We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Simbavati River Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Simbavati River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Simbavati River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 350: English reviews
Pismo Beach, California
Reviewed 10 October 2014

We were so impressed with Simbavati's tents and service. It is a beautiful place to stay. I wish we could have stayed longer! The food was also excellent! We loved the barbecue and all the wonderful staff. They were so friendly and eager to please. We loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pattiholmes49
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pattiholmes49 Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience and that you were happy with our lodge, staff and our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge in the near future. Kind regards Nadine

Atlanta
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The LODGE My family stayed at this lodge for 2 nights in the “Rhino” family rondavel. We were greeted with fruit juice and a 15-minute run down of the “rules” regarding the lodge. The primary one being that since there are no fences we were not to walk from our room to the lodge alone after dark. The second important...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RBdreamtripper
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RB dreamtripper Thank you so much for writing a review and for going into so much detail. It was a great read with loads of constructive criticism that we will definitely be looking into to find ways to improve where we have fallen short of your expectations. I must say to hear that you will not be back or...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Superior experience for "tent camping". Lodge and facilities quite nice. Accommodated special diet needs. Guide/Ranger and Tracker used knowledge and experience to create opportunities for amazing access to animals on our safari drives.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beh80301
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear beh80301 Thank you for the review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our tents and our game drives. We were happy to accommodate your dietary requirements, and we will gladly do it again. Please come back and visit us again. Kind regards Nadine

Bangalore
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Our brief stay has been a memorable experience. Very friendly and caring staff, experienced trackers in the safari ..good food, peaceful ambiance in the middle of 'nowhere' with exciting nocturnal visiting animals.. Latha and Satyan

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brsatyan
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Latha and Satyan Thank you for the great review. We are glad you had a memorable experience and that we were part of it. Please come back and visit us again. Keep well, regards Nadine

San Diego, California
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We had planned our safari trip for over a year. We decided on spending time at two places (loved them both). We stayed at Simbavati River Lodge for 3 nights in late July 2014. Coming from the U.S., we broke up the trip with stops in Europe, but the trip to South Africa is still very long. We flew into...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SeanSD
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sean SD Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you had an amazing experience whilst staying at our lodge. Your wife has great taste! Just like the elephants who love the Amarula :) We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge. Keep well, regards...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Small hotel which gives you a more personal experience .Real clean rooms , fantastic food and very friendly staff and management. On arrival you are welcomed with a cool drink and refresher towel before being escorted to your room. We rested before joining our guide on the evening safari which takes approx. 3.5 hours where we saw elephants, zebras ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thchevman
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear thchevman Thank you for the great review and the compliments, we will pass them onto our staff :) We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable experience and that you have booked your next stay at our lodge. We look forward to going beyond your expectations on your return trip. Keep well, kind regards Nadine

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Wonderful stay. Treated like family. Fantastic- Could not of asked for more. The staff make it all the more Awesome. Have already planned to return to Simbavati soon.Highly recommend xxxxx This experience with the Simbavati team was beyond belief, can not recommend them highly enough. Jill, Donna & Greg are fantastic as well as the butlers, Lucky included xxxxxx

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TerriRawling
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Terri Thank you for the awesome review! It is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge! We will pass on your compliments to the team. Keep well and see you soon. Regards Nadine

Garland, TX
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Simbavati River Lodge may have canvas walls but it is more like a nice hotel than a tent. The food was great, service was super, great ambience, exciting game drives and a beautiful setting. Too bad the river is dry, but that is not their fault. I would recommend them to anyone and I would happily stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CheckingTravelFacts
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Checking Travel... Thank you for the great review and for the recommendation it is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge again. Keep well, regards Nadine

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 September 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. This was the first leg of our honeymoon and it couldn't have gotten off to a better start. The luxury tent was wonderful. It had an A/C and heat unit and a nice, cool bathroom with showers outside. Everything about it was clean and comfortable. The lodge itself is very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank metalgear901
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Metalgear901 Congratulations on your wedding! We are so excited that we were able to be part of the first leg of your honeymoon and we are glad that we were able to make it a memorable. Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge for your anniversary :) Keep well,...

Reviewed 8 September 2014

We were there 3 years ago and enjoyed the atmosphere and staff so much, we decided to go back. The food was fabulous. The guides and trackers well informed and the accommodations "just rustic enough".

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kathy It was great having you stay at our lodge again! Thank you for coming back to visit us. We are glad you enjoyed your 2nd stay and we look forward to having you come back again! Keep well, kind regards Nadine

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (422)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (237)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
36.9 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
402 reviews
1.0 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
164 reviews
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
542 reviews
9.7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
395 reviews
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 13 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $756 - $1,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simbavati River Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Simbavati River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the river are best”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyBirdie, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The tents and rooms are both good. Ones with view over river or waterhole would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles 17daleg, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a tent overlooking the river bed or you will have no view.”
 of 5 bubbles jerryban, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try staying in one of the tent huts (airconditioned) if you don't mind the nightly sounds of animals moving right up to your hut.”
 of 5 bubbles bgjestvang, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view to the river”
 of 5 bubbles amitliber, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay