We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blackthorne Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Durham
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Blackthorne Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Blackthorne Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Bellmore, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2015

My husband, teenage daughter and myself have been seasonal campers for over 5 years now. We love it. My daughter would live there if she could. The bar is loads of fun, the people are friendly and the area is beautiful with so many things to do and see. The Catskills are a car ride away and offer great restaurants,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank madmary65
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Just spent the last weekend at the Blackthorne for Rat Rod weekend. This is the 2cd year I have attended and it was better then last year. Cars, music, contests, food and a wonderful staff!! I go to the Blackthorne for many of their events and I always have a great time!! More then reasonable rates and the crowd is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenine V
Williston Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Spent the weekend in Up state New York, at The Blackthorne Resort. Fabulous place. Great staff. Arrived on Thursday afternoon, they had Karaoke and wings in the pub. My kids had a blast singing, I was standing in front of 65,000 screaming fans belting out the tunes. Had a BLAST. Great way to start the vacation. Stayed in the Orchards,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We were there this past weekend & it was horrific. Paid for 6 & got accommodations for 4. We complained & they said they would send up a sofa bed but instead got a cot, now we have accommodations for 5. Complained again & they suggested to put 3 kids in the one bed. Pool was the worst part, dirty... More 

Helpful?
16 Thank 530bern
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We were at the blackthorne resort this weekend & it was a horrible experience. The pool was a slimy green color filled with soil at bottom, had a strong stench as well. When reported to office staff they were very defensive, unapologetic, & downright nasty. The owner's son even made the comment "a lot of resorts don't even have a... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank RNizamov
Herkimer, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2015

My friends and I were here vending at an event, and were warned by someone who had stayed before to camp instead of getting a room. That didn't scare us away, because we wanted to come to the event, but maybe it should have. We had two campsites where the electric did not work. We inquired and were told it... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank SirReginaldWalliby
TheBlackthorneResort, Owner at Blackthorne Resort, responded to this review

Hello, SirReginaldWalliby! I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to address some of the things that you mentioned in your review. As for the campsites, not all have electric and full hook-ups. We do ask that if you require a site with a hook-up, you tell our staff so that they... More 

Woodside, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

I was at the Blackthorne last weekend. Thursday was karaoke night.Everyone was singing and dancing a good time was had by all. Friday was relaxing by the beautiful pool with frozen drinks from the tiki bar. The hunter mt. Celtic festival was on Saturday and that night the Blackthorne had an Irish band McClean Ave. everyone was dancing, even some... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tisha m
East Durham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We have found that place that everyone is looking for in life. The Beautiful Blackthorne Resort is located in the base of the beautiful Catskill Mountains. You will never find a more relaxing and friendlier place to stay. The Handel family invites you and you family in and treats you as thou you are part of the family. You must... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We were there for a Feis this past weekend so maybe that is why the grounds were a mess, but we had a beer bottle that was sitting outside of our building's steps for over 24 hours. And on Sunday morning there was a broken wine glass on the steps. I do blame the people that were drinking it for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gandp0729
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We have been going to the Blackthorne Resort for the past few years for an Irish dance competition with our friends and their families and we always have a great time and this year was no different!! Each year there are some nice improvements and the staff is always friendly. I would definitely recommend this resort for a nice weekend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (63)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Durham
21.6 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
144 reviews
14.0 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
273 reviews
13.9 km away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 4 in Greenville
26 reviews
35.2 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
4.9 km away
Acra Manor Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are just here to relax or out for fun. Blackthorne has all there is to offer. Enjoy everything from Lodging, Dining, Dancing, Top Notch Entertainment to Indoor and Outdoor Recreation. We have it all!Nestled amidst the breathtaking beautyof the Northern Catskills Mountains, The Blackthorne Resort offers all the comfort and luxury you desire.Terrace views to the majestic mountains, air conditioning, heat, television, and privatebaths. Ultra Deluxe rooms with queen sizebeds, refrigerator, and Jacuzzis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blackthorne Resort

Address: 348 Sunside Rd, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423-1636
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > East Durham
Price Range: $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Blackthorne Hotel East Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blackthorne Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blackthorne Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Tara or orchard”
 of 5 bubbles norajamese, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ground level rooms in the Orchards were nicely appointed with large patios.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesnQ4615NA, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call the office and just explain what you are looking for. I know they will do their best to fit your needs!”
 of 5 bubbles 739blandinel, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“stay away from all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles kt72_7, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 530bern, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5