We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Show Prices
#2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy\/Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 386: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I like to stay here the town is good they have good stuff house keeping breakfast is good a lot more to see downtown I see thair added on more rooms this is great I can't think of nothing more just you will have a great time and a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary A M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the Troy Music Hall. It turned out to be a very good choice. Besides the convenience of it being walking distance, with many restaurant choices on the way,the hotel itself was very nice. The room was clean and a nice comfortable size. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I requested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnieb53
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on a slow Monday night in November, hoping for a good night's rest. Between the construction (power tools and metal banging began at 7:15 AM), dog barking in the hallway outside our room at 2:30 AM, and very loud neighbors, it was a rough night. Being on the second floor above the breakfast room, the sounds of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Beachwood, NJ
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Nice lobby. Clean rooms, Pet friendly. Walking distance to several great restaurants and brew pubs. Great complimentary hot breakfast. Staff is attentive, courteous and friendly. I know they have a fitness room but was not able to look in on it or avail myself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteRNJBeachwood_NJ
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed at this hotel for my nephew's wedding. The service was excellent. The rooms lovely and the lobby had a wonderful fireplace and large screen TV. Breakfast was beyond basic. I would highly recommend staying here is you need a place in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Port Perry, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stopped off to break our journey back to Canada. Great location for nearby bars and restaurants and the river. Breakfast was superb - one of the best free breakfasts I've had.Hotel decor was nice and it will be great once the construction of the new rooms is finished. We would definitely book here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
Guiiderland, United States
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The service at this hotel was exceptional. We booked this hotel for my daughter's wedding and blocked rooms for two nights. The staff couldn't be more welcoming from check in to check out. The rooms were clean. The lobby was spacious and welcoming. The breakfast was included and plentiful with varied selections which were very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carina E
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The entire area this hotel is located in is undergoing renovation, and it appears this hotel will be adding a lovely addition. However, that makes staying there now a little less than ideal. They are dealing with the renovation as best they can. The staff was very nice, the rooms were fine though the view is of construction, not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jjjjam
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is the first hotel that I've ever been in (and I'm well over 60) that felt like I was staying in someone's home. By that, I mean that the hospitality and concern for their guests in this particular Best Western was over and above any normally shown by a chain hotel. The owner/staff make you feel like you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bekssa
florida
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Round& round you go trying to find This place in "one way Troy". Then good luck trying to park in this under construction hotel! Staff nice. Security poor because side entrance is not visible from desk and is open access til 10pm.Rooms small but Clean. Nice touch lobby cookies and ice water& coffee self brewer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acer5
Whitknee39, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to review our property. We just wanted to assure you that our side entrances are monitored by security cameras 24 hrs a day to ensure guest security. We apologize that you had an issue with parking as our property is currently under construction. However we do have complimentary parking...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
10.3 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Comfort Inn Latham/Albany North
6.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
6.7 km away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Price Range: $135 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to be on the top floor, on the end, not above the bfast room”
 of 5 bubbles N1178GZmichaels, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suite is great if you dont mind paying.”
 of 5 bubbles robertbakewell, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Stay in upper floor Hudson river side”
 of 5 bubbles 517charlesw, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“West side has view of river front; good for people watching due to free concert every Wed at river front across from BW from June to Aug.”
 of 5 bubbles t0pgun, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If a light sleeper do not stay in room 211. The elevator is right on the other side of the wall and you can hear it moving up and down.”
  • Double Queen Room
 of 5 bubbles Cac1234, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay