We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pridwin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Pridwin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pridwin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a quietly elegant hotel, retrofitted from times when people were smaller. The bathrooms are minuscule (but nicely done).The guest rooms are attractive, but they should certainly have two night tables! The Pridwin has a lovely private beach and a marvelous restaurant--you'll love both, if you can find the hotel. You see, there are two Shore Roads on Shelter...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharon M
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We have taken your comments on board and appreciate your honesty! We are aware with the problems with GPS on the island, unfortunately we have two Shore Roads on the Island, and some GPS companies send our guests to the wrong one. We apologize that you were not informed of the lack...

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

There's a message on the notice board at the Pridwin that reads "It's nice to be important but more important to be nice" if this chimes a note with you then you will hopefully love it here. If not then you should stay at Sunset beach down the road, that's packed to the rafters with the important. The Pridwin on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John M
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We love that you were able to take from the message we have on our board. Thank you for such a kind review, and we are so happy you recognized the timeless feel of The Pridwin. We hope to welcome you again in the close future, and hope you enjoy the remainder of your summer.

anonymous
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were very pleased with the courtesy and compassion of the staff, since I arrived after having an accident, and was limited in my mobility. Although we arrived after the kitchen was closed, when the front desk heard we came directly from the hospital, they quickly contacted the chef who then cooked dinner for my husband. The water view room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank O1419VAanonymous
ThePridwinHotel, Owner at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your trip at The Pridwin Hotel. We would also like to thank you for the kind words about our staff. We hope you feel better soon and that the remainder of your summer is enjoyable.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Pridwin in late July and I delayed writing a review as I thought my negative reactions to the place would have been mitigated by the passage of time. Well, they haven't been. The hotel presents well in its website photo, and it has an appealing patio for outdoor dining if you don't mind an armada of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Grammycoco
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at The Pridwin Hotel did not meet with your expectations. To address some of your concerns, we are aware that a seagull sometimes perch on the roof of our hotel. We do have signage suggesting to take a plate cover to cover your food when you are away from your table....

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Pridwin is not a cookie-cutter, corporate hotel, but a unique family-run place, and that is it's charm. The hotel is a grand dame of a place with a stunning view and the kind of family feel that calls to mind the hotel in "Dirty Dancing" minus most of the organized events ( we did go to the Wednesday night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heather F
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the kind words you shared of our hotel! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable. The breakfast proves to be ever popular, boasting our wonderful home made donuts and crepes! We hope to welcome you to our hotel in the future and hope that you enjoy...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent location and service from the staff, especially from James Manion the night Porter who went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. The Wednesday night cookouts are a must and the live bands are great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review, all our staff work hard, and James is certainly an asset to our team! Enjoy your summer!

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are absolutely disgusting. It's more of a dorm than a hotel. The rooms are musty smelling. The staff were friendly at first and then totally unhelpful. We are so sorry that we booked at The Pridwin and we will absolutely never come back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HanSamNo
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay at The Pridwin Hotel was not as expected. To address the issues that you mentioned in your review, the hotel was first opened in 1927, we have tried very hard to maintain the charm of the original building, whilst keeping it up to date for the modern guest. Our rooms are decorated to a...

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I will keep this very short. I was a little nervous after reading previous negative reviews. When I arrived I was so happy with my decision to stay at the pridwin. It was perfect, beautiful location, the staff extremely friendly and the service excellent. I would like to come back here every summer

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sage C
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found are service to a high standard. We hope to welcome you back to The Pridwin Hotel in the near future!

Brightwaters, New York
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at The Pridwin with another couple for one night on August 7. You can get a one night stay during the week.The Pridwin is an old school hotel that is a little tired and it really never left the 50s but it is charming, pretty well run, fairly quiet and has a "wow" location. The grounds are really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tedray139
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the charm and location of our hotel and that you had a chance to visit our private pool and beach. The Pridwin breakfast is always a hit, especially the donuts! We hope that you visit us again soon, and that the remainder of your summer...

North Woodmere, NY
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have vacationed often at Shelter Island over the past twenty or so years but for any number of reasons never stayed at the Pridwin. I am happy to say that we did finally have a chance to spend a few days at the Pridwin during the week of August 4th and cannot wait to return. My only regret is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drichman
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we're ecstatic that you hope to join us again in the future! We look forward to welcoming you and your family again! Have a lovely summer!

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
1.2 km away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
60 reviews
3.6 km away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
10.0 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
459 reviews
3.7 km away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
32.7 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Price Range: $259 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
The Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island, Hamptons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
New York City, New York
5 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose between a view and a normal sized room...”
 of 5 bubbles MargaritaP287, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back can be noisy with the morning bustle of getting the restaurant ready.”
 of 5 bubbles Butterfly-lane, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a water view”
 of 5 bubbles TonyF22, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“First floor room rates are not advertised, but when i called - the girl offered me this option ($100/night difference)”
 of 5 bubbles 633jessicaz, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wednesday night cookout is a big event. If you want to go to bed before 11pm be ready to hear the music in your room and the bass booming.”
 of 5 bubbles 30carolm, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay