We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Umkumbe Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Umkumbe Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stayed in Umkumbe during xmas holidays with my friends, we loved every moment of the safari experience, our tour guide Nicky and her spotter Joseph went above and beyond to make our experience truly special! The first game drive, we saw lots of giraffes, zebras, rhinos, elephants and antelopes already! And every time we saw more and more! Last...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank datalay1982
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Bear with me while I feedback on the wonderful place. They deserve all the kudos and positive reviews! We arranged pick up via the lodge and had the most information guide we ever had. He does not work for them but the lodge use them very frequently. He is Pete by the way. Upon arrival, Mauritz made us feel very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kris L
New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 December 2015

My ranger seemed generally bothered to have guests. Check-in was rushed and haphazard- for example, he didn't bother to include meal times, share that bush walks are available upon request, etc. He barely talked to guests before or after safari and I often felt more like a nuance than a guest. The owners were equally unfriendly! I saw them around...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank J B
674brettt, Umkumbe Team at Umkumbe Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, at Umkumbe we always welcome any feedback that can make the safari experience that we offer better! We would also like the opportunity to respond to your post and hopefully help future travellers understand the way we do things so that they know what to expect and how to get the most out of their...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

What a great holiday game drives were awesome. Accommodation first class always clean and tidy. Food excellent more than u can eat. All the staff here work extremely hard to give the best safari experience and go to great detail to explain bush animal life well done to u all especially nikki my guide for most of my seven night...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Adam R
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We had excellent game drives, and saw almost all of the great five. He was very knowledgable, and share a lot of great insights about what we saw. Besides that, the rooms were small, clean, and effective. I wouldn't say romantic or charming. Just very functional. Same goes for the food. It's fine, not special. The lodge is situated along...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex N
Belgium
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Compared to the other lodges where we stayed during our stay in South Africa, the Umkumbe lodge was a nice experience but we will not go back. Either we will select a cheaper place, either a more expensive (as we did during our stay for both less and more expensive). Game drive was OK, but we were more impressed in...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Vince-Maud
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Game drives were great. State of repair of accomodation is really bad, no space to unpack. Do not expect any extras whatsoever, very basic menu consisting of stews and boring food. Better value for money is available. The pics on website is misrepresenting of what we walked into.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Dries C
New York City, New York
Reviewed 10 November 2015

The accommodations were spacious--we were in Lion Chalet -- and often had elephants, kuda and waterbuck out in front of us. The meals were served around the boma and other than the ingredients (kudo, ox tongue) had a home-cooking feel about them. Even had chef's grandma's dessert one night. The drives were amazing with Forward as tracker and Meuriz as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank starmc
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

This is my first encounter with a safari lodge, but I cannot imagine that others can be much better. The rooms are spacious and clean, and like the public places have a splendid view on the river. From our terrace we spotted an elephant family, buffaloes, a giraffe, and some wild dogs... and the safari had not even started. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adolf P
sydney,australia
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Overlooking the river our room was tastefully simple with fluffy white towels and crisp linen. The room was smaller and older in appearance to the rest of the river facing rooms,the only jarring aspect being the ugly black lounge which detracted from the attractiveness of the rest of the décor. We received a wonderfully enthusiastic orientation on arrival from one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hamilstra

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (147)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,565 reviews
0.0 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
804 reviews
0.0 km away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
364 reviews
0.0 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
321 reviews
0.0 km away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Umkumbe Safari Lodge is located in the Sabi Sand Wildtuin, considered by many to be the premier wildlife reserve in South Africa. Located on the banks of the seasonal Sand River, Umkumbe Safari Lodge is perfectly situated in one of the best Big Five game viewing destinations in Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Umkumbe Safari Lodge

Address: Luilekker Farm | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $543 - $734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umkumbe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Umkumbe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umkumbe Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Umkumbe Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Jackson, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Umkumbe Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“suites overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles 544catherine, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms facing the river are best”
 of 5 bubbles Fraser000, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Lion Chalet for good view of the river (requires Guide escort at night) or Chalet 3 if you don't want to be escorteed”
 of 5 bubbles lriglevart, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a river facing room,”
 of 5 bubbles alunh960, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Standard: small, good river view. Luxury: bigger, face the road. But enjoyable to hangout at common areas with staff & guests anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles icjm1234, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5