We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Genesee Grande Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Genesee Grande Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
The Bay Area
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My experience with the hotel, while brief, was very good. The room was in the building across the street - unfortunately, I was given a 2nd floor room without view (which in my system takes off at least a star). The room was spacious, i liked the feel of the furniture which took me back to the days of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cuckatoo
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

cockatoo, We would like to thank you for the fantastic review, Although you discounted a star from the review based on view we still perceive this as a terrific review considering the city of Syracuse doesn't have much to offer in the terms of scenery nearby. Sounds like you had an amazing time at our restaurant 1060. We certainly appreciate...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was searching for a hotel in the downtown Syracuse area because my business will bring me there often in the future. I booked the room via HotelsOne.com which supposedly offered a price guarantee if I could find a lower price for this hotel. I found a much lower listed price the day after I booked..... they refused to adjust...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BfloJack
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

BfloJack, We apologize for your experience booking with us through a 3rd party, had you booked directly with us you would have avoided all of this mess. When booking with a 3rd party nothing is guaranteed including the room type; which is the reason they are sold cheaper than booking directly with the hotel. Unfortunately we have no control over...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Came into town for a wedding at the hotel and while I'm pleased for the newlyweds, the room I was given seems like a room the Best Western may offer. Wallpaper is starting to peel, the bath tub is probably from 1972 and the room itself is a little small. While I appreciate the history of the building, $150/night for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason Michael M
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Jason, So sorry you left with a bad impression of us, we wish we heard about these issues when you checked in so we had an opportunity to look into them and take action towards a resolution that would have benefited all parties involved. If you would like to discuss the matter further I will leave my contact information below....

Reviewed 10 December 2016

We had high expectations of this supposed 4 star hotel. The lobby was inviting and plush and the check in was smooth. Our room was in the "other" building. The heater shot out a burst of cold air before warming and rattled all the time it was on. Room was spacious with somewhat dated furniture. The hair dryer didn't work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cahill m
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Cahill m, We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us being awoken by the random fire alarm and loud heater. I would like to speak with you in further detail about your experience with us if you have time to chat with me please contact me, I will leave my contact information below. Nick Krenn Front Desk...

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

I have been here for several medicine conferences now and they always feed us well and have flawless AV so we can focus on the material without distraction. The staff is very attentive. I went up for desert and my lunch plate was gone when I got back. Always plenty of water and comfortable space.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusty R
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Rusty, Its so nice to hear from our guests that attend in-house conferences, we are so glad to have you back each & every time you stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty & so happy to hear you enjoy our in-house dining as well.

New England
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The hotel has a lavish lobby, but the hotel itrself is something else. My room (in the older of the two buildings) was certainly spacious, with a separate section with a work table and lots of floor space. But it was dingy and dilapidated otherwise. Not dirty exactly — the housekeeping seems fine — but full of nicked and rickety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akademik2
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Akademik2, So sorry to hear about your experience while staying as our guest. I would very much like to chat with you more about the issues you faced so I can look into correcting the issues. This is not the impression we hoped you left the hotel with, again we are very sorry and would like to make it right....

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, beautiful lobby/check in area and a very good exercise room! My one complaint was the furnace/heater in my room. It was very loud every time it cycled on. I was awoke from my sleep several times due to the series of heavy clunks and the loud vibration sound of the heat. I did mention it to the desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul S
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You Paul for bringing this issue to our attention, we would like to offer you our apologies for this inconvenience and would like to ensure you that your comments will be documented & resolved promptly. If you have a moment I would like to speak with you personally about these issues if you could please call me or e-mail...

Long Island, NY
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stayed here for Parents Weekend. This is the sister hotel of the Hotel Skyler. However, the two hotels are so different its hard to believe there owned and/or managed by the same company. While the Hotel Skyler has a modern ambiance, this hotel is much older and its rooms are starting to show its age. Unlike Hotel Skyler, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idanaLongIsland_NY
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

IdanaLongIsland_NY, Very sorry Genesee Grande didn't live up to your expectations compared to Hotel Skyler. We will take your comments under consideration for future updates to the hotel. We also have another hotel a few more blocks away called Parkview Hotel that has similar amenities to Hotel Skyler. Although you may not think so we have several guests that walk...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 October 2016

If you don't mind, no valet for cars, no water in the room, no in room movies, inefficient room service,hard pillows, worn sheets (not soft to touch) then this is place for you. Most rooms over look a parking lot.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank panoramicview2015
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

panoramicview2015, We are deeply sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately there is not much to offer in downtown Syracuse in terms of hotel room views apart from other buildings & parking lots. We do have several hotel perks you may not have been aware of like complimentary shuttle service, valet service upon request, complimentary Wi-Fi, large...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I had stayed here for a business trip lasting one week. The hotel looks great, and seems classy. The 1060 restaurant is nice, staff are friendly and the food is delicious. However, almost every item on the menu is $20 or more for a single entree. There are multiple restaurants within walking distance with similar quality for far less money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbx389
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

dbx389, As we are happy you were pleased with our service at the hotel & restaurant we are also sad that you experienced issues with the TV and bed, especially since it had such an impact on you even after you left Syracuse. If you feel up to discussing this further with me I would welcome a chat with you...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
490 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
342 reviews
1.5 km away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
1.3 km away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1809
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Price Range: $236 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Genesee Grande Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go the Sheraton”
 of 5 bubbles panoramicview2015, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Walls are thin, you can hear all of your neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles dbx389, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in main building so you don't have to walk across driveway breezeway”
 of 5 bubbles jefflikestravel, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make friends with the staff, they will take great care of you!”
 of 5 bubbles AmyK2716, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are two buildings - Mayflower and Genessee. The Mayflower is tall and may require a longer wait for an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles cherrymoon72, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay