We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arathusa Safari Lodge

Save
Traveller (1343)
Room & Suite (252)
Dining (65)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good12%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“watering hole”(155 reviews)
“facing room”(11 reviews)
“game drives”(238 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Arathusa Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
634
93
28
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
634
93
28
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatering holefacing roomgame driveswater holesabi sandsoutdoor showerluxury roomwild dogsother guestsresident hippocape buffalooverlooking the waterelephants drinkingherd of elephantssouth africamosquito netinfinity pool
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

I have visited many safari lodges in South Africa and this is the best so far. First the game viewing was exceptional. I saw leopards close up so relaxed and still that I really appreciated how beautiful they were. The big 5 sightings included a...More

1  Thank Alicelincolnshire
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Oh my word I cannot begin to describe what a wonderful time we had. Lovely rooms overlooking the water hole which unfortunately because of the dry weather was dry. However, the ranger and tracker made our safari excursions an experience not to be forgotten. We...More

1  Thank Suzanne J
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights. I agree with many reviewers about how great the experience is but it’s important to separate the Lodge and the safari in your review. The safari is the easy part, it is great, the private game reserve used by...More

3  Thank Peter1Northampton
Response from Originblu-Comms, Public Relations Manager at Arathusa Safari LodgeResponded 1 March 2018

Dear 'Peter1Northampton', Many thanks for your review submitted. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable safari experience at Arathusa, although I would have preferred to have scored full marks on your hospitality experience too. I have addressed a number of your points with my...More

Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I traveled to South Africa for our honeymoon and planned to stay at Arathusa to bring in the New Year. We had such an amazing start to the New Year because we stayed at Arathusa. Everything from the staff to the food...More

Thank Amanda S
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful experience. Excellent game viewing, accommodation and value in sabi sands. We loved our room which had a plunge pool and was quiet and private. Flying in to their airstrip was an added bonus.

Thank tjrj2016
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1343)
Room & Suite (252)
Dining (65)
Pool & Beach (36)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Beth B
9 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Zubaida R | Reviewed this property |
Both are true. Yo can sit with your group or you can get a meal in your room or on your balcony just for you two.
0
Votes
Claire C
20 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Berend d | Reviewed this property |
Hi Claire, we will be there also in April from 15th till 20th but to answer your question there is not a gym at this lodge. To get some exercise you can swim in small pool or you can go hiking with a ranger every morning... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Annie055
15 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Beebles54 | Reviewed this property |
We saw one very small snake on the deck where breakfast was set up one morning. Three birds (hornbills) had spotted it and were hoping for a snack, but one of the rangers encouraged the snake to leave the deck. All the... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Stay in a bush facing room"
Read review
"The daily bush walks with your guide, although optional, are definitely worth going on!"
Read review
"Get a Waterhole facing room. WONDERFUL!"
Read review
"If you want to see elephants get a bush facing room with splash pool they’ll use it more than you. Downside..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing