We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 448: English reviews
Black Canyon City
Reviewed 23 July 2015

As usual, you guys blew the competition away, only my experience was better than normal. the internet was fast (24 Gb/s) and the bed spreads were plush, you know those resorts where you want to take the robe home, well we wanted to take the comforters home... they were the best.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peter, We are really liked our comforters! We just got them and they really make sleeping a great experience. It always makes our job easier when we get a 5 star review. Thanks again and looking forward to seeing you in the future. Best, Jim McMann

Reviewed 19 July 2015

Very convenient to Cornell U, Grocery store and several restaurants within walking distance. Staff was friendly and responsive to our couple of small requests. Breakfast standard for this type of motel. Room and halls were clean, but the exterior clearly showed neglect and lack of caring. Exterior entrances were littered, etc but never cleaned during the 1 week we were...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank donbC7662HY
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear don, Thanks for taking a moment and filling out an evaluation of the Best Western. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location, staff and your room. We are disappointed that you were not happy with the exterior location. It is the responsibility of the housekeeping department to vacuum the entrances in each section of the building. We will...

Reviewed 13 July 2015

For the second weekend in a row we had a great time in Ithica and it all started with This hotel. Great staff and outstanding location not just to the campus of Cornell but to everything you want to do. Very nice breakfast as well. We got up early each morning just so we didn't miss it. My wife loved...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Wow, what a great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your staff and your wife loved the waffle machine! I hope you had the chance to explore all that Cornell has to offer, including all the gorges. We definitely will print your comments for our staff to see. Please contact us again when you return to Ithaca....

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We were satisfied with this hotel. Clean, comfortable beds and dipped my feet in the pool for a few minutes before going to dinner. The breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly. Thank you for the quality stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Todd, We are glad you were satisfied with your stay with us! Thank you for your comments on the breakfast, as well. We hope will return to Ithaca again and take a dip in our pool! Best, Jim McMann

Borden, Indiana
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I was visiting Cornell for business and the motels in Ithaca seemed to be filled by conferences, so options were limited. During a 10 day trip to New York we also stayed in several Holiday Inn Express and Microtel Inns. All were about 1/2 the price of the Best Western and had better facilities across the board. The Best Western...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BurnsHollowers
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear BurnsHollowers, We are extremely disappointed that you found the Best Western not to your standards. There is no excuse for your experience with the breakfast area. We did have two very large weddings last weekend. We open the pool in the morning for guests to have their breakfast. I have a made a copy of your comments on the...

Reviewed 8 July 2015

My daughter and I stayed here during our visit to Cornell. Was very close to Cornell and they offer free shuttle service so that you don't have to worry about parking at Cornell, which can be difficult. Very nice, large room with 2 queen beds and sofa sleeper, great bathroom. Nice breakfast with plenty of choices. Price was somewhat high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the Cornell campus. Parking can be a challenge, but our close proximity and shuttle are a great benefit when coming to campus. We are glad you also enjoyed the breakfast. Should your daughter decide to attend Cornell, we hope we will...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We stayed here while visiting Cornell University, a short drive away. Our hotel room was surprisingly large, as was the bathroom. It was very comfortable. There was free wifi and free breakfast. The hotel has an outdoor pool, although it was rainy most of the time we were there, so we didn't use it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth A
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth A., Yes, unfortunately the weather was not on our side this last weekend. We hope you had the chance to use our free shuttle service to Cornell during your stay with us. Should you be returning to the area in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us. Kind regards, Jim McMann

Reviewed 29 June 2015

Standard hotel, no problems, good location, a bit pricey for the weekend - I believe it was a weekend for college tours of international students. Staff very pleasant. I was in a handicap room and the Bathroom sink was a bit awkward (sink high and faucet set too far back)

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 724marieg
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear 724marieg, I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do have certain weekends in Ithaca where the prices can be at a premium, but have many other times when the rate may be more affordable. When you return, I would be happy to make your reservation and reserve a different room for you. Although we are...

Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

This place is not glamurous, however it is clean and has a perfect location between NYC and Niagara Falls. The hotel pool is a nice bonus! I highly recommend a visit to Robert Treman State Park (fabulous "pool" by the waterfall) and the Watkins Glen State Park (hiking and waterfalls) in connection with your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ifsm
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so glad you had the chance to enjoy the pool while you were here! The next you visit, Taughannock Falls is another great park with walking trails and swimming and only 20 minutes away. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jim McMann

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We appreciate at least being able to express our disappointment of this hotel. We have never had reason to complain before, but we felt it was needed. Particularly because we had booked for our nephew as well and we felt very sorry that we had done so, embarrassed, because our nephew was over from Ireland on business. We thought you...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Janet, We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us especially since it was a special occasion for you and your nephew. I could not see any specific comments about the facility or the service. Would you contact me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com and let me know in more detail about your stay with us? Best, Jim McMann

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
2.0 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
4.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Rd, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range: $155 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
West Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a good room is far, far away”
 of 5 bubbles RobertD161, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel promises pet-free rooms, but broke that promise!”
 of 5 bubbles CNYTravelView, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“"All rooms are the same" per the receptionist, which would mean that all rooms have old mattresses and slightly worn rugs.”
 of 5 bubbles jeremysmom, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to Collegetown Coffee just a few steps away in the plaza. Much better fare for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles Fotogrrl247, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think there's an extra charge to accommodate pets; they also have a slightly discounted "hospital" rate.”
 of 5 bubbles 544pk, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5