We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mohonk Mountain House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mohonk Mountain House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,838: English reviews
Bedford, New Hampshire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent three days at the Mohonk Mountain house in a lovely room and enjoys wonderful meals. The hotel was full, but the excellent service never failed. Weather was decent enough for hiking and indoor entertainment was provided as well. Already booked our room for next Thanksgiving.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

ii have been wanting to come here for a while and we finally did.My husband surprised me with an anniversary/birthday weekend which was ridiculously expensive just to stay for 2 nights....We arrived to the valet parking, which was a joke, no one was willing to take our bags up to our room, they said they were quite busy that night....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Nickia78
Eric G, General Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this review

Hello Nickia78, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. This is the first time we were made aware of this issue and would like to know more about how we can address your concerns. Please reach out to us at guestrelations@mohonk.com. Thank you again...

Northern Virginia, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort made me nostalgic for the summer camps of my youth, and for that reason I really liked it. (My husband and my son were less impressed.) Our room was recently remodeled but very tight for three people. We had to take turns getting dressed. (I couldn't get a larger room because I waited too long to book.) The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wishmonger
Eric G, General Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this review

Hello Wishmonger, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed many of the activities offered during your summer stay. Most of our popular rooms are booked pretty quickly so it is recommended to make your reservation as early as possible. Booking a stay in early or late summer may also be a good idea since the...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed there with my my wife. The house and location is great. The service from the valet to the checkout is very poor for a 5 start hotel. Staff not friendly and they do not look like they enjoy there job. No customer services. The tea service is just shocking and the dinner and Sunday Brunch was way below par....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JOHANNES L
Eric G, General Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this review

Hello JOHANNES L, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We regret to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. Our staff is dedicated to meeting the needs of our guests and making sure you have access to anything you may need for a comfortable stay. We value the feedback of our guests and use...

Columbia, MD
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and had an excellent time. The staff from the valet to the front desk to the wait staff were all friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was a "junior suite" as we had two adults and 2 older kids. It was well done but on the small side. The only complaint was that the plumbing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vacationisfun_8
cville
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A step above shabby-chic...bathrooms, linens all fine, furniture, furnishings dated, but all in good shape. But that is not why one would go there.... One of a kind structure, built in three phases, over 100 plus years. I had seen the ad in the Sunday NYT for 30 years... Our room had a fireplace, view of lake, and small balcony....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hieCville
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is by far, one of the best places I have had the luxury of visiting in the NorthEast. Just driving past the initial gates to the entrance of the property was amazing enough. You go through this small road with huge fall trees lined up along both sides and the view was just stunning. The property itself looks to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heyjenz
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife took me here for my 60th birthday without telling me any of the details. It is one more amazing place to add to your bucket list. If you have never been here your in for quite the adventure on this trip. Its all inclusive and without question a fabulous place to stay and see. I usually stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin S
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mohonk is a truly beautiful place. There are lots of outdoor activities and hotel, even though it is big, has a family feel to it. Some say it is expensive, but given all the work that must go into keeping the trails and all the surroundings in shape I think it was well worth the price. The only thing that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank magnus434
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall our stay was pleasant but not amazing. I am not sure if we would come back again. Here are some points why - The rooms need a makeover they are very dated and some aspects in poor shape. The bedding is the basic with a thin sheet and thin blanket. - there are issues with heat the common spaces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murl_Saunders

1,020 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (999)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (317)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (414)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.5 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
312 reviews
21.6 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
426 reviews
13.2 km away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
761 reviews
30.1 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
8.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Price Range: $682 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York
Mohonk Mountain House New York/New Paltz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mohonk Mountain House staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Mohonk Mountain House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have a better view of lake or valley.”
  • view of the lake from Eagle Cliff hiking trail.
 of 5 bubbles 661helend, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a remodeled room”
 of 5 bubbles Wishmonger, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I prefer the mountain rooms with the sunset view . over the lake side views”
 of 5 bubbles kevinsR7868QC, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms with fireplace. The smell of smoke can be very strong”
 of 5 bubbles magnus434, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just express your desires when booking; if you are noise sensitive, ask for a quiet location. If you need a stall shower tell them.”
 of 5 bubbles TeamLeaderCAM, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay