We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rhulani Safari Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Rhulani Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rhulani Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Dear Sean and all staff at Rhulani, We wanted to write to say what a wonderful time we had on April 4-6, even though it was a mere 2 days we were taken aback by the level of professional service & friendly welcome that we received. I'm sure you receive thousands of emails from all your happy guests, but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank racheysmithy
RhulaniLodge, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachel & Justin On behalf of the Rhulani team, and especially on behalf of Sean, your field guide, we would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. While we have the impression that we actually see many guests leaving our place with a happy face, it is unfortunately not not so that we then also get thousands of...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I visited Rhulani in February with my husband and four kids for four nights. We had never been on safari and had no idea what to expect. Everything about it was amazing! The rooms, the service, the people, the animals we saw - honestly could hardly find a fault. Rian our driver was fabulous and Carla the Manager was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillbrennan
RhulaniLodge, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jill Thank you very very much for your wonderful feedback. It is extremely nice to know that your first safari experience with the whole family was an unforgettable experience, and that Rhulani was the right place for you. The whole Rhulani team is grateful that we have had the pleasure to host you in our Family Unit as a...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The Chalets are delightful, each one having a fireplace which at this time of the year is very romantic. The food is delicious, the staff are friendly and attentive. Then there are some amazing game viewing opportunities. We have been there 5 times now with various friends from around the world they have all loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
RhulaniLodge, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John We are very pleased that you have stayed with us already for the fifth time, and that we can still surprise you with our quality in the lodge and with beautiful wildlife viewing. Thank you very much for the compliments to our staff, the food and the quality of the chalets. We are very pleased to welcome you...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 April 2016

This place is heaven! Brilliantly looked after, knowledgeable guides, great food and right in the thick of the bush. Accommodation in individual thatched lodges is wonderful. Tranquil, spacious, perfect for whiling away a few hours before the next game drive. You're made to feel very special. When you're on safari it can sometimes feel like you're constantly eating, Rhulani have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DPS75
RhulaniLodge, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We are pleased that we were able to offer you such a perfect stay and that you felt like in heaven. Special thanks for your feedback regarding our food and especially our solution of high tea between the morning brunch and dinner. In fact, we want to offer our guests...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April as a family of 4 (kids ages 9 & 12) in the family lodge. This was our first safari and we all agreed that our expectations were met and surpassed - what a fantastic experience! We stayed in the family lodge which was amazing - 3 massive rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanne C
RhulaniLodge, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We are delighted that you have selected Rhulani for your first safari experience, and very pleased that at the end, we could even exceed your expectations. The family suite in which you stayed, with the two bedrooms and the lounge in the middle, seems to have been the ideal place...

Plano, Texas
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Best part of our South Africa trip by far! We spent two days at this beautiful lodge in Chalet #5 (which had a perfect view of the Watering Hole). Our safari guide was Sean Townsend. I cannot say enough good about this young man. He was extremely knowledgeable about all of the wildlife and natural elements. He was funny yet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank B G
RhulaniLodge, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Plano After we have succeeded to create a "highlight" on your trip through South Africa, you have now definitely made our day by your wonderful comment. We are aware that TripAdvisor is often used to draw attention to shortcomings, which we handle seriously, but wonderful words like yours is an absolute highlight in our daily "Rhulani routine". Thank you...

Reviewed 10 March 2016

We live in Canada and travel all over the world and always book 5 star accomodation.Whenever we are in South Africa we like to visit a game reserve and the last 7 years we visited lodges in Madikwe game reserve. It was always a special experience but unfortunately I can't say that Rhulani matched the other lodges we stayed at....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
Rhulani S, Inhaber at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marie S We are very re sorry to hear that compared to previous visits to Madikwe you were (resp. you are) not satisfied with us. Believe us, it is the top priority for us to do our utmost to make our guests feel at home here, to offer an unforgettable time in the bush, and make sure that finally...

Nicholasville, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We had guests visiting from the US who wanted to go on a safari experience. We chose to go to Madikwe and stay at Rhulani Safari lodge. Having stayed at several other lodges within Madikwe, we had high expectations for this lodge as well, and were not disappointed. The rooms are beautiful, the food amazing and the staff very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LW1214
Rhulani S, Inhaber at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We are pleased that as a local expert you finally selected Rhulani Lodge for the safari experience of your visitors from the United States. Since you already knew Madikwe, you certainly took certain risk by selecting lodge which was unknown to you, and so we are even more pleased that...

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We stayed at Rhulani for 4 nights Jan16. It was our first safari trip. On arrival we were met by Gerda the manager and her staff which made us immediately feel welcome after a long flight and transfer. Indeed, this greeting continued on each arrival back to the Lodge after Drives. We had carefully chose Rhulani as our Lodge because...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HappySUPPER
RhulaniLodge, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest First of all, thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. You have spent four nights with us and it was your first experience with the African wildlife. Given that you (as you describe) have made a very careful analysis to choose the right place for this experience, we are very proud that your choice has fallen to...

stockholm
Reviewed 7 February 2016

This was our first time on a safari, and me and my son had a great experience. The game drives were the highlights and we saw more animals than we had expected, even though it seemed to be quite dry for the season. Our ranger, Sean, seemed to love what he was doing and shared many interesting facts about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fifi032
RhulaniLodge, Owner at Rhulani Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are glad to hear from you and to be sure that your first safari experience was a success with us. We are delighted that you and your son liked our lodge, the meals, the service from our staff, and that your expectations were even exceeded when you were out in the bush together with your ranger Sean....

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (168)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
2.3 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
340 reviews
8.5 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
446 reviews
21.3 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
436 reviews
17.4 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
410 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Succumb to the peace and tranquility of this spectacular setting. Relax in the spaciousness of your private luxury chalet with its own deck and plunge pool.Each chalet includes a Morso fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rhulani Safari Lodge

Address: Bravo 21 Wonderboom node, Madikwe Game Reserve 2840, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $878 - $1,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rhulani Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhulani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rhulani Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rhulani Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room the same nic and privaten”
Lovepv4ever, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“every room is beautiful!”
Betttsss, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“#5 was the cats meow!”
J1972JGrobertf, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont do all the game drives if you want to enjoy your room! skip some haha!”
keitumetsem, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Consider to fly directly from O.R. Tambo International to Madikwe western airstrip.”
  • African sunset
  • View from the main lodge
332tosv, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates