We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,192: English reviews
Elma, NY
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This resort is amazing and has so much to offer. Location can not be beat. You can walk to many stores, restaurants and even the "Oval". Mirror lake is right in your back yard! Only suggestions I can make are: front desk gals could be friendlier and more aware of shuttle schedules to Whiteface etc. They also should give you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elma1234
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Elma1234, Thank you for your wonderful five bubble review of the Golden Arrow. I’m very happy to read you loved our location on Mirror Lake. As always, I will give your suggestions to the managers of the appropriate departments and they’ll take them into consideration and speak to the correct people. We always appreciate the feedback from guests and often...

Ma
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has a variety of unit sizes,from hotel room to 2 bedroom units with full kitchen. We had a one bedroom with full kitchen and pull out queen size sofa bed. From kitchen and living area we had a Great Lake view. There is skating and dog sled rides out the back door. We will definitely stay here when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank courtney106
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

courtney106, Thank you for taking the time to review the Golden Arrow. I’m very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We love being able to provide many different room types so that our guests can pick and choose what best fits their needs. I spoke to my housekeeping supervisor about the sofa beds being made by the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights in early January. The room was comfortable, and the hotel overall was very cozy. The staff were all very friendly and I loved the pool and hot tub area. Great location - right on Main Street and on the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdun3
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

cdun3, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort. I’m happy that you started 2017 with a trip to Lake Placid. It’s great to know you appreciated our great location on Main Street and Mirror Lake and that you loved our pool area. Best wishes for a happy and healthy new year! Cheers, Olivia Zeis Director...

Blairstown, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At the time of arrival frond desk employee's weren't friendly and willing to switch our room as we requested prior. We always stayed on north side and this time we were check in on south. Very loud, room light was not working and room was not in clean condition, horrible internet connection every night after 9 pm no internet at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vkarchutna
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Vkarchutna, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. I truly apologize you were unsatisfied with your guest room during your recent stay with us. I looked further into your reservation and found that our front desk staff already added to your profile in our system that you prefer the north side of the...

Florham Park
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was perfect, the staff very accommodating. We were two adults and two teenagers so we booked a bed for four adults, we found the beds to be a little too small for full sized adults - not sure if they were queen beds, maybe they should not offer rooms that only have full sized beds when a reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Diana M, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. I’m very happy to read that you found our location perfect and staff accommodating. All of our rooms with two beds have two standard queen sized beds. The only room that has two double beds is our Lakeside Specialty Room as those are actually...

PA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for five days at Golden arrow. There was nine of us with two families with young children. We skied Whiteface, Ice skated outside hotel & on Olympic oval, tubed, visited the Olympic sites, and saw Stars on Ice. The Hotel is very conveniently located to restaurants, coffee shops, shopping and ice cream. There is free parking and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rose333
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear rose333, Thank you for your fantastic review of the Golden Arrow and Lake Placid. It sounds like you and your family got the full winter and Olympic experience during your visit to our little mountain town. I appreciate all of your kind comments, especially the ones regarding our cozy atmosphere and helpful staff. I think the tour of the...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel! Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Horrible experience at Roomers, the adjacent nightclub that is attached to the hotel. I am far above legal drinking age, but my ID was confiscated and I was interrogated by the manager in a very rude and sexist fashion. Stay at the hotel, but seek out nighttime entertainment elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Katherine J, Thank you for taking the time to review the Golden Arrow. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for your experience at Roomers. We aren’t affiliated with the nightclub besides owning the actual space, but I will look more into your situation and see if we can figure out exactly who you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to head up to Lake Placid for the holiday stroll and weekend, and picked the Golden Arrow to stay. Love the location of this really cute and unique hotel. It has character, love the inside shopping center. We went when it was 5 degrees outside, and it was nice we were close to all of the shopping. Its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Kelly V, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. I’m thrilled to hear that you and your twins enjoyed the Holiday Stroll weekend in Lake Placid. That is one of my favorite weekends out of the year. The whole town truly turns out and since most of the events are free, it really...

Moscow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our stay at the Golden Arrow! We came a week before Christmas for a little city getaway. It was our first time in Lake Placid and we definitely chose the right place to stay. Golden Arrow has the best location with a private entrance to the beach/shore. It has all of the amenities imaginable - attached restaurant Generations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena D
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Elena D, Thank you for your fantastic review of the Golden Arrow and for choosing to stay with us for your first trip to Lake Placid! It sounds like you had a great time exploring our little town. You did a wonderful job pointing out all of our amenities, I’m sure your review will truly help future guests to decide...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

That was our second visit to Golden Arrow in the holiday season. Our visits were spaced 11 years apart. We found the hotel not only perfectly maintained, but upgraded. Its move from the Best Western franchise network worked for good adding the personalized charm and comfort of a real resort. First of all we noticed it with the very careful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail D
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mikhail D, Thank you for returning to the Golden Arrow after 11 years. I’m happy to hear you’ve noticed many upgrades we’ve made to the resort in that time. Our staff works very hard to personalize our guests’ stays and create that charming atmosphere you pointed out in your review, it’s always nice to have that effort recognized. I...

893 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (463)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (187)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (383)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Full Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (22)
Viewed
Lakeside Suite (78)
Viewed
Panther Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 30 in Lake Placid
1,207 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
2.9 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 30 in Lake Placid
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 30 in Lake Placid
168 reviews
1.8 km away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 30 in Lake Placid
506 reviews
0.5 km away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#5 of 30 in Lake Placid
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range: $151 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Teofilo Otoni, MG
11 months ago
Clifton Park, New York
over a year ago
1 month ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room on south side are more quieter and better internet service”
 of 5 bubbles vkarchutna, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask about bed size if you are travelling with tall teens”
 of 5 bubbles dianam388, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Definitely choose lakefront, 3rd or 4th floor! 1st floor is right on the beach so you'll have people by your windows a lot.”
 of 5 bubbles T9544MTelenad, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“family vacation”
 of 5 bubbles 880mikhaild, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“be careful of staying on weekends because of hockey tournaments”
 of 5 bubbles bobisfun, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay