We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Skyler

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Skyler
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was once a synagogue and was repurposed using geothermal climate control and ecologically sound everything. Casual atmosphere, nice rooms, free parking, and excellent free breakfast (steel-cut oatmeal, mini-quiches, pastry, etc.).

Helpful?
Thank 31mbel
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

31mbel, It was great hearing about your stay with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed everything as well as the complimentary breakfast. We appreciate your business & thank you for taking an interest in our history from Synagogue to Hotel. We hope to see you back at Hotel Skyler real soon. Happy Holidays! More 

Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very short stay for me- just an overnight. I was very pleased with the condition of the hotel. My only criticism of the whole stay is that the halls where the rooms are located are a bit maze-like and would have benefited from signs directing you to room numbers. None the less, I found my way without... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bohlcore
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

Bohlcore, Thank you so much for the FANtastic 5 star review. We will look into more signage on the guest floors, we appreciate the suggestion. We hope to see you back again real soon and hope you can stay a little longer so you have time to relax. Upon your next stay look into our complimentary loyalty rewards program that... More 

Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was very comfortable, quiet and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful, I had ordered tickets to the Syracuse Football game and could not figure out how to use the app to display them. Ashley helped me work my way thru the process and printed the tickets for me. They do not have a restaurant at their location but their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

Maggie, Thank you for sharing this experience with us, I will be sure to thank Ashley as well for delivering you with excellent service. Hope you had fun at the Syracuse football game & you choice us again next time you come see a game or in the area. More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First reaction was the lobby which was I checked in on Friday to visit Syracuse with my son and sister In law. I booked this hotel for the suite. It appears to have a king size bed and a couch. When we checked in we found that not to be the case. Our suite was a king size bed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mamygb
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

mamygb, Thank you for the 4 star review, we will pass along the great feedback to Nancy's Manager. We are very sorry to hear about the confusion with the hotel room, unfortunately not all of our King Suites have pull out sofa's but if you ask for one next time when you check in we will try our best to... More 

Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has spacious, bright rooms and very helpful staff. It is a short walk to Syracuse University. It has a small exercise room, which I have not found to be busy but the staff says that if it ever is, guests are welcome to use a larger exercise room at a nearby sister hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

Dave W, Wow, we are so very appreciative of your 5 star review regarding your recent stay with us. So glad you got to enjoy our exercise room & took advantage of our close proximity to the SU Campus. We sincerely hope to see you again upon your next trip to Syracuse. More 

Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is great for visiting the Syracuse university. It has a nice vibe and decor, and although not located in downtown Syracuse, there are quite a few restaurants around, and everything is within a few minutes drive. Although the room is very spacious, it didn't feel like a family oriented hotel. Breakfast was decent and "healthier", and the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gilad I
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

Gilad, Thank you for the great review regarding your recent stay with us. You are correct we are located just outside of the downtime Syracuse area, less than 5 minute drive. We also offer a complimentary shuttle to downtown Syracuse, SU Campus, Airport & train station so that is something you can take advantage of the upon your next stay... More 

Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent 5 days at Skyler hotel. The reception staff are wonderful. They have amazing coffee 27/7 in the lobby. Unfortunately, I frightened every staff member between 4 and 5 AM when I would come down to get coffee. It is very quiet in the lobby at that time, and I guess I am a quiet walker. Sorry folks. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank ravross
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

ravross, We are so happy you enjoyed your extended stay (&coffee) with us, & I will be sure to Thank Michael for giving you wonderful service during you stay. You are correct with your conclusion about the garbage cans, half is for recycling; we practice many "GREEN" initiatives that being one of them. However we will take your suggestions under... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We had very nice big room, very clean, comfortable bed. Breakfast has organic food. Only one minus, hotel was remodeled from old synagogue and floor still squeaking at the corridors , it didn't bother me.

Helpful?
Thank Oksana F
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

Oksana, Its so great you were able to enjoy a great nights sleep in our comfortable beds & took advantage of our complimentary breakfast. We really appreciate the 5 star review & hope to see you back real soon. More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I chose the Hotel Skyler after reading the great reviews on here. It is good, but it could be so much better. It's a beautiful building, the room was lovely but there were some drawbacks which is why I will not return. They are: 1) Very thin walls. I could hear my "neighbors' even when they were just walking around... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin O
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

Erin, Two things I would like to comment on & reassure you that we are always staffed at the front desk 24/7 no matter what, secondly we always have fresh complimentary coffee waiting for our guests in the lobby whenever you may need it. We are so sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us, I would very much... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I absolutely love staying here. The service is wonderful, the bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and I love that it's green. Hotel Skyler is located by SU but is easy to get to downtown or the Westcott neighborhood. The bath products are all eco friendly as well, and their coffee was delicious in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellybakeswell
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Skyler, responded to this review

Kellybakeswell, We are blown away by this wonderful review, we are so glad you had a great stay with us. We too are looking forward to having you back real soon, please check out our complimentary loyalty rewards program as well so next time you come you can earn points towards complimentary stays here or at a number of one... More 

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.6 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
486 reviews
1.5 km away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
419 reviews
0.3 km away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
404 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
1.2 km away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
#10 of 31 in Syracuse
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room at Hotel Skyler in Syracuse has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler

Address: 601 S. Crouse, Syracuse, NY 13210
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Price Range: $131 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Skyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Skyler staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Skyler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that has a TV that works and that does not need to be reset”
 of 5 bubbles RAKlein, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Tree House rooms was unique - more like two floors than a loft, with lots of room, lovely colors, fun vibe, big windows.”
 of 5 bubbles DuHBrow, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask to have a room as high as possible because you do hear the people in the room above you.”
 of 5 bubbles EmmanuelV635, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Really can't go wrong. Once was booked just off the elevator but once inside we didn't notice!”
 of 5 bubbles 132sharih, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“We had room 333, it was in the corner and large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Sparrow84, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay