We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belmond Eagle Island Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
Start your review of Belmond Eagle Island Lodge
 Click to rate
Perth
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of four stayed for 3 nights at this newly built lodge. It must be one of the best on the Delta. Great activities and we had the same guide at Eagle Island and then he travelled with us to Savute Elephant Lodge. This continuity was a really nice touch by Belmond. Our guide Keep was fantastic, so knowledgable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PerthKerry
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear PerthKerry, Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you and your family had such a memorable safari at our lodges and that Keep looked after you so well! We hope to welcome you back again soon and you are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Eagle Island is expensive, even at SADC rates, but this is Botswana, the Okovango, and it's a Belmond property. Not the RyanAir, Carnival Cruise circuit. And, as such, it is superb, all inclusive, worth every Pula. The only additional cost might be the helicopter flights (an R44). The accommodation, the service, the staff, the facilities, all outstanding. Allow for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irlantilainen
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Irlantilainen, Thank you for your review and recommendations to fellow travellers. The Okavango Delta is a magnificent place, it's no wonder it's one of the UNESCO Heritage Sites. As you mention, so much is dependent on the water levels and also the wildlife adapts their behaviour to follow the water too, and Moses has such a phenomenal knowledge, we...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unimaginable being in this secluded area of Africa. It was a lifetime experience never to be forgotten. Schedule of safariis, the food, evening experiences there in the camp, all just fabulous. Loved the wake-up call with tea left on the porch, etc. All the extras were what made it extremely top-notch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjg207
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear bjg207, Thank you so much for your 'out of this world' review and for noticing the small touches to make the experience so memorable. We hope to welcome you back to our special place in Africa soon, and you are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived we were treated to first class attention from all staff but especially the managers Onx and Alex. They did everything to ensure our stay was special. The accommodation is luxurious, the food excellent and our guide Moses was a delight. We didn't expect to see big game here but were happy with hippo and crocs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Denise E, Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased that you had such an enjoyable and memorable holiday with us. Will be sure to let Onx and Alex know of your compliments. We hope you welcome you back to the lodges again soon, and you are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news...

Bodrum City, Turkey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved everything about this - our flight in a small plane from Maun to Xaxaba (pronounced Kakaba) gave us our first views of the Okavango delta and then it was a 2 min drive to the lodge with Moses, our designated personal guide. Our accommodation there was truly luxurious. We had chalet no. 2, almost the furthest away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellerin2013
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear travellerin2013, Thank you for your wonderful review, so beautifully written too. It was our pleasure to host you and the lodge and we are delighted that this was the highlight of your African Trip. Moses is such a special person, extremely passionate about his work and how wonderful that the water levels were high enough for you to experience...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We stayed at the Eagle Island Lodge on Feb2017. You feel like royalty since the moment you arrive. We were received by the whole staff. Lynn, the manager explained to us evenrything we needed to make our stay most pleasant. I wish I could remember everyone's name but Kevin, our guides Moses and Phillip, Alex, Gatby, Mahatna( I'm sorry I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzettecandelario
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear suzettecandelario, Thank you for your beautiful review, we are delighted that you were treated like family, and the team will welcome your wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the lodges soon (for longer!). You are welcome to keep up to date with the latest news from Belmond Safaris, find us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We spent 2 nights at Belmond Khwai River Lodge and then 1 night here and I wish it was reversed because the water safaris were just unbelievable. When we arrived, we went on a 30 minute helicopter safari which I wasn't all that enthusiastic about but it turned out to be a really incredible experience. You can see things from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenntabb
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear tenntabb, Thank you so much for recommending our lodges to fellow travellers, it's reviews like yours that remind us why we love what we do so much! The helicopter safari is a must, it really allows a person to view the animals and landscape from an entirely new perspective. We are so glad you decided to take to the...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 January 2017

this is quite a unique, luxury, expensive lodge, I would recommend this Lodge more for couples or the solo artist then for families with small children. Staff at the lodge is lovely, and the view from the rooms are exceptional overlooking the watering hole from your plunge pool. What really was not great was all the bugs during dinner as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZeeGee10
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ZeeGee10, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and it's wonderful that you enjoyed all the little additional touches at our bedtime turn-down as much as we did creating them, we hope you included a trip to the local village that is not far from the lodge. The helicopter safari is indeed one of the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Belmont eagle island in the delta was a truly amazing experience. Only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the food was average, a bit too complicated attempts. Simpler dishes and more grilled meats would be a better option. And the internet, which is only available in the gift shop, was really poor. Everyone would frustratingly huddle in there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USCKaboom
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear USCKaboom, Thank you for your wonderful review, despite the poor Wifi connectivity currently at the lodges. Due to the remote area of the lodges, the connectivity is indeed slower than in major cities. We are delighted that the rest of your stay was so memorable and that you had such an amazing safari experience with us! Thank you for...

Hong Kong
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The helicopter ride is amazing and it enables you to see animals that you would not otherwise discover like Sitatunga It also enables you to see the expanse of the delta and the huge numbers of animals & birds it supports. However it did overshadow everything else in the lodge at the time we stayed there (except, perhaps for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhongkong
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear dhongkong, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Belmond Eagle Island Lodge. The helicopter safari is indeed one of the many highlights at the lodge as you get to see areas of the Okavango Delta that is not accessible by land, especially during the wet/rainy season. During the dry season we take the vehicles out...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
91.2 km away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
44 reviews
31.7 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
202 reviews
21.7 km away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#26 of 70 in Okavango Delta
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 70 in Okavango Delta
112 reviews
87.6 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#14 of 70 in Okavango Delta
69 reviews
123.2 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 70 in Okavango Delta
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belmond Eagle Island Lodge, Africa’s ultimate water-focused safari in Botswana’s Okavango Delta, is the ultimate luxury safari paradise. Nestled in Botswana’s lush Okavango Delta, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the world’s largest inland water systems, the lodge overlooks a lagoon that attracts a breathtaking variety of big game and exotic birds. Explore the region by local canoe, roam on foot or take to the air in an exhilarating helicopter flight overlooking the magnificent Botswana landscape. A wonderful secluded retreat, Belmond Eagle Island Lodge offers a safari vacation that brings together the excitement of discovery and an experience of the real Africa: this is the spirit of Belmond through and through. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Eagle Island Lodge

Address: | Xaxaba Island, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,235 - $1,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Eagle Island Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Eagle Island Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Eagle Island Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Eagle Island Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“wifi very ordinary but you are in the middle of nowhere!! wifi only in the office at the main lodge, not in your room.”
PerthKerry, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chalets 1 and 2 are furthest away from the main area and are therefore more secluded”
  • chalet no. 2 sleeping area
  • a nice touch
travellerin2013, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are amazing!”
  • croc warming up - view from the jet boat
  • View from bar - the most beautiful sunsets!
jenntabb, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Amazing lodge!”
LianneI140, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms great. Quieter/more private to the left of the main entrance”
CharlL98, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5