We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Hewitt, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Just back from an excellent time at this Inn. We have gone to Mohonk over a dozen times and wanted to try this inn. The pool wasn't working the first day, but we walked across the Hudson and the day was over, honestly we had spa appts and would not have had time, and Samantha was impressive in trying to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 January 2017

**This review is for the Spa only** We drove up to Buttermilk Falls on New Year's Day and planned to spend a day at the spa, have dinner in Henry's and then head home. It's about 1.5 hours drive each way for us to make the trip. We had booked massages and planned to spend the rest of the afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauren T
CJ H, General Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lauren T. , I am very sorry that our Spa Facility did not exceed your expectations and were disappointing for you. We do have plans to renovate the spa and address many of the facility related issues, specifically the locker room, bathroom and shower space. While we don't have a set date for this work, we are deep in...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 December 2016

My husband and I came here right after our wedding (well the next day) and it was perfect. We decided to splurge and stay in the Pony Pad. We loved it because it wasn't in the main house and while on the property map you think it's super far from the main house, it isn't! If you're looking to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
CJ H, General Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Melissa K, Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy that you were able to enjoy most of what Buttermilk Falls Inn + Spa have to offer. I know the winter chill can keep you inside; I hope you were able to warm up near the wood burning fireplace in the Pony's Pad accommodation. I am sorry...

Montclair
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Participated in a "Culinary Experience" class at the CIA and decided to make a weekend of it. Buttermilk Falls Inn is a welcoming escape from a busy week, ~15 minutes from Hyde Park. We enjoyed the on property restaurant, spa facility and spacious room. By daylight, the property is beautiful to wander. Breakfast is generous and tasty. All of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skyscallion
CJ H, General Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Skyscallion, Wow! I am super jealous! I have been meaning to try one of those CIA "Culinary Experience" classes....I bet it was an amazing time! Thank you for sharing your feedback on our property with the TripAdvisor community. I am thrilled you enjoyed your accommodation, the spa facilities and our grounds! And great tip to recommend DIA Beacon! It...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 December 2016

My wife and I recently stayed in the Rooks Nest room. We were very disappointed by an offensive smell that permeated the whole room. The bathroom had what appeared to be a sewerage smell coming from it (with it much worse at night) - it seemed to be coming up out of the drain of the basin and the shower....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gsmith18
CJ H, General Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Dear gsmith18. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and I apologize for the delay in connecting with you discuss your experience directly. Please reach out to me at chartwell@buttermilkfallsinn.com so I can go over your concerns. Thank you for being so gracious as to cite some redeeming features of your stay. I look forward...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I spent 3 nights solo at Buttermilk Falls Inn, the property is gorgeous, it was late fall but mild weather and still some foliage. I visited the waterfalls and the farm, there is a phot opportunity every step of the way! I stayed in the Sweet Basil room which was very cosy with a gas fireplace and whirlpool bath tub....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CJ H, General Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience with us! I am so happy to hear that you were able to relax and recharge at our Inn, Spa and Restaurant. Taura, our Yoga instructor will be thrilled to hear that she was able to provide you with a motivating class. I look forward to welcoming you back! Best, CJ...

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

I decided to do a "me time" overnighter. Buttermilk falls inn and spa was a nice treat! I stayed at the sage right room. It was adorable. Perhaps a little smaller than expected , especially for the price, but perfect for a couple and definitely perfect for me!! I had a view of the Hudson River, a fireplace and jetted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarra J
CJ H, General Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Deat Tarra J, Thank you for your review! I am happy that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and were able to enjoy some "me time". We take cleanliness very seriously and I am sorry the tub was not cleaned to your satisfaction. I have shared your review with my Housekeeping Manager to ensure this does not...

New York
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We rented the Riverknoll House for the second time for a family gathering. Breakfast- for many a deal closer- is included and is good. However, the portions are very small. We were told we were not allowed to order seconds because they had run out of food the previous morning. At this price (luxury) one would expect to eat as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandra R
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

This is an incredible place for a couples weekend. The rooms and scenery surrounding hotel is spectacular. The downside is that it may get a little boring for more adventurous couples... but you can always take a short trip to the gunks for hiking ect..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cbass03
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 15 November 2016

What a beautiful property!!! It's tucked away and on the majestic Hudson River (beautiful view). The staff was welcoming, kind and courteous. The anti-aging scrub was a very relaxing experience. After having lunch, we dressed and walked the property. The restaurant evoked warmth and the smells that came out of the kitchen made your mouth water. It was a sunny,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chryscm1953

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
21.0 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
316 reviews
32.2 km away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
901 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
30 reviews
29.6 km away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
369 reviews
6.7 km away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 75 acres overlooking the Hudson River. Cascading waterfalls, swan ponds, organic gardens, fresh gourmet breakfasts, eco-friendly spa with pool, sauna and steam room. Rooms with private fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and balconies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

Address: 220 North Rd., Milton, NY 12547
Region: United States > New York > Milton
Price Range: $348 - $1,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buttermilk Falls Hotel Milton
Buttermilk Falls Inn And Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“North Cottage great space for 2 couples, great views and location”
 of 5 bubbles lovesdogs101, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room in the main inn was lovely with French doors opening to a patio overlooking the Hudson River.”
 of 5 bubbles alicebT799CM, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the inn on the river side are much nicer”
 of 5 bubbles barbaramM5541UI, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Many rooms have fireplaces!”
 of 5 bubbles libbys829, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sage Left and Sage Right have French doors that open onto a lovely and quiet patio overlooking the grounds. The rooms were very quiet.”
  • Looking towards the Hudson River from the back patio.
 of 5 bubbles Brighteyestoo, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5