We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Gurney\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
Old Westbury, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nothing is perfect but the four of us agree that the stay we had was as good as it can be. Everything from the room, dinner, breakfast and the spa service was relaxing delicious and fun. We will definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gladysb754
Sea Cliff, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love Montauk, so being there helped. But this hotel for the price was NOT what I was expecting. The Maid staff was very nice, helpful, and attentive. One of the front desk attendants were friendly... everyone else? Cold, dismissive and unfriendly. Are room was not in the greatest location, over looking the parking lot, but that didn't matter to... More 

Helpful?
Thank klorz976
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Gurney's is the most breathtakingly beautiful place in the world. The incredible sights and sounds provided by the ocean make it a stunning and spectacular place to be. The relaxing and peaceful ambiance created by the beach is outstanding. The sunrises and sunsets you experience here stay with you forever. Everything about this hotel is fantastic. The room, staff, service,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank hpb112016
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear hpb112016, We are so pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Gurney's Montauk. Nancy is simply the best and it was truly a pleasure to accommodate a wonderful stay for you. Please feel free to contact me when you are able to visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Robin Torr Guest Relations... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place itself is in a stunning location with excellent sea views. Rooms ok but the number of flights of stairs with no lifts makes moving luggage difficult. The facilities, food etc are very over priced and of a poor standard for what you get. It is also extremely isolated. Pool and spa facilities very good. Check your bill at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
Robin T, Guest Relations Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Karen R, Thank you for your review and feedback. We do have a very stunning yet unique property located only a few miles from the town and surrounding villages. I would like to learn more about the concerns you experienced with the facilities. Please feel free to contact me to discuss as it is my pleasure to ensure guest... More 

Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been going to Gurney's for years but since renovation has become even more fabulous. Always had the beach and ocean and now rooms are beautiful and our room with balcony with view of the ocean was fantastic. The restaurant with make over is elegant and with great food and desserts, though a bit pricey. Loved it!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank housedoc13
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear housedoc13, Thank you for joining us again and for your feedback regarding the renovations. We appreciate your thoughts on the new rooms and Scarpetta. We do hope to have you back with us again soon. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

Hempstead, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is immaculate. The view from the room at sunrise is amazing. The sunset is absolutely fascinating. Great breakfast. Spa and pool are definitely a plus and contribute to a very relaxing stay. The town is nearby and attractive. And so are the bicycle paths.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank guitarboy2016
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear guitarboy2016, We do have amazing sunrises and sunsets and I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. We do hope that you join us again soon to enjoy all that Montauk and Gurney's has to offer. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We hadn't been here before but I imagine it was a summer resort that at some point became year 'round. Our room was nice but showing its age. The tub was chipped in a few places, the hair dryer had only 1 working speed and the heat couldn't be adjusted and we were too warm. We complained to the front... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna D
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lorna D, Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us and my apologies for the issue with the Foredeck room. This building is the last building to be renovated and I'm sorry that it hindered your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the wedding, views and property and I ask that you contact me, if you return in... More 

Great Neck, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited Gurneys' last week. I did NOT let them know I was doing a site inspection for a client...I stayed in a "recently renovated room".... My sleeping room was missing a full length mirror that had a perfect wall to accommodate this necessity. Maybe in the future?? The room had a safe, that you needed to get down on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear Wendy M, Thank you for the feedback and you're correct on the designer miscues. These are in the plans for this winter and the full length mirror is on the sliding door to the bathroom. We appreciate the feedback regarding the room and please contact me personally if I can answer any further questions. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

Long Branch, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

absolutely awesome trip to gurneys. would recommend this place to anyone. unbelievable service - food at the restaurants are amazing. amenities are great and Robin, the manager was unbelievably hospitable. cannot say enough good things about gurney's. would definitely return

Helpful?
1 Thank John V
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear John V, Thank you for staying with us and I'm so pleased to hear that Robin assisted in making a memorable stay for you! We do hope to see you again soon. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to stay for the fall one night special. There was a chilled bottle of Champagne waiting for us in our room and the room upgrade was AMAZING! The staff was extremely helpful. We plan to book another stay over the winter.

Helpful?
Thank tug11
MichaelNenner290, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review

Dear tug11, Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your one night stay. We do hope to see you again this winter and contact me for assistance. Regards, Michael Nenner General Manager More 

463 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Aerial Photography (44)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
4.3 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 41 in Montauk
287 reviews
7.5 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 41 in Montauk
457 reviews
4.6 km away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#10 of 41 in Montauk
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 41 in Montauk
293 reviews
4.3 km away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 41 in Montauk
705 reviews
7.8 km away
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Montauk's most pristine stretch of oceanfront real estate, Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa is a Hampton's icon and the only four-season resort in Montauk. Providing guests with direct access to a 2,000 ft. private sand beach, Gurney's features 146 rooms, suites and beachfront cottages, each with dramatic ocean views. With five unique dining and cocktail venues, guests can enjoy a wide range of dining options, from elegant seasonal cuisine to casual fare to grab-and-go cafe favorites. All of Gurney's venues feature spectacular ocean views, none more so than The Beach Club, which provides the only on-beach dining experience in the Hamptons. No trip to Gurney's is complete without visiting The Seawater Spa, featuring Roman baths, Finnish rock saunas, a fitness center, and our world-famous indoor/outdoor sand-filtered, ocean-fed, heated seawater pool. The Seawater Spa is the only authentic Thalasso Center in the continental United States and offers customized thalasso therapies, harnessing the healing and restorative properties of the sea. The spa also offers a wide range of innovative spa services including uniquely tailored massages, facials and body treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Address: 290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954-5048
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Price Range: $388 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney`s Inn Resort, Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Resort Montauk
Gurneys Inn Montauk
Gurneys Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Inn Resort
Gurneys Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Want to have room with ocean view and balcony-its like having another room with an outdoor couch to enjoy seeing and hearing the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles housedoc13, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Separate buildings mean walking outside to amenities”
 of 5 bubbles lornad969, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go ocean front - can't beat it.”
 of 5 bubbles johnvD2857QB, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Crow's Nest > one bedroom cottage on beach > beds, linens, furnishings, cleanliness excellent ”
 of 5 bubbles chefbettybrady, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 201 and loved it, the balcony was large. We may have liked the 1st floor better - closer to the beach!”
  • Room 201 - Beach Front King
  • Overlooking the beach, on the 2nd floor of a beach front king corner room.
 of 5 bubbles RachelDT29, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay