We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Matobo Hills Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Matobo Hills Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

am a lady TV producer based in Zimbabwe and covering places of Interest and Matobo Hills Lodge was top of my List. as you drive through, the feeling is high, am i there, as soon as your eyes lock with the Lodge, the building are so so historic made of rock, the rooms, the bar, the staff, the lizards that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S'kha m
MatoposHillsLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear S´kha m Thank you so much for taking time to review Matopos Hills Lodge. It was a pleasure hosting you . Thank you for your kind words. It is truly a place of mystery, magic and memories. We wish you all the best and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Bulawayo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was excellent. The rooms were cool and lovely. The location for me was serene and conducive to really concentrate on what I was doing and good in connecting with the environment. I liked the spacious rooms that are cool and blend well with the environment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maka D
MatoposHillsLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Maka D Thank you so much for reviewing us.It was our pleasure to host you. The staff at Matobo Hills Lodge are glad to have hosted you and cannot wait for your next visit. It is a magical place and the views and location are breathtaking. Thank you for your kind words and we wish you all the best.

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

after seeing the Lodge's pictures and video online, one could not separate the swimming pool with the Matobo Hills Lodge experience ( in addition to the obvious scenary and surrounding world heritage site). the ultimate disappointment was arriving at the lodge after a 6 hour drive on a very hot summer afternoon to find the pool non functional and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nesbert N
MatoposHillsLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nesbert Thank you for taking time to review us. It was a pleasure hosting you on your trip to the majestic matobo hills. It was unfortunate that our pool had sprung a leak, hopefully on your next trip you will be able to enjoy it. The management and staff look forward to hosting you again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Matopos is one of the most incredible places and it constantly feels like you are a visitor on another planet, it is a spectacular and calming place. The lodge is set in the middle of this rockscape and has beautiful views over the area. We were warmly welcomed by the team at Matobo Lopdge by the happy enthusiastic team running...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANTHEASMITH
MatoposHillsLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Antheasmith Thank you so much for taking time to review us.It was our pleasure to host you.We just hope next time you spend more nights with us.We are so so glad you enjoyed your stay at Matopos hills lodge and yes, it is truly a magical place. Thank you for the kind words. We wish you all the best...

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We spent two nights in Matopos lodge, in September 2016. This is a beautiful, very well maintained lodge in an extraordinary location with beautiful surroundings and an almost deafening silence. The views are excellent all over the place and there are at least three hiking paths that are well indicated. We took the “green trail” on a morning, even before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcella20142016
MatoposHillsLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marcella20142016 Thank you so much for taking time to review us.We were glad to have hosted you and cannot wait for you to visit again.We are so so glad you enjoyed your stay at matopos hills lodge and it is truly a magical place.Thank you so much for the kind words. We wish you all the best and looking...

Bulawayo
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Brilliant place to visit the majestic Matopos. Great location among the granite hills. Staff were willing and pleasant. Loads of food and it was delicious. Great chef. Chalets were great. Would highly recommend the lodge. We hiked up the mountain which was not for the faint-hearted but well worth it when you see the spectacular view from the top. Sad...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nixonn295
Daina W, Public Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear nixonn295, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us! The team at Matobo Hills Lodge are glad to have hosted you both, and can not wait for your next visit! The hike is very intense, but as you said the views are well worth it! We wish you all the best and look...

Bulawayo
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Please see previous comments. A beautiful and mystical setting and a magical venue for a seminar and conference. Room and facilities adequate and comfortable. A few minor complaints in that not enough effort was made when the group initially arrived to meet & greet. Effort should also have been made upon arrival to enquire about any dietary preferences as some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjn112
Daina W, Public Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jjn112, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule, to review us on TripAdvisor, we are glad you enjoyed the venue and views! We are looking into the issues you mentioned, and however, would like to thank you for bringing them to our attention. With thanks and Kind Regards, Daina Walters PR and Marketing Manager

Hovik, Norway
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The lodges are spread out in an area of granite and the pool is architectured by the stones. It is a wonderful atmosphere surrounding the lodges and buildings; eagels flying over the majestetic granite "sculptures" as if they are telling you to take it easy in your life! And you might hear the baboons telling you to wake up in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruuroen
MatoposHillsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ruuroen, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us! So glad the Matopos has left such a wonderful stamp on your visit, it truly is a magical place, thank you for the kind words, and we do hope to see you again in the near future! With thanks and kind regards, Daina Walters...

