We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Monwana Game Lodge

    | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Traveller (174)
    Room & Suite (33)
    Dining (12)
    • Excellent98%
    • Very good2%
    • Average0%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Laundry Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    29 Oct.30 Oct.
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (243)
    There are newer reviews for Monwana Game Lodge
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    51 - 55 of 217 reviews

    Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

    We booked the Monwana Game Lodge at the very last minute while on vacation in Cape Town. The only room available was the Honeymoon Suite, but we were intent on including a safari in our African adventure, so we splurged. Worth every last cent. Having...More

    1  Thank hbsurf74
    Reviewed 3 March 2016

    We stayed only two nights in this wonderful spot. One more day and night would not have gone amiss. We were there for the game and were not disappointed thanks to the knowledge and enthusiasm of our guide Jaques and tracker Morris. We saw all...More

    2  Thank Iain P
    Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

    Thank you, Jacques, Emma, Morris, Valentine, Mapule (probably not written like this) and all the others for yet another great stay. We've visited your lodge in 2012 and were so enthousiastic that we wanted to come back. But when memories are that good it is...More

    1  Thank kerobv
    Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

    It was the most magical bush break. Perfection in service, game viewing, accommodation, food and setting. We have been to many game lodges and in our opinion, this was the best ever. Emma, Jacques and Morris the tracker were friendly, knowledgeable and nothing was too...More

    1  Thank Janice L
    Reviewed 19 January 2016

    I booked Monwana lodge after reading reviews here and certainly not disappointed! We went for our honeymoon trip I organised for my wife. I decided to drive from Jo'burg, and we stopped the night before at Hazyview (Hamilton lodge which is ideal, lovely food) this...More

    2  Thank jbsmith13
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    410 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,780 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
    Kapama Southern Camp
    626 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
    Kapama Karula
    445 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • USD 686 - USD 864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 5
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Kruger National Park >
    • Thornybush Private Game Reserve
    • Also Known As
    • Monwana Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (174)
    Room & Suite (33)
    Dining (12)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (137)
    Bathroom (1)
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,780 reviews
    14.50 km away
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    410 reviews
    12.16 km away
    Kapama Southern Camp
    626 reviews
    8.78 km away
    Kapama Karula
    445 reviews
    6.48 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
    434 reviews
    24.58 km away
    Potluck Boskombuis
    334 reviews
    44.89 km away
    Austrian Coffee Estate
    7 reviews
    46.33 km away
    Cala la Pasta Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
    295 reviews
    24.66 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Camp Jabulani Elephant Experience
    79 reviews
    9.14 km away
    Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
    843 reviews
    27.90 km away
    Blyderivierspoort Hiking Trail
    30 reviews
    38.76 km away
    Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre
    765 reviews
    14.09 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    18 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Candice W | Property representative |
    You can email them through the Thornybush Collection Fan page on Facebook @ThornybushGameLodge.Official
    9 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from PaulPauwen | Reviewed this property |
    The jeep can take up to 9 pax. We were only 4 on our trip
    John W
    30 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from ThornybushLimpopo | Property representative |
    Hi John, Monwana Game Lodge is in a private reserve and no drives are permitted unless you're staying at one of the Thornybush lodges i.e we do not allow day visitors... We are considered to be in a malaria low risk region..
    Room Tips
    "small informal lodge with lovely team"
    Read review
    "Rooms that view the watering hole"
    Read review
    "The suite overlooks the watering hole and provides for an excellent view"
    Read review
    "All rooms have great views"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing