We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fair Wind Motel & Cottages

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Fair Wind Motel & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Fair Wind Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 34: English reviews
Webster, New York
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have stayed in cottage 1 for many years(8or9) for the Boat Show and keep coming back. The view is the best you can and the cottage neat and clean. The owners and staff are more then accommodating and friendly. Would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet peaceful place to stay.

4Thank Carol C
Kirkwood, New York
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay there. Room was comfortable and had everthing there we needed. Stayed there for a wedding in August in Alex Bay. Price was right and the view was beautiful and restful from the motel. Other customers were also very friendly. Would like to try their cottages next time because I think the view would be better, plus...

2Thank Sandy w
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was in Clayton for a wedding and last minute was able to stay at a private residence. I had booked the hotel months in advance. With the chaos of my personal life, it slipped that I had to cancel the reservation. The Fair Wind called me and understood the situation and offered refunded my credit card when they did...

3Thank Lindsay C
New Paltz, New York
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is definitely a throwback to the motels of the '50's and '60's. Our rooms and bath were small and simply furnished, but very clean, with coffeemaker, microwave, mini-fridge, and ice available. Guests can enjoy a large, tree-shaded yard with grills, picnic table, and a hilltop gazebo overlooking the St. Lawrence. The heated swimming pool was clear and a perfect...

3Thank barbaracarroll
Rochester, New York
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My room (11) was covered in Pincher bugs (earwings). I checked in and out on the same day. Made a 3 hour trip home at 10pm because it was unsafe for my young children to sleep in these conditions. When office was contacted, they refused any kind of credit. Unacceptable!

3Thank Christina S
RobertAvery123, Owner at Fair Wind Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

This review is totally untrue. When Christina S complained of bugs and requested a refund we checked the room and found no bugs and therefore refused the refund. No one staying in that room before or since has complained of bugs. I believe she was trying to get a free nights stay when that did not work she wrote a...

Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Recently stayed here and rented one of the smaller cabins = price is excellent for the view - We found the cabin to be clean enough - brand new micro, fridge, and coffee maker. Bathroom was decent - my only complaints are the AC was not working the best however the owners did check each day with me to see...

1Thank Leanne L
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed in a cottage at The Fair Wind, the end of August beginning of September this year, for eight days. Our cottage was overlooking the St. Lawrence & it was a spectacular sight, especially while having coffee on the screened-in porch every morning. The cottage was very clean & cozy with a small couch & two chairs & also...

4Thank SusiRW
Lindsay, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed two days in the Motel while on a shopping trip to Watertown. Older Motel with clean rooms and very relaxing. We stayed during a heat wave and the A/C worked hard to keep the room cool, but we would stay here again. Very quiet unlike chain hotels where all you here are doors banging shut and people talking all...

2Thank Larry S
Lockport, NY
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Cute Cottage Motel on the River with dockspace! Clean and quaint, rustic atmosphere that accommodates a location all about the outdoors! Good place to spend the night and venture to the small villages that make up the 1000 islands. 2 minutes from downtown Clayton, 15 minutes from Alexandria Bay, and 25 minutes from Watertown. Minutes from Cape Vincent and Sackets...

2Thank Jillian E
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Fair Wind for 5 days. The first day we stayed in a motel room, and the next four days we stayed in the trailer. It was an amazing time. We had a bonfire every single night and my daughter and I went fishing on the dock quite a bit. We both were taking in huge perch...

2Thank Bill R

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (19)
Room/Suite (6)
Bathroom (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
4.1 km away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
21.4 km away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
899 reviews
21.2 km away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#5 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
Capt.'s Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
105 reviews
20.5 km away
Rock Ledge Motel
Rock Ledge Motel
#2 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
183 reviews
20.7 km away
Otter Creek Inn
Otter Creek Inn
#1 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Fair Wind Motel & Cottages

Address: 38201 NYS Rt. 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Region: United States > New York > Clayton
Price Range: $67 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Fair Wind Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fair Wind Motel & Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Fair Wind Motel & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms are quite small. Room #7 is one of the larger rooms. Very nice.”
wagsanders, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Honestly avoid the motel at all costs, stay in the sleeping cabin or a cottage if you stay there at all.”
leannel558, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The motel rooms are close to the swimming pool. The cottages are down a steep hill, by the river, but not convenient to the pool.”
barbaracarroll, 2 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If you are going with a family pick the trailer or one of the bigger cottages.”
BillR417, 24 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Motel rooms 10 to 12 are farthest from the road.”
Bijou7551, 10 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5