Hwange
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

My family and I decided to put up in Matopo National Park for the night. Road signs to the lodge are quite distinct and helpful as they indicate distance as well. The lodgings are peaceful and welcoming. Our only itch was the erratic wifi signal , meals were satisfactory, and the staff most pleasant. Unfortunately we did not encounter any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phathi
MatoposHillsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Phathi, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with MHL! Our wifi, is based on satellite signal, and unfortunately does happen to be slow at times, and we are looking at further options to supply better wifi signal to our guests. We do look...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Our party of 5 stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights. From the moment we arrived, the service from the staff was fantastic - our bags were taken to our rooms for us and we got to choose which lodges we would like due to there not being many other guests that evening. The rooms themselves are huge, with lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_W_M4
Daina W, Public Relations Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hannah_W_M4, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us. The management and staff, are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, from arrival to departure! It was unfortunate that our pool had sprung a leak, hopefully on your next trip you will be able to enjoy it, it is up and running now, in...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matobo National Park - The Matopos
0.0 km away
The Nesbitt Castle
The Nesbitt Castle
#1 of 6 in Bulawayo
172 reviews
0.0 km away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#4 of 6 in Bulawayo
49 reviews
0.0 km away
Big Cave Camp
Big Cave Camp
#3 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
181 reviews
0.0 km away
Farmhouse Lodge Matopos
Farmhouse Lodge Matopos
#4 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
72 reviews
0.0 km away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mutare
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Matobo Hills Lodge! Matobo Hills Lodge was designed and constructed by Touch The Wild and was built using local labour and material. It opened in August 1992.The lodge is situated within a private nature reserve bordering the Matobo National Park and is surrounded by some of the most spectacular granite scenery in the world. The Matobo Hills are renowned not only for their beauty and abundant flora and fauna but also for their unique historical, cultural and spiritual significance. The granites of Matobo were formed over three thousand million years ago and have been carved by the erosive forces of nature into a remarkable gallery of sculptured rock covering several thousand square kilometres.In general terms two types of granite hills occur in Matobo. The chaotic jumbles of rocks and balancing boulders or ' castle kopjies' have been created by erosion working along the horizontal and vertical lines of weakness that formed as the ancient granites cooled. The massive ' whale backed' domes or ' dwalas' are the result of spheroidal weathering or 'onion skin peeling' that occurs during sudden changes in temperature. All of these forces of erosion act at an excruciatingly slow pace and it has taken nature hundreds of millions of years to create the incredible landscape we see today. Unfortunately she is not yet content with her efforts and her erosive power continues to act upon the surfaces of the rock. Nature will only rest when all the granites are gone and the Matobo becomes a flat, featureless sandy plain. Luckily for us this is going to take several more hundred million years so for now at least, we can continue to enjoy this amazing wilderness in all it's complexity. The northern section of the hills is a national park and it's wooded gorges and open valleys are home to a wide range of wildlife species including black and white rhinoceros, giraffe, sable antelope, kudu, impala, zebra, wildebeest and tsessebe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matobo Hills Lodge

Address: Mineral King Farm | Matopos National Park, Matobo National Park - The Matopos, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland South Province > Matobo National Park - The Matopos
Price Range: $251 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matobo Hills Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Matobo Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matobo Hills Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Matobo Hills Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best views of the granite rock from most chalets.”
  • early morning from chalet 14, when i opened curtains and was met by this view.
 of 5 bubbles skham, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I rated the sleep quality, because I saw the rooms and the general environment is peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles Omoniyi_David, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms cater for families with children, others have two beds only. Check before you book!”
 of 5 bubbles 592stiana, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 had amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles Henster79, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the hills - spectacular!!”
 of 5 bubbles LaLaLand1810, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay