We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wildside Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wildside Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wildside Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing stay at the Wildside 'luxury' tented camp where we received everything short of luxury. Unappetising food served at meal times. Badly maintained facilities. We were quite happy to pay the higher rates as we were sure to receive a worth while experience. But sadly we did not.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inwoodleigh
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear InwoodLeigh, We were disheartened to read your review, but glad that you also contacted us directly to give feedback on the issues raised. As per our direct communication, we apologise that your stay was not the Legendary experience we strive to create and that your current perception of our property is a not so positive one. We thank you...

Steinbach, Burgenland, Austria
Reviewed 4 March 2015

we have been here as a chill-down phase of 8500 km travelling some of the national parks in SA. Not self driving after 4 weeks is a perfect fading out!!! If you do not INSITS in having the big 5 on one picture you will find a lot of very special game experiences. The camp is very friendly with enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FranzReinisch7441
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear FranzReinisch7441 We are thrilled to hear about you experience at Wildside Safari Camp and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Wildside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Just came back from an amazing 10-day stay at Wildeside. The tents were clean and fresh, and housekeeping came twice a day. I loved staying in a tent and listening to the sounds from the animals at night. The male lion passed straight through the camp one night and we saw the tracks the morning after - exciting!! The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mgj_oslo
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear mgj_oslo We are thrilled to hear about your stay at Wildeside Safari Lodge! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with us, even including the details about your encounters with the animals. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Wildside Team and look forward to welcoming you back...

Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Lovely and clean tented chalets. Service friendly. Big 5 game drives was fantastic. Very good Rangers made a lot of effor to see al of the Big 5. Had a night game drive and saw lions at nights. Really tried to meet all our needs. Had a lovely breakfast outside one morning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julene2015
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Julene2015 We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Wildside Safari Camp and that you had such a fantastic time on your game drives. We will be sure to give your review through to the Wildside team and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

We (a family of 5, 2 adults, 2 teens and an 8 year old) stayed at Wildside Camp over New Year 2014/15 and had a fantastic time. The camp is traditional and both basic and luxurious. The views from the tent we were in (tent number 10) were breath taking and we could hear big cats in the bush close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby C
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Toby C It is always lovely to hear our guests' experiences and thank you for sharing your time at Wildside with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking views, wonderful safaris and your overall stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the Wildside Team and hope to welcome...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 January 2015

They accepted my booking and full payment for the stay, but later informed us that they do not have available accommodation. This was done through travelnow and not directly to us. Took us 1 week to get the money back into our account.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim_dutoit
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear jim_dutoit, We regret that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy our property, however we unfortunately cannot be held responsible for bookings done through a 3rd party. We do hope you will endeavour to visit us sometime in the not too distant future and you are also more than welcome to book directly with us via our website...

Philippines
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Entabeni is a small game reserve and having done many other larger game reserves we did find it almost tame. I know the animals are still wild but the reserve only has a very limited number of each animal. Cant disclose the actual numbers for the poaching but I can count as we were there for 3 days and saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharlsandAnton
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear SharisandAnton, We apologise that your time with us at Wildside Safari Camp was not the Legendary experience we strive to create. The Game Drives at Entabeni Safari Conservancy are generally of a high standard, and rangers are highly trained and their knowledge and interaction with guests is often complimented. While Entabeni is smaller than the Kruger, we are still...

Reviewed 15 September 2014

The staff is amazing and passionate. Game rangers ensure that you always have the best time and the area is breath-taking. The thatched huts are beautiful and gives you the feeling of relaxation when you look out at the mountain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 792inav
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Hi 792Inav Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you had such an amazing time and that you enjoyed the breath-taking views. We hope that you will visit Wildside Safari Camp again soon!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I don't know where to start! From the moment we arrived at Wildside we were blown away. Let me begin with the surroundings... little thatched huts nestled amongst the wilderness looking onto a mountain. Amazing. Our room was brilliant, cosy and clean with a true rustic african vibe! The food was brilliant and they happily catered for vegetarian needs. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Amanda J Thank you very much for taking the time to post this awesome review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that it was indeed Legendary! Thank you for the compliments on our property, team and game viewing – we have passed them on to the Team at Wildside Camp. We look forward to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We got to live in the wild with Giraffe and Baboons walking right past our tent. on the game drives we got to see 3 of the big five as well as Cheetah, together with lots of other game. The Game Ranger was knowledgeable and entertaining. The electric blankets were great at keeping us warm through the nights.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert B
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Wildside Camp, responded to this review

Dear Robert B We appreciate you taking the time to post this review. It gives us great pleasure to read that your overall stay was a Legendary one and trust that you will return again for another memorable encounter in the wild.

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
43 reviews
6.5 km away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
238 reviews
23.6 km away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
9 reviews
36.5 km away
Marula
Marula
#5 of 10 in Mokopane
10 reviews
12.5 km away
Roundstone Mountain Biking & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled against the majestic cliffs of the Waterberg Mountain lies Wildside Safari Camp where you can experience the wild side of the bush. Stay close to nature in tented chalets on wooden decks. Traditional South African hospitality and superior cuisine await you in the informal dining and bar area extending to the boma. Here, in the warm atmosphere around the campfire, you will experience an African night at its best. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wildside Camp

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Lower Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wildside Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Wildside Camp Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Wildside Camp South Africa/Entabeni Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wildside Camp staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wildside Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from Tent 17 - Very noisy”
K4494MZmichelleb, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All tents are detached; no preferred location.”
  • Inside view.
  • Tent.
josephineg891, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family Tent No 11... is the best...by the outskirts of the lodge... peaceful and gives you the feeling that you are in the middle of the bush!”
kerryf309, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent nr 11 ( one of the newer tents) is best in our opinion. Great view of the bush and far enough from the restaurant and pool area ( Read: quite time)”
678gunterh, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your bathroom has a door”
vivetm2017, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5