We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elephant Plains Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 601: English reviews
Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewed 1 week ago

This lodge unfortunately was quite a disappointment. Try to have a shower. If you can stand the excruciating pain of standing on pebbles then this is for you. If you expect not to be served in the bar and wait for ages, then this is definitely your place. Pitiful pretentious. Staff expect guests to help get the room ready for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abcdefghijklmnop683
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do not know when you wanted a drink at the bar. The only explanation why you were not served immediately would be that the barman quickly ran to the store room to get extra stock. One of the ladies at reception would...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hard to get to but worth the drive! Excellent accommodation, attentive staff - took care of every little detail, delicious food! We were there for 2 nights. Enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Morne, our guide had experience and expertise to follow 2 buffalos to the water hole where 5 lions were resting. Pretty soon, right in front of our eyes, lions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN J
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and for calling our accommodation excellent, our staff attentive and our food delicious. It sounds like you had some very special sightings. Thank you for mentioning that you loved your stay and that you would definitely recommend us to other travelers. Please do visit us again one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to EP for one night for our 2nd wedding anniversary. From the minute you arrive there you feel the personal touch everywhere. The general staff are all well trained and friendly every second of your stay. The food is 5 star all the time and more than enough to choose from. We had Wayne and Dion as guide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leanderdek0ker
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your 2nd anniversary with us. Thank you for all the compliments on the personal touches, the friendly staff, the 5* food, as well as the game drives that you enjoyed. We are indeed a small "family"and always try to be accommodating in making our...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Elephant Plains for 3 nights as part of our South Africa trip. We flew from Cape Town to Hoedspruit direct, the landing in Hoedspruit was an experience in itself, you really get a feeling of landing in the bush. Elephant Plains was amazing, we stayed in the Manyeleti suite. The room itself is very big, a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PadraicLynders
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and thorough review and for calling us amazing. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time here. The sightings you had sounds out of this world. Thank you also fro highly recommending us, our location, the staff and most importantly the animals. We would love to welcome you back one day fro an anniversary....

UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set in a well wooded area atop a small cliff you get great views of a waterhole and the surrounding plain from most rooms and communal areas. The rooms are chalet/rondavel type, they are well spaced. My room and deck was clean on arrival and kept that way throughout my stay. Everything within the room work well including the fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MzeeLen
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and for saying that we should be included in any safari in this area - what a nice compliment. Thank you also for all the other compliments, including your room that was very clean at all times, the service and food and then of course the game drives. I am glad you enjoyed your...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (my wife, I, Daughter 12 yrs & Son 5 yrs) stayed here for 3 nights in one of their Rondavels and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our Rondavel was neat and spacious, comfortable beds with mosquito nets. We were late to arrive at the lodge on day one and missed our evening game drive by half an hour. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annand K
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review and for highly recommending us. It is only a pleasure that we took you to the game drive vehicle because you arrived late. It sound like you had some amazing sightings! Thank you also for mentioning our warm and accommodating staff. Please do visit again one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 30 October 2016

I first learned about Elephants Plains in the safari forums where guests and tour operators raved about the lodge and its excellent value. Everything about the lodge exceeded my expectations. My rondavel was charming and comfortable. Special shout outs to Anel, Remember, and Ishmael for their outstanding service, and to Thomas, our tracker and Louis, our guide, for going above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TCinSF
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and heart warming review and for stating that we deserve 6 stars! What a wonderful compliment! It is great to read that you first learned about us on forums where guests and tour operators raved about the lodge. Even more of a compliment is the fact that we then still exceeded your expectations. I will...

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Firstly I want to talk about the game drives, as that's ultimately the reason we were there.... WOW. We saw the big 5 on the first night (of 3) and it just got better from there, we even managed to view what we dubbed the "Baby 5" (babies of the big 5) in one drive as well. I didn't think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas F
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had some amazing sightings. Yes, our rangers can quite accurately predict a situation, as they've all been in the industry for a long time (and they spend 6 hours a day watching animal behavior!) The lion kill...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Elephant Plains as part of a photography tour with Tusk Photos. This is our second visit to elephant plains and it never disappoints! Accommodation is very comfortable and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Generous food. The sightings were great! Best place to see and experience Leopards and their behaviors! Will return in future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauren100590
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and for mentioning that we never disappoint! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and your Tusk photographic safari with us. It is heart warming that you found the accommodation very comfortable and the staff members friendly and accommodating. Thank you also for mentioning the generous food, as well...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This is our second photographic safari with Tusk Photography and thus our second visit to Elephant Plains. We stayed in room number 2, a rondawel, which was close to where we departed on our game drives and made the carrying of photographic equipment a lot easier. It is not luxury like the suites but adequate for a short stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KobieMarie
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Tusk Safaris are always great and with a photographer like Villiers, you are guaranteed to get some amazing shots. When the photographic safaris are at the lodge, we always pick up their guests in the parking lot at the Rondavels, in order for them not to have to walk far with heavy equipment. Otherwise...

1,047 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1036)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (137)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (617)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
9.7 km away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
346 reviews
2.1 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#18 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
299 reviews
25.9 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
340 reviews
10.8 km away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
345 reviews
9.1 km away
Cheetah Plains
Cheetah Plains
#23 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Plains Game Lodge is situated in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park. This owner-run lodge caters for the discerning traveller, with a variety of accommodation options including 5 Rondavels, 6 Luxury Suites and a Honeymoon Suite. Activities include two daily game drives and a bush walk. The lodge also offers a spa, gym, conference facility / TV room, games room, small library and two swimming pools. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Plains Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $575 - $929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Plains Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Elephant Plains Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Plains Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Elephant Plains Game Nelspruit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elephant Plains Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Miami Lakes, Florida
3 months ago
3 months ago
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Plains Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the rondavels and they are more than you need.”
 of 5 bubbles leanderdek0ker, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Manyeleti Suite”
 of 5 bubbles PadraicLynders, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room/Rondavel 5 has a great view of the waterhole”
 of 5 bubbles MzeeLen, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are located on the waterhole and extends your game viewing opportunities.”
 of 5 bubbles KobieMarie, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed our Suite, but there are some smaller round cabins that present well also.”
 of 5 bubbles jamescU5078CP, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay