We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn at Lake Joseph

Official SiteUSD 404*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 404*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Inn at Lake Joseph
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 373: English reviews
Start your review of Inn at Lake Joseph
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

DO NOT bring your dogs as the woods are infested with Ticks. You and your dogs will be sure to have many Ticks after just 1 or 2 walks through the woods.. Gold Room not as pictured with modern/tile shower. Had shower surround with stained tub floor. Basic Cable with no Premium Channels as advertised. Room also very worn and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
Morris Plains, New Jersey
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here during a particularly cold weekend in March so we weren't outdoors much. We enjoyed the warmth of the fireplace and hot tub in our rooms. In the main house, you have a number of options to pass the time; we played billiards, there are a number of board games, and an outdoor ping pong table. If the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mtdewytotoro
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this review

So glad you had a good stay--and yes! you will enjoy other seasons! Our grounds are beautiful in spring, summer and autumn, and there's lots to see and do, as well.

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had an extremely frustrating series of conversations with the people at this establishment and could not be more frustrated than I am right now. i tried extremely hard to book a 1 night stay for a Saturday night and made my first call on Tuesday, Was told that there is a 3 night minimum (totally understandable) but if i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johns19631963
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The main house is absolutely stunning when you drive up. We were in another building. Rooms are clean and nice. The deck could use some paint. The rooms are not fancy but it is nice to see them working and upgrading them. Money is going back into the property which is a good sign. We were disappointed that the inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onlythebest4me2
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. The Catskill area is beautiful in any season, but you're right--fall is gorgeous. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We came here to escape the craziness of NYC and it was everything we were looking for and more. The owners of this wonderful lodge made all the difference their kindness and hospitality was so welcoming. The grounds were beautiful, we took our three dogs with us and they had just as much fun as we did. We enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank longslowdistancenyc
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a great time--that's what we're here for!

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 3 February 2017

My husband and myself vacationed at The Inn At Lake Joseph, along with our two dogs. I'm not sure who enjoyed the trip more, us humans or our dogs. The grounds are just beautiful. The inn keeper Ivan, is a warm gracious, helpful host. The breakfast were delicious. It was great to have 24 hour use of the kitchen to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grossmanamy
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a happy winter retreat--come and see us in other seasons for more great times!

New York
Reviewed 26 January 2017

My husband and I were hiking in the mountains near Roscoe. Perhaps neither of us realized how old we had gotten. We didn't think we would make it back to our home base in New Jersey without falling asleep at the wheel, so we looked up bed and breakfasts near Roscoe. We were intrigued by the Inn at Lake Joseph,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JerseyGirlNewYork
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Valley Stream, New York
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

I have longed for over 2 years to stay at the inn at lake joseph. We walked in the door and I immediately felt at home. The inn was so charming and the staff were warm and friendly and the service was fabulous. MATT and Michelle were great. This was by far one of my best birthdays.The new years bon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this review

We're so glad you chose to stay with us for your birthday--hope to see you again around the bonfire.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Visited this beautiful place for 3 nights with my wife. Rooms were really clean and our room had a sleep number bed which was a great surprise. Feel free to use 24 hour open kitchen to make a quick sandwich for your self and enjoy it while warming up next to one of the fireplaces indoor or fire pits outdoor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AARON_AUSTINER
Management response:

We thank this guest for sharing his positive experience as our guest. We have just one minor correction. The distance to our lake is about 600 feet and takes between 3 and 4 minutes via a designated path through our forest. Not 10 minutes. Because his visit was in February, during our peak snow season, we believe he may have...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I recently stayed here last weekend not knowing what to expect since it was my first bed and breakfast. My partner needed a nice short getaway close to the City and I saw a deal on Travelzoo. After looking at reviews I decided to book a last minute trip to The Inn at Lake Joseph. I could not of been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spootgrl
rue119, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this review

We're so glad you found us--and you're right, the fall colors are magnificent here. We look forward to seeing you again.

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestburgh
10.9 km away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
28.8 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
434 reviews
8.2 km away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
607 reviews
19.7 km away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
40 reviews
29.1 km away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn, with working fireplaces, whirlpool baths and private sundecks, is located in Upstate New York on a 250-acre private lake. Like resort lodging, Inn at Lake Joseph provides a variety of summer and winter recreational facilities, including access to a health and fitness spa. But unlike larger hotels, with just 18 guestrooms, a luxurious, yet informal, casual country retreat that assures guests a relaxing, private, rustic mountain lake environment awaits. Very much like the Berkshires, White Mountains, Adirondacks and Poconos, the Catskills surrounding the Inn offer spectacular scenes of lakes and rivers, as well as hiking trails with views of majestic peaks and isolated waterfalls. However, unlike these other regions, The Inn is no more than 2 hours from New York City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn at Lake Joseph

Address: 162 St Josephs Rd, Forestburgh, NY 12777-6230
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Forestburgh
Price Range: $347 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Lake Joseph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Lake Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lake Joseph Hotel Forestburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at Lake Joseph staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
nyc
over a year ago
Woodbridge, New Jersey
over a year ago
Woodbridge, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Lake Joseph staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Eagle's Nest is the way to go!”
JerseyGirlNewYork, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The scenery is beautiful every season as are the Catskill Mountains.”
D5700YVjoannem, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Gold rooms are a fantastic deal!”
649jasonh, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
marinamT6754AZ, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Three choices: The Inn, Cottage House or Carriage House...different price points...depending what you are looking for...all good!”
  • Meadowlark Room
  • Bathroom in Meadowlark
  • Meadowlark Room
luv2walk, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
USD 404* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates