We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elandskloof Trout Farm

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Elandskloof Trout Farm
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed in "luxury" chalet for the weekend. What a joke to describe accommodation with an adjective like that. Had to bring own towels, pillows were disgusting (pieces of foam surrounded with pillowcase), had to supply own dishwashing liquid & cloth (service didn't include washing dishes), had to supply own soap for shower. No shallow pan supplied with which to cook....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete K
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. With the communication you received via email from us, it does state that we do not supply Towels or dish cloths. However you can ask the staff to supply some if you do need any. We also as per all our notices, do wash dishes when requested. We do supply bathroom Amenities, it is normally...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Love the farm. Nice place for a family reunion or business gathering The private huts with shared bathrooms is very clean, i liked it a lot. The cost to do fly fishing a day is R100 a day. The bad thing is nobody saw 1 fish for the whole weekend, that was a bit of a mood spoiler.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monique683
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Fishing is never easy in the winter, but hope next time you with catch a big one. Regards

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

After a long drive from Toti we needed this stop over. The chalets were perfect and only wish we had more time there Arriving late in the evening we didn't get to do much exploring, but we dos get the fire lit up and say around chatting while a group went out in search of food. Once we woke in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffani H
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Was fantastic having you here.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Even though we arrived on Christmas day we, were warmly welcomed by owners & manager. With the beautiful nature and calm environment, one can truly expect to be rejuvenated here. As stated by the website, be prepared for ANY weather conditions! We did underestimate the possibility of the cold weather conditions. The wind can be strong - nail you tent/...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RP_Jordaan
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit, always great to have guests here that enjoy our beautiful farm. Hope to see again soon.

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Pros: Very nice outing. Beautiful scenery, with lots of fauna. Plenty of ponds. Fishing is great with excellent water quality. This is a farm so expect some sheep, donkeys and the usual. Kids love it. No cell signal at all.!!! Cons: If you have a unit with electricity. You will not have any at all. Can be a issue if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gert V
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Thank you very much for enjoying our piece of heaven. It was unfortunate that the thunder hit 2 links out over the weekend and Eskom did take their time to fix it. As we did offer coffee on Sunday morning to all guests in the Restaurant, sorry if you were not aware of it. As for the staff.... it was...

Boksburg
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Look for the 4 Star you get a very nice and basic Accommodation package . The bed is comfortable, the place is clean , neat and very rustic. The views are spectacular and the surrounding little town breaths a life all of its own. I have to say it was cold, wet and Foggy , but it was an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 841ramonl
CCC2004, Owner at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Dear 841ramonl, Thank you for your review. We appreciate positive comments like yours and will let the staff know. Regards Celeste

Benoni
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Truly relaxing venue, with amazing views of the trout dams and surrounding mountains. Went there to do the Ashburton mtb race and found a real gem, one we will definitely be visiting again. The hosts and staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Dirt road to the venue is exceptionally well maintained and added some extra mountain biking fun; also did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda G
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Dear Belinda G, Thank you for your review, See you soon. Regards Celeste

Brakpan, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Unfortunately, we have not seen one Eland, but this is truly a wonderful place to relax and just do nothing. We enjoyed the mountain biking on the well maintained dirt road and also the hiking up the koppie. Unfortunately we did not know that this place is pet friendly and was disturbed by some other guest's dogs barking at us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C_E_MvdM
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comment. Yes we fill the pool with fountain water, and as we don't want to damage the natural water system when pool water goes back into the system we don't use a lot of chemical. We do apologise for the barking dogs. Hope to see you again.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We visited Elandskloof trout farm this weekend. Wonderful calming experience. Would recommend it to anyone looking to escape the concrete jungle and relax. We had no issues nor disputes after an entire weekend being 13 youngish people in total. Thank you for the experience. We even had a marriage proposal on a late afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElandskloofTrout15
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Thank you, Hope to see you soon again.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

My friends and I love this place in dullstroom , we usually take the luxury chalets as they are the newest and nicest , the farm is very tranquil , lovely place to relax away from the city , it is close to the dullstroom town which is nice to enjoy some breakfast or lunch. The Chalets have braai facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lina Marcela J
CCC2004, Manager at Elandskloof Trout Farm, responded to this review

Thank you, It is always nice to have you here! See you soon.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
0.0 km away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
181 reviews
0.0 km away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#8 of 27 in Dullstroom
22 reviews
0.0 km away
Woolly Bugger Farm
Woolly Bugger Farm
#1 of 27 in Dullstroom
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cpirit Country Haven
Cpirit Country Haven
#5 of 11 in Dullstroom
19 reviews
0.0 km away
Lomas Creek Lodge
Lomas Creek Lodge
#5 of 27 in Dullstroom
37 reviews
0.0 km away
KlipHuisjes
KlipHuisjes
#19 of 27 in Dullstroom
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Self Catering Farm Accommodation Experience the unique splendour of the Dullstroom highlands at 2000 meters above sea level. Join your hosts, the Combrink family, on their 1500 Hectare trout farm. Enjoy walking, cycling or a horseback ride among the 800 head of game on this pristine farm. Spot the endangered Oribi or the rare mountain Zebra. Take time to search for the elusive Otter along the banks of the river, or spot any of the Grassland predators like Caracal, Black backed jackal or the secretive Brown Hyena. More than 200 birds have been recorded on this farm with sightings of Fluff tail, Fish eagles, and the long wing Nightjar. Blue Crane, Mahem and Wattle Crane are annual visitors and have bred successfully on Elandskloof. If you are more into doing it in style, let us take you on a game drive or night drive (weather permitting). Cycle the quiet district roads and explore the beauty of the Mpumalanga escarpment Make use of the crystal clear air, the colourful hues, and the dramatic backdrop of the mountains to capture that once in a lifetime picture. Explore a working farm and learn about stock handling, assist with the everyday chores of feeding the pluimfee. For the avid fly fishermen we have 11 dams, varying in size with some as large as 8 hectares, regularly stocked from our own hatchery. Although we promote catch and release a bag limit of 2 fish per angler is allowed. Cook it yourself in one of our self-catering units or let us prepare it for you in our restaurant (by prior arrangement). Enjoy the peace and quiet of farm life, sit around a fireplace, see the mist roll in . Prefer to camp? Stands have electricity points, hot water ablutions and washing up areas. Make use off our mobile braais. Firewood and ice are always available. Take a break and let the kids enjoy the playground filled with vintage farm equipment, or splash around in the year round heated natural spring water pool or Jacuzzi. Looking for that special venue? Allow us to host your wedding, corporate function or teambuilding event. Our staff has all the qualifications to make your experience a unique one. From 20 to 180 people, nothing is too much effort. Our resident chef has worked in some of our country's finest hotels and will assist you in planning your menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elandskloof Trout Farm

Address: RJ Combrink | Machadodorp Road, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Price Range: $31 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elandskloof Trout Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elandskloof Trout Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is true Self catering. The small cottage is stunning , the bigger units have amazing views of the trout dams and the wild life”
 of 5 bubbles 841ramonl, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't leave anything outside,donkeys & goats raid the bins & tables at night and early morning. the geysers are shared between chalets.”
 of 5 bubbles 666shelby, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay