We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Explorers River Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Explorers River Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

I traveled alone from Kigali to Kampala by bus, and I decided to go over to Jinga for the night to get away from the chaos in the city. I took a taxi from downtown Kampala to Jinga (6,000 UGX). It took about three hours with moderate traffic to get to Jinga. I exchanged money downtown on a Saturday around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cay1979
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Explorers River Camp for 6 nights. The location is great overlooking the Nile. It's easy to go to Jinja with a Boda. The tents overlooking the Nile are lovely - a bit cramped but once you get organized it'll do just fine. Had 2 nights in a double room which I wouldn't recommend. It gets really noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amalie Schultz H
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Great view from the picnic tables off the bar. There isn't a lot to see on the Nile cruise they offer, but it's still a nice way to wind down the day on the water. The bar did get some traffic on Saturday night, but the real noise came from the town outside the camp; disco all night, children up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat9699
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Kat9699. Yes, unfortunately the local village does occasionally like to party.

Reviewed 9 August 2016

Went here to raft, and ended up loving this place. Could easily have stayed a couple of more nights. The dorms were very small, but we all knew each other who stayed there, so for me that was no problem. Might be a bit of a hassle if you end up with strangers. The restaurant with the amazing view over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Straahl
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thanks Straahl, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I came here for one Saturday night with a group of 8. We stayed in the safari tents (2 people per tent, $35 for one night) which were great! The food was really good, and on saturdays they have a 7-9pm happy hour where you can buy 2 beers for 1. The bar/restaurant area was overlooking the lake, and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nandini S
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival, shown to our accommodations which were tents with beds (for those who want a camping experience but don't do well with sleeping bags), had a light bulb inside, chairs to sit just outside (balcony of a kind), a table, mirror, towels & even a lockable suitcase to keep your belongings!! The showers are just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kanylll
Uganda
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We live/work in Uganda and have stayed here twice so far (May 2016 and July 2016). This place is about a 20-25 minute drive from Jinja town. The communal hangout area and bar has great views over the water and feel like a great, hangout/chill spot. The bar area can get a bit wild at night and turn into a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank worldadventurer813
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Dear beachbum0623, Thank you for the review of Explorers River Camp, we are please you enjoyed your stay and apologise if you feel the rooms were a bit cramped. It is our experience that with such a fantastic view of the Nile that very few people spend much time in the actual accommodation. There is Bilharzia is the Nile, as...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I stayed at the nile river camp for 2 nights after doing rafting. The campsite is lovely with cool quirks like the treehouse, the showers with a view, the cable swing etc... The toilets and showers are clean and nice (much much much nicer than I have experienced in most campsites across uganda so I would almost say luxurious!). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VHaff
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Hi VHaff, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and apologise for confinement, your complaint is certainly justified and I have made the campsite managers aware of it and ask them to find an appropriate solution.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

I came here with a group and we had a furnished tent. The tent is small with 2 beds but was fine for 2 nights. There's lots of activities you can do such as rafting , horse riding , biking etc . The food is basic but fine and the view from the bar is amazing. Loads of monkeys around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardandNicola
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

The explorers camp is great place to stay for anyone looking to make friends and have an adventure by the Nile. There are many activities offered by the camp such as kayaking, rafting, and swimming. And the staff was very helpful in arranging activities off site as well. The safari tents were comfortable and help up very well against the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avery D
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for the recommendation Avery D, it is very much appreciated.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
0.0 km away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#1 of 6 in Jinja
133 reviews
0.0 km away
Bilkon Hotel
Bilkon Hotel
#5 of 6 in Jinja
7 reviews
0.0 km away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#4 of 6 in Jinja
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
0.0 km away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#3 of 25 in Jinja
132 reviews
0.0 km away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 25 in Jinja
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantastic views of the Nile, a well stocked bar and excellent meals have made this site one of East Africa’s most popular places to stay. Whether you are camping, staying in dormitories or rooms, our bar deck overlooking the river is the perfect place to enjoy a cold beer and amazing sunsets. The trees above boast a multitude of tropical bird life and the ‘riverside showers’ alone have become famous for the incredible scenery they overlook. Lush terraces offer secluded safari tents with stunning views of the River Nile. Secure and cozy with fresh linen at your disposal, they have become extremely popular. Numbers are limited so it is strongly advised you book well in advance.In addition to our terraced safari tens we now offer standard safari tents in the main camping area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Explorers River Camp

Address: Bujagali, Jinja 2155, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Price Range: $31 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Explorers River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Explorers River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Safari tents quietest and have best views.”
 of 5 bubbles poaliker, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Take a trip to Ithanda falls with a motorbike”
 of 5 bubbles BaviaansNick, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the lodgings with a view of the Nile. The view is just stunning!”
  • Sunset view of the Nile from the top deck (bar)
 of 5 bubbles 862val_riep, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose Safari Tent Extras as far from the bar as possible - noise and people walking past your tent will be minimised”
 of 5 bubbles laurabX6222IM, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you get a chance to stay in the glam tents overlooking the river - DO IT! I wish we did.”
  • Glam Tents
  • View from themed shower
 of 5 bubbles JennaC_NZ, 26 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay