We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

A Wave Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
A Wave Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for A Wave Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
mberga25
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We didn't know what to expect, but it definitely wasn't this - especially for the price. Although our room appeared clean, we hard a hard time believing it. The place smelled very old, with very old bedspreads, carpeting, and amenities. The cauking was cracking in the bathroom and again, even though it looked clean, you felt like you wanted to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank mberga25
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mberga25, Thank you for your feedback regarding our property. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as expected. If only we were made aware, we would have done our best to accommodate any request/concern. We do general maintenance of the property such as carpet cleaning, painting etc. on an annual basis. We are aware that it... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last Labor Day with my husband and two kids, and what a waste of money!! There were kids staying 8 to a room, partying all night. Montauk used to be a great family destination, but it's been ruined by party kids who take the train out, stay 10 in a room, and ruin any... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tracy f
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tracy F, Thank you for your review. Montauk has changed a lot over the years. It is unfortunate that you have decided not to return to such a beautiful and quaint town. Apart from the trails and beaches, there are plenty new businesses that offer a variety of services, that were never an option before. With new business, comes... More 

Travellers are raving about these Montauk hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

For $250 a night, you'd think they would at least mop the hair off the bathroom floor. Or maybe clear the giant hairball out of the bathtub so it would drain. Or if not that, at least consider not leaving the envelope requesting tip for the maid. Really? I'd move to another hotel, but unfortunately I'm not made of money... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank DakotaNYC
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear DakotaNYC, It is very unfortunate and disheartening that your stay with us was not as you expected. Being competitively priced, we try our best o ensure that our guests have the best experience in Montauk, and we did our best to correct all the issues you brought to our attention. Our housekeepers have more that 10 years experience, and... More 

Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

You get what you pay for in Montauk....reasonable rates for the location and season...no frills but clean rooms, great staff....nice pool...our room had full kitchen (which we didn't use but it was there).The beds in our room where a bit hard..but the beds in the other room we booked where good. Would stay there again.. CR Holbrook

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen R
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Glad we stayed here nice rooms great location sweet staff larger room then we expected nice pool when the beach was windy we really enjoyed the stay look forward to coming back in August you guys were great

Helpful?
Thank Esta22
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed here over the summer and have been meaning to leave a review for a while but haven't had a chance till now. I will make this one simple. Clean, near beach, big pool, reasonable rates. Need I say more?

Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

AC wasn't working and couldn't really sleep with the windows open...as there were no screens in them. The shower was a dribble at best. I can't believe I paid money to stay here. I'm not that picky but this was ridiculous.

Helpful?
2 Thank Beanie88
Temple Hills, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I can't begin to tell you how horrific the Wave Inn experience was for my family. My family reserved 3 rooms on line to attend a wedding the weekend of 9/22/12. The rooms were a wreck and apparently furnished with cast offs found on the street. The first evening, a mouse was swimming in the pool. Looking for customer service?... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan H
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We spent a 4 days at the hotel as my mother insisted we stay near beach and in town with access to a pool. The Wave Inn had all of that. We also got the s1 bedroom suite with lots of room and kitchenette. Also had a full refrigerator. However it also had a few problems. The futon sofa was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ssana
Smithtown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Pros: location. Easy walk to beach & town. Clean room with decent pool. Cons: futon that flips into "bed" is at least 20 years old, does not fold flat, did not come with bedding & was disgusting. Mattresses are very hard & uncomfortable. Unprofessional housekeeping - did not come until 2:45 pm (even though we had been out of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.3 km away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
0.2 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 41 in Montauk
287 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Born Free Motel
Born Free Motel
#30 of 41 in Montauk
53 reviews
0.7 km away
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Atlantic Terrace Motel
#18 of 41 in Montauk
216 reviews
0.0 km away
Sole East Beach
Sole East Beach
#33 of 41 in Montauk
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Address: 32 S Elmwood Ave, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954-5374
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Wave Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
Hotel a Wave
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from A Wave Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get a room on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles jsjjf, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!! Beware!”
 of 5 bubbles esegrs, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor are just great - quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles bd721, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Decide whether you want quiet and serene or all the conveniences.”
 of 5 bubbles 395carmenr, 18 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles TruthB_11, 24 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay