We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pridwin Hotel

Booking.comUSD 195*
View Deal
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Pridwin Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pridwin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
New York City
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location near sunset beach where there is beautiful beach accessibility. Rooms are dated and can use a major renovation especially the bathrooms pretty scary . They try to make up for it with a complimentary breakfast in the morning. Shelter island is beautiful. Just be prepared for rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c_abo_66_ca
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are in the process of completing renovations to all of our hotel bathrooms and are sorry you experienced an older one. We do hope that you will consider the Pridwin again soon and if so, please contact me directly to discuss our various room options. Jennifer Bolton Guest Experience...

Bayport, New York
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

For $350 a night and that wad the cheap room not even a weekend. No mini fridge and had musty mildew odor.Rooms need updating. The bbq on Wed was ok at best. Waited on line half hour for food with 2 small children as locals or people not from hotel and pulling up in boats cut the line. Not fun!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 221kevin
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We want to thank you for staying with us and very much appreciate the feedback, though we are sad to read of your disappointment. Due to the vintage of the hotel, we are unable to add modern conveniences such as mini fridges and coffee makers to our rooms. Due to NY State Liquor Authority regulations, self-procured alcoholic beverages can only...

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 2 September 2016

My fiancé and I arrived at the hotel a few hours early, the staff was friendly and our room was ready and clean for check in. The beach was private and well kept by the staff with cushioned lounge chairs and umbrellas. The pool area was even more pleasing. It was super private nestled by trees yet we could still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tug11
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you found the staff friendly and attentive. Our hotel, beach and pool are always guaranteed to satisfy our guests and we are very pleased you were able to experience all the hotel has to offer, including the Wednesday Night Cookout and a great night’s sleep. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Pridwin and I loved it for all the same reasons I loved it the first time. Let's get this out of the way the Pridwin is not a luxury hotel, it doesn't obsess about thread count for linens or expect it's staff to be obsequious lap dogs, it is a Shelter Island institution...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you appreciate the old world charm of the Pridwin, and Shelter Island itself, and hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Jennifer Bolton Guest Experience Manager The Pridwin Hotel

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stayed in one of their cabins last week with my wife and my 19 year old son. Cabin wasn't ready for nearly two hours past check-in time. The exterior of the cottage was in need of stain/paint with peeling occurring in multiple places. The screen door to a wooden deck had a broken lock relying solely on a stick meant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul L
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for your inconvenience upon arrival and are saddened that you did not feel that your cottage was exceptional. We appreciate all of your feedback. Maintaining a hotel that is nearly 100 years old to standards that retain its original charm has its challenges. Our design aim for the...

Holbrook, Arizona
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a quick getaway anniversary celebration at the Pridwin. From the moment we arrived, the staff could not be any more friendly and hospitable. It may seem small, but I really loved the different water stations throughout the hotel offering pear and apple infused water, lemon infused water etc. It was truly refreshing after getting lost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kibi94
ThePridwinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review and we are so glad you found the staff welcoming and helpful. Our hotel, beach and pool are always guaranteed to satisfy our guests, and we're very pleased that you got to experience all the Pridwin has to offer for your anniversary celebration. We can't wait to welcome you back to the...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I think if I had read the reviews of the Pridwin before going , I'd have thought twice about booking ..thankfully I only looked up the resort on their website and going by the images of the place reckoned if would be fine ..and it was.. Firstly lets get things in perspective ..in the Hamptons , there are no Four...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony F
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, we hope you have a pleasant summer and hope to welcome you back to the Pridwin in the future.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We came here on a Monday-Wednesday for an easy getaway. The hotel is lovely. Yes it's old, but we knew that going in. We stayed on the first floor by the bar - and were able to get a deal with the stipulation that we couldn't ask for a refund for noise complaints. If you're not a very light/early sleeper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessica z
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review, we hope you have a pleasant summer and hope to welcome you back to the Pridwin in the future.

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Dear friends, We have never before had such a degrading experience in any hotel in the whole world.  What a nightmare. The hotel’s website misleadingly alludes to an establishment of classic style that could possibly justify the rates they demand. Instead, to our great dismay what we found is a dirty YMCA style hostel / beer-smelling college dormitory. We checked...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank AlessandroBarile
PridwinOffice, Guest Relations Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us and we appreciate the opportunity to redress your concerns, as we did, in person, at the hotel. We do not wish our response to be exhaustive, however, for clarity, we feel it is important to offer some perspective to the points raised. The...

Dix Hills, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This was our second stay at the Pridwin. There are many things I love about the place and would most likely stay here again. BUT they are in desperate need of updating their lobby, lobby bathrooms, and room bathrooms. The carpeting in the lobby, up the stairs and in the rooms looks worn, dirty and very old. The ladies bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barbara m

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
1.3 km away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
63 reviews
10.0 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
213 reviews
32.7 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
29.0 km away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
3.4 km away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Price Range: $256 - $1,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island
The Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island, Hamptons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago
New York City, New York
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pridwin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“both waterfront and court views have their charms.”
iandU644IF, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My favorite rooms are the corner water view rooms on the 2nd/3rd Floor”
craigs83, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose between a view and a normal sized room...”
MargaritaP287, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back can be noisy with the morning bustle of getting the restaurant ready.”
Butterfly-lane, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a water view”
TonyF22, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 195* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 195
HotelQuickly
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates