We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blackthorne Resort

348 Sunside Rd, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423-1636
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Thunderhart Golf Course
    5.6 km
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviewed 29 September 2015
Weekend road trip
A great bargain and fun place. Attended the June 2014... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Blackthorne Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 29 September 2015

A great bargain and fun place. Attended the June 2014 motorcycle Spring Run and returned with a bigger group September of 2015. Patty and staff went out of their way to put out some great meals, even though we were only a group of 15. All had a blast and want to return again next year..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The pictures looked great online, so I reserved a room for Labor Day weekend, Saturday through Tuesday. We pulled in and I thought, OMG, what the hell is this place? We paid $650 for 2 adults and a dog with breakfast and dinner included. They still have old school keys and paper registration, no computer. I should have known right...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank kt72_7
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Had a blast with family and friends at the Blackthone Resort!! Enjoyed the pool and playground. I am looking foward to going back with friends and family. It is a great place for family and friends to enjoy time together in the Catskill Montains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Bellmore, New York
Reviewed 31 August 2015

My husband, teenage daughter and myself have been seasonal campers for over 5 years now. We love it. My daughter would live there if she could. The bar is loads of fun, the people are friendly and the area is beautiful with so many things to do and see. The Catskills are a car ride away and offer great restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank madmary65
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Just spent the last weekend at the Blackthorne for Rat Rod weekend. This is the 2cd year I have attended and it was better then last year. Cars, music, contests, food and a wonderful staff!! I go to the Blackthorne for many of their events and I always have a great time!! More then reasonable rates and the crowd is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenine V
Williston Park, New York
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Spent the weekend in Up state New York, at The Blackthorne Resort. Fabulous place. Great staff. Arrived on Thursday afternoon, they had Karaoke and wings in the pub. My kids had a blast singing, I was standing in front of 65,000 screaming fans belting out the tunes. Had a BLAST. Great way to start the vacation. Stayed in the Orchards,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chris b
Yonkers, New York
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We were there this past weekend & it was horrific. Paid for 6 & got accommodations for 4. We complained & they said they would send up a sofa bed but instead got a cot, now we have accommodations for 5. Complained again & they suggested to put 3 kids in the one bed. Pool was the worst part, dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
17Thank 530bern
Bronx, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We were at the blackthorne resort this weekend & it was a horrible experience. The pool was a slimy green color filled with soil at bottom, had a strong stench as well. When reported to office staff they were very defensive, unapologetic, & downright nasty. The owner's son even made the comment "a lot of resorts don't even have a...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank RNizamov
Herkimer, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2015

My friends and I were here vending at an event, and were warned by someone who had stayed before to camp instead of getting a room. That didn't scare us away, because we wanted to come to the event, but maybe it should have. We had two campsites where the electric did not work. We inquired and were told it...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank SirReginaldWalliby
TheBlackthorneResort, Owner at Blackthorne Resort, responded to this review

Hello, SirReginaldWalliby! I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to address some of the things that you mentioned in your review. As for the campsites, not all have electric and full hook-ups. We do ask that if you require a site with a hook-up, you tell our staff so that they...

Woodside, New York
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

I was at the Blackthorne last weekend. Thursday was karaoke night.Everyone was singing and dancing a good time was had by all. Friday was relaxing by the beautiful pool with frozen drinks from the tiki bar. The hunter mt. Celtic festival was on Saturday and that night the Blackthorne had an Irish band McClean Ave. everyone was dancing, even some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tisha m

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (63)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Durham
14.0 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
275 reviews
21.6 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
145 reviews
35.2 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 km away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
156 reviews
13.9 km away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
3.7 km away
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwallville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are just here to relax or out for fun. Blackthorne has all there is to offer. Enjoy everything from Lodging, Dining, Dancing, Top Notch Entertainment to Indoor and Outdoor Recreation. We have it all!Nestled amidst the breathtaking beautyof the Northern Catskills Mountains, The Blackthorne Resort offers all the comfort and luxury you desire.Terrace views to the majestic mountains, air conditioning, heat, television, and privatebaths. Ultra Deluxe rooms with queen sizebeds, refrigerator, and Jacuzzis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blackthorne Resort

Address: 348 Sunside Rd, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423-1636
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > East Durham
Price Range: $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Blackthorne Hotel East Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blackthorne Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blackthorne Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 110 was very spacious and set up well.”
 of 5 bubbles catgrammy2, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Tara or orchard”
 of 5 bubbles norajamese, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ground level rooms in the Orchards were nicely appointed with large patios.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesnQ4615NA, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call the office and just explain what you are looking for. I know they will do their best to fit your needs!”
 of 5 bubbles 739blandinel, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“stay away from all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles kt72_7, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5