We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (362)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (16)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good17%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“luxury tents”(10 reviews)
“game drives”(97 reviews)
“marico river”(13 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Thakadu River Camp
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
238
58
16
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
238
58
16
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury tentsgame drivesmarico riverfudgecommunity runwild dogsthe reservelocal communityelectric blanketsbush experiencegame drivermosquito netair conditioninga king size bedthoroughly enjoyed our staythe main lodgewhole experience
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Road to lodges was the worst we have had. 4x4 is a must to reach the lodge. Staff is not professional and helpful like in other lodges. They have not been learned how to deal with guests ( management issue) Every morning monkeys entered the...More

1  Thank robert s
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Robert S Thank you for your review. Please except my apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will action accordingly. We hope to see you back at Thakadu River Camp.

Reviewed 30 May 2017

My husband and I visited Thakadu River Camp to have our first safari experience. As a 5-month pregnant lady, its location in a malaria-free area was important to us, and we were encouraged by the community-run aspect of this lodge. Our experience was fantastic! The...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johannas917
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 4 June 2017

Dear johannas917 We are glad that the Thakadu Team managed to make your first Safari Experience a memorable one. It was a pleasure hosting you and we can not wait to welcome you back and meet the baby.

Reviewed 28 May 2017

If you're really lucky you'll experience the bush with a very knowledgeable, fully interactive guide. Unfortunately this doesn't always happen which can spoil the overall experience somewhat. The hotel staff are wonderful, right from your early morning wake up call to the last good night...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gill G
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Gill G Thank you for your review and on going support of Thakadu River Camp. The Team are looking forward to host you and your friends / family in August.

Reviewed 25 May 2017

This Lodge is about 4.5 hrs from OR Tambo Airport. It is one of the smaller Lodges in Madikwe only 24 beds. The staff was very friendly and we only arrived after 21:00 hours due to traffic. They still made us supper and nothing was...More

Thank NHaacke
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 26 May 2017

Dear NHaacke We are trilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and Safari experience at Thakadu River Camp. We are looking forward to receive you back as returning guests.

Reviewed 24 May 2017

This lodge is value for money food is up to expectation including the accommodation and game drives staff are friendly and helpful my only gripe is the lack of wi fi otherwise would recommend this lodge.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 682Joanne
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River CampResponded 26 May 2017

Dear 682 Joanne It was a pleasure hosting you. We are glad to see that you did enjoyed your stay. We currently have a IT team on site, installing an new Wi- Fi system. We are looking forward to welcome you back as returning guests...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Madikwe Game Reserve
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 450 - USD 687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 450 - USD 687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (362)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (16)
Pool & Beach (15)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dani L
26 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Elle D | Reviewed this property |
Yes yes. There is a game drive in the morning and afternoon. Just phone the lodge and confirm the times. Their customer service was great.
1
Vote
Mishy77
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hanlie L | Property representative |
Connection is not always strong but you will be able to connect with 3G.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"As the rooms are like pearls on a chain along the river - it would be good for people with limited movement..."
Read review
"The room was perfect... though the only issue we had were marks on the head board of the bed. Probably where..."
Read review
"If you need to be close to reception nd facilities, you need to stick to rooms 1 to 4 max. the rooms are..."
Read review
"We were given Tent number 2 as requested - a manageable distance from the Lodge/swimming pool/pick up area..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing