We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Harbor Rose

Booking.comUSD 289*
View Deal
GreenLeadersGold level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 289*
USD 289*
USD 289*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Harbor Rose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Start your review of The Harbor Rose
 Click to rate
Reviewed 31 March 2017

My wife and I have stayed at many B&Bs over the years. I booked the Harbor Rose based on the photos and reviews I saw online. On arrival we were greeted by a young girl who said she would be our guide. This was completely inappropriate and unprofessional. Her mother then came out of her office and after speaking with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gene2ET
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

The Harbor Rose is our nearly 200 year old historic home and is not a good fit for everyone. We consistently get excellent reviews on service and cleanliness from those guests who actually “stay” with us. When booking a reservation it is always best to speak with the Innkeeper to be sure it is a good fit for your travel...

Reviewed 15 March 2017

The Harbor Rose is a charming and beautiful home, with a gorgeous view of the harbor. We were warmly received, and the staff was exceptionally accommodating. Breakfast was healthful and delicious - this B & B is a true treasure!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janine C
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

We are delighted to have hosted you. We are so gad you enjoyed our personalized hospitality and unique handcrafted "farm to table" organic breakfast. We look forward to your next visit. Peace & Blessings - Deirdre

Los Angeles
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

After investing 35 years in the hospitality industry, I know the difference between warm, heartfelt hospitality and the lack thereof. The Harbor Rose oozes with it. The inn Is storybook charming. Deirdre is a sincere and genuine host, and Zara (the inn's Junior Host) is adorable. I stayed for one night in the dead of winter and felt warm hospitality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blanting2
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We truly enjoy sharing our home with guests and hope that each guest feels rejuvenated and enriched as a result of their visit. The longer a guest stays the more benefits they enjoy. We are grateful to touch people’s lives in a positive way with nourishment on several levels. Guests have the opportunity to...

Reviewed 16 December 2016

My best friend and I researched B&B's outside of New York for a quiet Christmas (December 2012) and we came across The Harbor Rose. Speaking with Deidre before arriving she was so accommodating and offered for us to join her for Christmas dinner. Arriving she organised transport from the station to the the B&B. It is such a beautiful place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Cassandra and Caroline - Of course I remember you! It was lovely to host you both and I'm so glad you felt at home with us. - We now offer a full hot organic breakfast and offer several unique packages and additional services for our guests to enjoy. We are always implementing upgrades . Thanks for recommending us to your...

Reviewed 11 December 2016

I stayed for 1 week in the garden room for a business trip and overall it was a great experience. There was a very pleasant atmosphere and every effort was made to make my stay at the Garden Rose comfortable. Everything was clean, the breakfast was great and it Deirdre and Stephan are great hosts. After my stay I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
TheHarborRose, Manager at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Thomas, We certainly enjoyed hosting you and I appreciated the intellectual conversations we had every morning. If you return to the area, we most certainly would love to have you return. Good luck with your future endeavors, I know you can make a significant impact in your field of study. Warmest Regards, Stephen M

New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 October 2016

First and foremost, Dierdre and her staff member, Stephan, could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. They were very thoughtful when we got into town late because of city traffic. Dierdre made dinner for us which was excellent, and Stephan welcomed us and gave us a tour and ideas for what to do in the area. Dierdre cooks a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandunn
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

It was delightful to host you! Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed breakfast and dinner - we do our best to make our guests feel at home. We are ambassadors to the area and enjoy making recommendations of places to see and explore in the neighborhood - we look forwrd to hosting you again -...

Reviewed 28 July 2016

When I booked this room, I did know it would be small but the selling point was a private porch adjoining the room. The room itself had been part of the porch and a slider was put in the middle to make it a room. This slider does not go up to the ceiling which means it is near impossible...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank I3688KIbarbaram
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

We appreciate your sharing your experience. Although we strive to meet or exceed our guest expectations - sometimes we are not a good fit. Thank you for appreciating the quality linens we provide, we have never had a guest mention a squeaky bed frame before – and I ordered a new one the day you mentioned it to me however...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Because this is a public review, I feel it's responsible to stay as unbiased as possible, but it's difficult. I spent a truly touching and life-altering time at Harbor Rose with Deirdre, Zara, Stephen and Salomon, and I am so grateful to them and to the universe (God) for such an encounter. Deirdre is not only a splendid and gracious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandra C
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Alexandra - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others in this review. The Harbor Rose is a unique B&B. It is not only a place to visit, rest and call home but also a peaceful space providing an opportunity for a nourishing experience of mind, body, and spirit. It was a pleasure to visit and...

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

The Harbor Rose was a wonderful find for me. The Inn was beautiful. Very clean and welcoming Deirdre, the inn keeper, and her staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. They made us feel right at home. There is no organized breakfast, but there is an abundance of fresh fruit, yogurt and bakery items. Unlimited beer wine coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale Newman P
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Dale - We appreciate your taking the time to write a review . We are delighted that you felt right at home. We strive for all our guests to be comfortable and relaxed in our clean elegant peacefully welcoming residence. Glad you enjoyed our 24-hour self-serve breakfast & beverage bar. We look forward to hosting you again soon! - Best...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 31 May 2016

When making a reservation at the Harbor Rose BEWARE of the extraordinarily punitive cancellation policy. My wife made a reservation for three nights several months in advance of our planned trip. FOUR MONTHS before we were scheduled to arrive, our plans unfortunately had to change. When my wife called to cancel the reservation, we were told that we still would...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Craig E
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and bringing attention to our cancellation policy. It is common that our guests plan their travel well in advance. We always review the policy with potential guests and provide a link to inexpensive trip insurance in our confirmation email. The max coverage is available if you purchase the insurance within 10 -21 days of your initial...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Spring Harbor
3.7 km away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
219 reviews
5.4 km away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
5.6 km away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Chalet Inn & Suites
Chalet Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Centerport
56 reviews
12.4 km away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
14.4 km away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harbor Rose, a historic home built in 1846 and served as the rectory to St. John’s Church until 1936. The Harbor Rose is located in the heart of Cold Spring Harbor featuring water views and is adjacent to State Hiking Trails.We consistently deliver a unique lodging experience, in a peaceful, eco-friendly resort setting, where our guests are greeted with warmth, appreciated, and treated better than family! We only ask that you communicate your desires and we will do our best to assist in every way. The entire house features several sitting areas to relax and enjoy. You will often find the Innkeeper in the Kitchen after 9:00 pm and if you arrive late, you may be offered an organic vegan bowl of soup and/or a seasonal salad.We are located at the western edge of Historic Cold Spring Harbor Village and less than 1 mile from Huntington Village (voted Best Village on Long Island 5 years running), featuring 87 restaurants, mostly owned by chefs! Abundant unique retail, live entertainment venues including the Paramount Theater, many historic sites, parks, beaches, rich in history, and waterfront venues. Walk to the Cold Spring Harbor Labs, St Johns Historic Church, several nature conservatories, and the Cold Spring Harbor Fish Hatchery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harbor Rose

Address: 253 Harbor Rd, Cold Spring Harbor, Huntington, NY 11724-1505
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington > Cold Spring Harbor
Price Range: $271 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Harbor Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Harbor Rose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would stay on the top floor if possible because I assume there is less noise”
dandunn, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't rent Garden Room and be sure you know in detail the bathroom situation.”
I3688KIbarbaram, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“i think there may be one en-suite room, take it! (but up some stairs)”
moniquethecritique, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We really liked the Victorian Room.”
joshf115, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Garden room 1st floor simpler decor larger windows overlooking patio. Upstairs rooms historically appointed.”
753gregc, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 289* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 289
TripAdvisorUSD 289
Hotwire.comUSD 289
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates