Block Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wainscott Inn

Address: 3720 Montauk Highway, Wainscott, NY 11975
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Wainscott
Price Range: $127 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Wainscott Hotel Wainscott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wainscott Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Wainscott Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book it and you wont't be disappointed!”
 of 5 bubbles karenl593, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Cottages are very convenient because you may park right in front of the door. They are also the closest to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles BrigidB_13, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you are three or four people, i.e. a couple with 2 children, ask for a cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles dmmdtoc, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I"m sure they're all great and soooo clean! next time were going to stay in the Inn- house. They also have an area that's like hotel style and also little houses-cabins for lack of better description to rent.”
 of 5 bubbles karenoo968, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay there no matter what room level you choose.”
 of 5 bubbles slindskog, 14 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5