We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Danford's Hotel & Marina

Booking.comUSD 177*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 177*
USD 177*
USD 177*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Danford\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 445: English reviews
Start your review of Danford's Hotel & Marina
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel does NOT deserve the price tag it comes with. I booked a bi-level junior suite for a pricey $280 per night and this is what I received: * A shower that ran freezing then scalding while you were trying to use it * An air-conditioner that made such a horrendous noise when it was switched on that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krinkles28
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a room on the water but instead are in an old building a block and a half from the water. We are on the third floor and there is no elevator. We were charged for parking but there are no spots available. The staff is clueless. Avoid this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Karen D., Thank you for being our guest. Upon reviewing your reservation you booked a Village View King room. The room you stayed in the night in is in our Jetty building and has a view of the Port Jefferson Village. While we do have many rooms that overlook the Harbor, this is not what you reserved. Since you...

Holbrook, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had brunch there today. $300/4 people with tip. Wait staff was uninterested, slow & didn't appear to want to be there. Price appeared to have been raised for Easter. Food, was at best, adequate. Have never been to Sunday brunch were a Bloody Mary or Mimosa were not part of the fixed price. Will not go there again. Supper Inn,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Michael W., I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your Easter Brunch at Wave Seafood Kitchen. This is not the normal feedback we get from our Holiday guests that book with us year over year. I will be sure to share your concerns with our food and beverage team as your feedback is important to us....

EDGEWATER
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is beautiful, the parking is terrible especially since we had to move the car a couple of times. However you can purchase a parking tag which helped some. We requested an early check-in. Didn't happen, but they had 5 weddings over the same weekend so it was very busy. Ate in the dining room, spectacular view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARY M
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Mary M., Thank you for being our guest and for the review. We are glad you had a great weekend. With the historic nature of our hotel and the 7 buildings that make up Danfords, some of our rooms are walk up. We are in the middle of installing a second elevator to help our guests and give them...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having been residents of Long Island in the late 90's/early 2000's, my family ate regularly at Danfords so we decided to stay there this week on a three night trip down memory lane. It is also worth noting that I stay at hotels over 150 nights a year and have never given a negative TA review. Danfords is beautifully situated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve D
Saint James, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a group of about 40 executives in an offsite company meeting at Danford's last week. The accommodations were perfect for our team which consisted of a mix of local residents and others traveling from across the country who were able to get lodging here as well. The meeting room on the 2nd floor was professional and perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joe6343
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Joe6343, Thank you for the great review and for being our guest. We hope that we helped you achieve the goals of your meeting. It was a pleasure hosting your team and we look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Michael Bonawandt General Manager

Toronto
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The quaint rooms, interior, and restaurant were all very cozy and inviting. This historic hotel is located in the heart of the village of Port Jefferson (or Port Jeff) which was settled in the 17th century. With a marina and pretty water views, this hotel is a great location for special events as well. The food in Wave restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bokalil
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Bokalil, Thank you for the great review and for your feedback. I will be certain to share it with our Food and Beverage team as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Michael Bonawandt General Manager

Smithtown, New York
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Beautiful quaint getaway.I booked the elegance package for an over nite including dinner and breakfast. The rooms this time of the year are quite chilly but to be expected.Called front desk and maintenance was at my room with a heater in minutes.Food was exceptional,staff very nice,kelly waitress was charming and friendly. We were engaged here 20years ago and came back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjr421
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear pjr421, Thank you for thinking of Danfords to spend your Anniversary with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. You got engaged at Danfords - I spent my Honeymoon Night at Danfords - It is a special place. Best Wishes from the Danfords Family for many more! Sincerely, Michael Bonawandt General...

Connecticut
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Took the ferry over to meet family in Long Island Island to celebrate ny husbands 60th Birthday. Looking forward to gathering in the bar and a beautiful dinner. Called twice , once to make the reservation 2 weeks in advance and then the day before to confirm that we were all set. We walked in the front to draped plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trvlr57
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear trvlr57, Happy Birthday to your husband and thank you for choosing Danfords to host your celebration. I do apologize that our staff did not tell you in advance that our normally dinning room was be updated this week. All of our full offerings were being served in our Brookhaven room and Sail Loft. Our guests normally enjoy the birds...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 January 2017

I checked in and the room charges were covered by my host but I was asked for a credit card to cover incidental charges, a common practice by hotels. Next morning my credit card company informed me that a pending $100 charge had been received by them from this hotel At 9 am I checked out and informed the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank downunderyankee
MBonawandt, General Manager at Danford's Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Dear downunderyankee, I was disappointed reading your review and apologize for your experience. As you stated, it is common industry practice to take an "authorization" for incidentals upon arrival, however, it is a authorization - not a charge. I believe you may have used a debit card instead of credit card. Debit cards have different banking policies from credit cards...

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
29.4 km away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
505 reviews
7.4 km away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
17.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
711 reviews
38.1 km away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
WAVE Seafood Kitchen
WAVE Seafood Kitchen
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Address: 25 East Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Price Range: $216 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Danford's Hotel & Marina staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Danford's Hotel & Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a room with a view of the sound.”
480MARYM, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms farthest from the lobby are quieter.”
bokalil, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“During winter months you may want to stay lower rooms, you do get quite the breeze.”
pjr421, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great view from the E building and especially the junior suite. E building also tends to be quieter as are upstairs rooms.”
  • This is a view of the town at night. Looking the other way, we also had a view of the water.
B925VTlisat, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the main building”
truthintravel60763, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 177* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 177
Expedia.comUSD 177
TravelocityUSD 177
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates