We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Simbavati River Lodge

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Simbavati River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

448 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Simbavati River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We visited Simbavati River Lodge for 2 nights and had the most memorable, amazing stay. My boyfriend took me there as a surprise to propose to me and it couldn't have been more special. The staff went to SO much trouble, especially Greg! All my (now) fiance asked was that we could stop near a river bed at sunset for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kirsten O
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kirsten O Congratulations on your engagement. We were so happy that we could be part of this memorable occasion and all the extras was the least that we could do to make this special moment one of the best moments of your life together. Thank you for the lovely review it is greatly appreciated and we will pass on...

Hawthorne, California
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I'm just going to get this out of the way up front: Mind Blown! and WOW! (In the best way possible.) We arrived after dark our first night so missed the evening drive, but saw a buffalo kill on the way in. We were welcomed with drinks and a view of hippos at the water hole. The basic rules during...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nx6fly
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nx6fly Thank you so much for the awesome review! Wow, the details and compliments "blew us away". We also see you as family and we are so happy that we achieved what we set out to do which was to make you feel like you are at home and part of our family. Thank you for choosing our lodge...

Aiken
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We stayed four nights in Simbavati; upon arrival we were greeted by Nyallah grazing right in front of the lodge, as well as staff with hot towels and juice. Tanya outlined procedures and gave us instructions on properly locking doors in our tent to keep out the baboons. Our tent was spacious, with a large deck; the door was solid...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary J
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mary Thank you for choosing our lodge for your safari experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at and that you got to see the wild dogs and rhino as that is truly a special sighting for any game drive. Thank you for your lovely detailed review of our lodge we really do appreciate it. We hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The directions we received to get there were spot on and easy to follow, and upon our arrival we got a very warm welcome with little gifts for the children which they loved - the torches were a huge hit. They are very family friendly and welcomed us and our two young children (age 6 & 4). The check-in process...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ukmorrows
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ukmorrows Thank you for the detailed review. We value your feedback and constructive criticism. We are happy to hear that your kids had a memorable safari experience and that you got to experience wonderful wildlife sightings. Sorry to hear that our field ranger was grumpy. We are starting refurbishments in Nov and we know that our guests will be...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Family of Mum, Dad, miss 8 and Miss 6 loved this. We enjoyed 6 game drives over 4 days and saw the big 5 plus crocs, hippos and the highlight of a cheetah with a kill. Accomodation was great the food ok and the staff great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Daniel We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at our lodge. Wow, the Big 5 and a cheetah kill! Your family was treated to some special and memorable sightings. I m jealous. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the service. Thank you for the feedback regarding our food, we...

Neuss, Germany
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We had one of the very big and beautiful rooms, rather actually a whole little flat. The children`s room was with a view onto the dried out river and the waterhole. A very big bathroom with a great shower. The service is excellent and the rangers even take care of you while dinner. With small children you need to reserve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabine C
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sabin C Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our family chalets, that you were more than happy with our service and that you had excellent game drives. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Keep well, kind regards Nadine

california
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Our transfer from the local airport to Simbavati was a portent of what was to follow. On the way we saw impala, waterbuk, ostriches, a rhino, a warthog, and several other types of antelope. We were just minutes too early because a couple who transferred a little later than we did also saw a cheetah. Our first drive in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank William S
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear William S Thank you for choosing to stay at our lodge and for the lovely detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your safari adventure. It was awesome that you got the opportunity to experience the best of our amazing wildlife. Thank you for the compliments of our staff, we will pass on the messages. They will be thrilled...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We had 4 days of good viewing, with an amazing ranger and tracker, although you cannot expect too much in Mopani bush. But the food was really unacceptably poor. The vegetables on the first night were boiled snap peas and butternut, the babootie topping had to be cut with a knife. The staff were very good, but something must be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 010Terence
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 010TERENCE Thank you for the feedback. We are sad to hear that you thought your stay at our lodge was not worth the money. We pride ourselves on our service and we are confident that we offer a value for money product. I wanted to let you know that we value your constructive criticism and that your comments have...

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

My granddaughter and I have just spent 4 glorious days at Simbavati and agree it is the best holiday we have ever had. We were made so welcome by everyone. Sitting beside the waterhole having breakfast and watching the animals and birds coming in to drink was magical. We were fed almost too well, delicious meals every day. But the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cynthia331
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia Thank you for the lovely review. We are so excited to hear that your stay with us was your best holiday ever! Thank you for choosing our lodge for your safari experience with your grand daughter. We hope that you will come back and visit us again. Keep well, regards Nadine

Reviewed 14 September 2015

We were picked up by the lodge at the main gate last minute as our original transport was disrupted. As we were late arriving they made our journey to the lodge our first game drive. Clement, our driver was nothing less than superb in the way he made this and all our subsequent drives spectacular. His knowledge and ability to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter W
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Peter W We are so glad to hear that you had an amazing stay, got to see the Big 5, you enjoyed your massages and that we got to be part of your safari holiday. We will pass on your message to all staff as they will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and their hospitality....

456 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (445)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Other (258)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
1.0 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
184 reviews
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
669 reviews
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
208 reviews
8.1 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
344 reviews
34.7 km away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $951 - $1,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simbavati River Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Simbavati River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room had no view of the river, but it was very quiet and you could hear the animals at night, which was so special”
migafre, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view. We were stuck at the end of the row of tents with no view at all.”
Archie9898, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wild dog room”
908cindy, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river are best”
SydneyBirdie, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The tents and rooms are both good. Ones with view over river or waterhole would be better.”
17daleg, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates