We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
brooklyn
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I have stayed at many places in Hudson and Wm Farmer and Sons is hands down the best place! The staff is very friendly and welcoming, and the rooms are unique and extremely cozy. I highly recommend Famer and Sons!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whitney l
Vanessa J, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

It tickles us pink to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us more than once! We really appreciate you mentioning that the rooms are cozy as we hope make you feel as though you're at home even when you're away from home! Thank you!!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Along with our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, my husband and I stayed in the Abigail Suite. The decor is rustic Restoration Hardware; the room is well-designed with good bedside and desk lighting, a swiveling television,Tivoli Audio radio, free Wi-Fi, and a record player with an eclectic record collection. Unfortunately, the king-sized bed was not comfortable; both my husband and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the decor and the restaurant. A couple of things that we'd like to address in response to your notes: We do provide daily housekeeping service; Perhaps you had the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on your door? We're sorry to hear you didn't love the firmness of the bed. We receive lots...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed in the Pennington Suite. The rooms were beautifully decorated, and you could see that a lot of thought and care had gone into the decor of the rooms. The beds were super comfy and I felt that everything had been well thought out. The bar downstairs was superb also and the staff were super friendly. A lovely break...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathysW8065WB
Vanessa J, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and we're glad to hear you enjoyed a break during your NY trip! Happy you were also able to take advantage of the wonderful bar downstairs from your suite.

Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

What a wonderful place! Everything is so beautifully and cleverly renovated, each room being totally different. We were in Annex 1. The only thing lacking was our bathroom. The shower was so tiny and required much skill to bath in. We also enjoyed a delicious dinner in the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggi017
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

We're charmed that you enjoyed your stay! It's true, the Annex 1 has a small, standard stand-up shower in its bathroom. Many of our rooms are equipped with claw-foot tubs but please do refer to the descriptions of each of the unique and individual rooms on our website under 'Boarding'!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The beds were like sleeping on a cloud, the rooms were super clean--light and bright and decorated well for the look and feel of the historic space. great common area and service. Beautiful bathrooms and the restaurant next store is a fun, romantic setting. Would love to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliajoanb
Vanessa J, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

The owner/proprietors took great care in selecting the beds we have in our rooms and it makes us smile to hear you were able to sleep well! Seemingly (based on common area comment) you stayed in the Hudson Merchant House, our sister property. We are glad you enjoyed the additional shared space by having booked there, and that you were...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This is a long overdue review for my stay in late June, when I was in Hudson for a friend’s wedding. From the minute I arrived until the moment I left, Wm Farmer and Sons delighted me at every turn: from the iced coffee to welcome me after a long drive, to the thorough check-in and tour, to the well-stocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivien W
Fresh Meadows, New York
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Our son and daughter-in-law gave us a stay in the Abigail suite for out 40th anniversary. We arrived early to make the most of our stay, so our accommodations weren't ready yet. As soon as we parked our car in front of the property, we were greeted by our congenial hosts who took our luggage to our room and gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Starflower6731
Vanessa J, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

We were honored to be a part of your Anniversary, and thought it so sweet that your children gave y'all a stay as a gift with us! Glad to hear you liked the Abigail Suite, and that it suited your needs in full! We hope you'll join us for another momentous occasion--or just a getaway!

Reviewed 15 September 2016

The quirky old building enhanced with period decor features modern amenities, super-comfy beds and the relaxing ambiance of a welcoming friend's home. The rooms have been substantially renovated since my last stay several years ago. The restaurant is superb! The creative menu offers a variety of enticing options that are great for sharing - and the cocktails are not -to-be-missed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
Vanessa J, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

We so appreciate you mentioning that our building has the "relaxing ambiance of a welcoming friend's home"! & we're so glad you were able to visit us and give us a try after having stayed years ago at the former Front Street Guest House. Also thrilled you took advantage of our on-site Barroom and were able to enjoy it all!

Sleepy Hollow, New York
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We loved our stay at Wm Farmer and Sons. The bed was cozy, the room was quiet and all the amenities were there. We loved the cool jars, the cool vibe and the thoughtfulness. Looking forward to our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sustanablemom
Vanessa J, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

We love to hear that you felt the room was charming & cozy and that you were able to retreat during your weekend stay here! Looking forward to hosting you again!

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Great place to stay in Hudson! The caretaker for the annex saw us walking up from the train station, showed us to our room, and made sure we were comfortable for our whole stay. The location was great, right near the train station, and walkable to the rest of the town, and we just adored the room! We also really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jared K
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this review

It seems you stayed in our sister property which we've just taken over management for: The Hudson Merchant House! These are our Annexes 3 through 6. We don't have photos yet because it's so new, but we're glad you took a 'chance' on it and enjoyed the space and common areas which are specific to our Merchant House guests.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
1.5 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
168 reviews
15.0 km away
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
227 reviews
0.1 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 16 in Hudson
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#9 of 16 in Hudson
128 reviews
0.6 km away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
1.1 km away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wm Farmer and Sons is an intimate, eleven room hotel located in the heart of historical Hudson. We offer devilishly attractive rooms at unpretentious prices. Known for our eclectic charm and comfort, our 1830’s Inn now features a restaurant, barroom and coffee shop. Authentic farm-to-table cuisine and craft cocktails served up daily. Each room has a view of the Catskill Mountains or Hudson River. Fresh morning fruit and premium coffee are complimentary. We admittedly make it hard to rouse your self in the morning – luxury beds, 500 thread count sheets, and big fluffy pillows conspire against you, while in-room flat screen TVs and free WiFi scratch your digital itch. When you do rise, we’re just steps from Hudson’s local galleries, hip boutiques, and growing music scene. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom

Address: 20 S Front St, Hudson, NY 12534-3123 (Formerly Front Street Guest House)
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Price Range: $181 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Abigail Suite was adorable. As it was second floor, you could hear a bit from the bar but nothing too bad.”
 of 5 bubbles gb415, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pennington room was perfect for 3, great living space”
 of 5 bubbles jillbaltazar, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Annex Suite is wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles got2travel22, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a suite if you want to have your own bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles peterkT3818NP, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are available with a common great room. Better for multi families gathering.”
 of 5 bubbles Maggi017, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5