We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hwange Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hwange Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hwange Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Montpellier, France
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The rooms are very good, you can view some wildlife at the waterhole from your room. Lovely eating place outside. Nothing beats the experience of seeing wildlife and hearing a lion roar as you enjoy your dinner. Breakfast served outside, on one particular morning a wild bird stole my guava from my plate, happened so fast and I wondered how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phillipa K
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

The staff at Hwange Safari Lodge are very polite and helpful. We are pretty much the only guests here at the moment, a family of 6 from Australia so we are getting lots of attention! The waterhole is amazing and it is hilarious to watch the local baboons and their antics! There were about 20 elephants visiting just after sunset...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Phnom Penh
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We had an early lunch on our way to Vic Falls. Place was empty. Potentially a lovely setting. Food was unfortunately mediocre at best. Three burgers (@11 usd each way too expensive) and a pasta bolognaise (mini size @ 7 usd) and some drinks. Our individual scores: 2, 2, 3, 3 out of 10. So two stars is generous. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pdv999
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

On our way back from musna we decided to stop in for lunch and swim. And how disappointing it was. Grounds not looked after at all. The structure is dirty and paint chipping away. Food - had chicken nuggets the chips where far from cooked and the chicken tasted and smelt like dirty oil presentation was nasty for a hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaB2011
London
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I loved this place. Because it was off season there were few of us staying there however the staff were wonderful, food ok although not great and the wine terribly expensive. The nearby waterhole was great, elephants, impala, zebras, even a cheetah watched from our sun loungers by the pool! My partner got a terrible chest infection and the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seedoubleu
Bulawayo Province, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Very good service provision. Customer care is superb. Food is excellent. The view is spendid. The amenities are not bad. But there is need to improve on the bathrooms and showers. They seem old now they can do with a face lift.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank M
Generalmgr_12, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Frank M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our Lodge. It is gratifying to know that our service provision, customer care and food are to your standard as you have rated them excellent. We will certainly provide the feedback to our staff who provide these services. With regards the bathrooms you maybe...

Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Let me start with the positive, the safari is great. However everything that had to do with the hotel facilities is terrible! Food is late and not well cooked, air-conditioning in the rooms are old and filled with dust, our toilet was leaking, the staff seamed mostly unexperienced with a few exceptions. The pool is one of the most disgusting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Torbjørn S
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2016

It's almost 40 years since my last visit to Hwange Safari Lodge and I wish to trash a few previous reviews. The Lodge was built in 1973 and remains an Icon of Bushveld Architecture. Yes the Rooms and Hotel are tired, but like the Giant Monoliths around the waterhole, she has stood in the African Sun for many a year....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DougCapeTown
Generalmgr_12, General Manager at Hwange Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I hope this message finds you well. Thank you very much for such a glowing response. It is true that the number of guests to our Lodge has reduced however, as care and hospitality are the reasons for our existence, we will continue to take care of this historic landmark that has stood the test of time. You...

Bulawayo
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Exactly one year on from my previous visit, when we checked in this time, something felt terribly wrong; Where were the welcoming smiles, the welcome drinks, the cheerful porters to help with the luggage? Even the water in the swimming pool looked dark and murky as compared to the sparklingly clear pool from last year. From hindsight one may say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nkosilathi T
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We found the hotel extremely clean , well maintained and interesting place. The staff were very friendly and ready to go the extra mile to assist. there is also a great view of various animals coming to drink in the pond nearby. The hotel was not very busy at the time despite it being a few days before Christmas. but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tadez2015

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
4.0 km away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 21 in Hwange National Park
51 reviews
10.7 km away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#2 of 21 in Hwange National Park
314 reviews
30.6 km away
The Hide
The Hide
#1 of 21 in Hwange National Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 21 in Hwange National Park
36 reviews
0.0 km away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hwange National Park
214 reviews
4.7 km away
Sable Sands
Sable Sands
#11 of 21 in Hwange National Park
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Hwange Safari Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hwange Safari Lodge is an oasis of luxury in the heart of the African savannah. Surrounded by untouched wilderness our guests have access to all the modern amenities required to make their stay truly comfortable. The hotel has two restaurants, one which is located outside with views of the watering hole. The swimming pool is a popular oasis for cooling down each day and the bar is the ideal place to relax after a safari. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hwange Safari Lodge

Address: Farm 39, Hwange National Park 5792, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Price Range: $171 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hwange Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Jovago.com, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hwange Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hwange Safari Hotel Harare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hwange Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hwange Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Am not sure what I am supposed to write here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 341lewism, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best views from the executive rooms on the top floor directly facing the water hole.”
 of 5 bubbles N657MTjohnc, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms overlook the waterhole”
 of 5 bubbles kk1981vet, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think all of the rooms look toward the back with the watering hole, which is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelGrlCT, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face waterhole, some have trees obstructing the view. Always close the balcony doors to stop monkeys and baboons getting in.”
 of 5 bubbles webbyinmudhut, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay