We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Big Chile Inn

Hotwire.comUSD 62*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 62*
USD 62*
USD 62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Big Chile Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Big Chile Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 512: English reviews
La Quinta, California
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is one sucky, dump. Beware of the glorifying reviews on Trip Advisor and Yelp. It doesn't add up this is a scarry place! The place has mixed matched linens, towels that look dirty and picked up at a dumpster. There is something funny going on here at this place to get great reviews. Seriously. Looked at room and drove...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tripsfor100
davidgLC, Manager at The Big Chile Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with the room, had you raised these issues with staff during your 11 hour stay, we would have attempted to remedy the situation. The photos you included seem inconsistent with your statement that the towels "look dirty and picked up at a dumpster", however we will review laundry procedure.

Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel deserves a high rating on TripAdvisor. The rooms are very clean and smell good too. We were welcomed with complimentary drinks, chips and salsa brought to our room. A perfect Southwestern midafternoon snack. We were thankful that our dog was also allowed as a guest. The lady who checked us in had a great attitude. My husband stays...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mojuba
Silver City, New Mexico
Reviewed 19 February 2012

There are a lot of old motels on Picacho St., and some people might feel that the area is not as safe as elsewhere in town; if so, they are missing out on an opportunity to stay in a clean, friendly environment that is anything but the same old cookie-cutter chain motel. My wife and I own a small business...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MitchHellman
Morenci, Arizona
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about David and Elina :) My family and i have been staying here since early 2010. We use this hotel everytime we are in Las Cruces visiting family. Its a comfortable quiet and well-maintained place. We highly recommend your stay to be with them :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atb82
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewed 1 February 2012

this place is clean and well managed the outside doent do rooms justice owners exta nice and helpfull the only thing i would want different is better breakfast it just toast and cerial

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony t
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This isn't the Hilton, but its a comfortable quiet and well-maintained older motel that makes a pleasant stop-over. The owners are friendly and helpful too. A good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mb_vancouver
New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The owner David would not rent a room to my partner and I, as he has a strict policy against renting to "locals." However, I believe that he just didn't want to rent a room to a gay couple based on his own bigotry. He originally lied to us, saying there were no rooms due to housekeeping problems. We pointed...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Yurpdod
davidgLC, Manager at The Big Chile Inn, responded to this review

We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone. Our policy is not to rent to locals. We refused service to this couple as one was from Las Cruces, the other from El Paso (originally NY). We do not discriminate on the basis of race, gender, sexuality or other characteristic. We provided the contact for our regional manager, so they...

Belen
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here for a wrestling tournament and I usually am easy to please. The doors use "keys" and not key cards. It is just too funky for me. The people were nice, but the rooms are old and not very well kept. The door did not seal and I could see light around the door at night. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jacob A
Santa Monica
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about David and Elina and my experience at their little slice of home away from home. I found ABVI through TripAdvisor and reserved my room prior to embarking on a trip across country from Alabama to LA. I planned on staying in Las Cruces on the second leg of my drive after traveling from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jody S
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The owners treated us like family. Having got caught in a snowstorm (rare in LC) we showed up here tired and weary. David & Elina quickly made us feel at home. This was during a particularly busy time for them (snow got everyone by surprise). We liked it so much that we stayed over again on the way back from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterATX

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
2.9 km away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
854 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Encanto de Las Cruces
3.5 km away
Best Western Mission Inn
Best Western Mission Inn
#6 of 33 in Las Cruces
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
5.0 km away
Ramada Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 33 in Las Cruces
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Big Chile Inn

Address: 2160 W Picacho Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88007-2302
Region: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Price Range: $82 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Chile Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Big Chile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Chile Inn Las Cruces, New Mexico
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Las Cruces
#2 Best Value Hotel in Las Cruces
#3 Family Hotel in Las Cruces
#7 Romantic Hotel in Las Cruces
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Big Chile Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose rooms towards the front, appears more secure”
786ralphr, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for an upper floor.”
moorpwr, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms along the front of the motel seemed somewhat less sketchy. Around the sides and back looked like a good place to get mugged.”
CharlesFender, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Call ahead if there's something you need. They care.”
HarveyT, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Walked the dog all the way around and everything looked very good.”
Z946ULmarym, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 62* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 62
Orbitz.comUSD 62
Hotels.comUSD 62
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates