We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Khuru Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (139)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 resorts in Punakha
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Archery
Boating
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Board games / puzzles
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
128Reviews0Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 37
  • 25
  • 10
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Scott N wrote a review Oct 2023
Chico, California98 contributions129 helpful votes
Views from the rooms and restaurant are wonderful. The food is also wonderful, lots of choices in their buffet, the rooms are quiet, not really too modern, more simple and fitting to the area. Easy walk across a dusty traffic bridge to access the village. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Umesh P wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
One of the best resorts in Punakha..the staffs really know their duties well and made my stay super comfortable..the chef personally came to greet and get feedback about the dinner (which was very delicious)..the room was clean and had a balcony with scenic view of the river ..highly recommended..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vikas G wrote a review Mar 2020
Nashik, India60 contributions50 helpful votes
With a good property and well maintained one, we were happy the way they treated the guest like us. Since we five couples have our own arrangements for food (snacks) and everything, we were looking for some support from hotel management which they readily provided with a good sitting arrangement in their own Restaurant and also looked after us with warm during the whole stay. Since February being cold, all arrangements were also made to keep the room warm and the stay comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
merp23 wrote a review Feb 2020
Warangal, India527 contributions77 helpful votes
Located some distance from the main town, this is a am Excel resort in Punaka town. Quick check-in, friendly staff, excellent spacious rooms with free WiFi, electrically heated mattress made our stay extremely comfortable. The menu for both breakfast and dinner was excellent. Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DawaDema, Manager at Khuru Resort
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Greetings Sir, Thank you for the great review of our property. We work really hard to serve the best food in a great environment and I’m glad to see that those efforts poff on your last visit. Thank you for your positive comments as it only motivates us to go above and beyond to make sure that our guest have the best experience. Hope you have you and your lovely family back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amit Sharma wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My experience can be summarized as under: 1.Awesome location with awesome view of river and mountains 2. Royal property to enjoy with family with huge rooms 3.only hotel in Punakha where you can get authentic Indian food 4.Resort manager Dawa Dema is a true care taker of all the guests..i believe because of her the resorts is managing it's guest superbly However there is scope for improvement in service improvement Overall lovely experience and a pleasant stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DawaDema, Manager at Khuru Resort
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Mr. Amit, Thank you for the great review of our property. We work really hard to serve the best food in a great environment and I’m glad to see that those efforts poff on your last visit. Thank you for your positive comments as it only motivates us to go above and beyond to make sure that our guest have the best experience. Hope you have you and your lovely family back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AjayV wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
25th Dec to 27th Dec, we (14 ppl) stay at Khuru Resort, Punakha. Very good hotel in punakha. All rooms are river facing. One can relax in the balcony enjoying cool breeze. Dawa Dema, the Resort Manager is fantastic. She take care of your needs personally. Food is awesome. Not costly. Rooms are very spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from DawaDema, Manager at Khuru Resort
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear Mr. Ajay, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad to know that you and your family had memorable stay with us and it was also fun on our part to host such wonderful guests. We endeavor to go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. We look forward to hosting you and your wonderful family again soon for another fantastic experience! Have a beautiful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shub wrote a review Dec 2019
Bengaluru, India49 contributions6 helpful votes
The resort is located right next to the Punakha river and this makes it a picturesque and wonderful place to stay. The view from the balcony is the free flowing river and the calm and beautiful Punakha town. The food is very tasty and delicious. They have good variety of both Indian, continental and Chinese cuisines. We spent 2 nights here. This was our second visit to the place . We had visited here last year , but stayed for only 1 night. We had liked the place ambience and food so much that we ensured that we stay here for 2 nights this time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DeDe C, Manager at Khuru Resort
Responded 4 Dec 2019
Hello Sir, Thank you very much for taking the time and giving us this wonderful review. We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us . We had pleasure having you here last time and looking forward for your next visit. we always strive to make sure that our guest have a good experience here. With warm regards, Khuru Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sourav Chakraborty wrote a review Nov 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I had not expected that the world and a vacation can be so beautiful until I decided Bhutan. And my stay in Punakha in this resort was nothing less than magical. The hotel is located in a beautiful scenic environment just on the bank of the famous Punakha river. The rooms are big, clean and have all amenities you would look for on a vacation. It's staff especially Mr. Karma Tshewang made sure I never had any problems with anything. Excellent Service and Dining. He always had a big smile on his face and will be ready to help with anything you need. I miss this place and hopefully will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DeDe C, Manager at Khuru Resort
Responded 30 Nov 2019
Hello Sir, Thankyou for the excellent review! We are thrilled that your time with us was so amazing! we endeavor to go above and beyond to ensure our guest have a memorable experience. its not surprising that Karma Tshewang took such wonderful care of you.He is an important member of our team! we look forward to hosting you again soon fro another fantastic experience. Have a beautiful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeff15147 wrote a review Nov 2019
Oakmont, PA31 contributions20 helpful votes
First of all, do not believe the 5-star reviews of this place. If you read them carefully, you'll see that many (most?) of them appear to be written by the same person. Enough said. Moving on... my wife and I stayed here as part of a Nepal/Bhutan tour. All the other hotels on the tour were terrific. So we have no idea why we were booked at this place. Here's a list of the problems that we reported to the tour company: Room problems: 1. Very bad smell everywhere, especially in closets 2. Bathroom ceiling covered with mold 3. No screens on windows or doors, preventing us from airing out the room 4. Towels and sheets were stained, not cleaned properly 5. Broken plug on bedside lamp 6. Only heater in the room was an old noisy space heater, probably dangerous 7. No shelf in shower for toiletries 8. Mattress stained 9. Lower balcony door lock was broken 10. Water from shower flooded the bathroom Other hotel problems: 1. No exercise facility 2. No outdoor lighting, making it dangerous for older guests 3. Dirty stained mattress was stored right outside my guest room – yuk 4. Lobby bathroom was unusable for 3 days – broken toilet seat, no soap, no paper towels 5. Awful experience with massage – their spa was not available (under construction maybe?), we ended up doing the massage in an empty guest room, using a guest bed instead of a proper massage table, massage therapist was poorly trained and showed up 20 minutes late 6. Manager (I think Karma Onchuk) was blatantly dishonest, tried to overcharge me for the massage (2500 rs before tax and service fee, instead of listed price of 2000), and overcharged at least one other guest for something else I've heard that there is a shortage of hotels in Punakha. Even so, find another place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DeDe C, Manager at Khuru Resort
Responded 27 Nov 2019
Hello Sir, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we are very sorry to learn that your stay in our property wasn't up to your mark. We are working on all the problems that you have listed down. I would also like to inform your good self that Karma Onchuk is not the manager, he is the receptionist and he is liable to make the bills, however he has not charged extra on the spa since 2000 is just the rack rates and 20 % tax is levied on it, so including tax it comes to 2400 and i have also verified the bill. Please fell free to mail me in this address if you have any questions. Sincerest apologies, Have a good day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
expertravel1 wrote a review Oct 2019
Madison, Wisconsin22 contributions33 helpful votes
I realize accommodations in Punakha are severely limited but you do not want to stay here. The resort in unkempt and alarmingly dirty. There were dirty old mattresses piled outside our room. When inspecting mattresses in room it's obvious why they might be replacing, all very stained. Towels and linens clean but all stained. Public restroom in main building was filthy, making squat holes looking clean. One morning 6:45 AM front desk clerk was sound asleep on couch in lobby. Grounds have not been tended to giving property look of abandonment. Every surface seemed to be dirty, terraces, floors and outdoor furniture. Walls of rooms were dirty and in need of a fresh coat of paint. Can't fault staff for friendliness but most are poorly trained. Others in our group had room sprayed with insecticide while occupied, others had flooding problems in bathroom. I get spartan nature of resort but no excuse for lack of cleanliness and a place that works. If there is another option in Punahka, go for it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Punakha area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$165 - AU$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BhutanPunakha DistrictPunakha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KHURU RESORT (AU$165): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Punakha, Bhutan) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Khuru Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Khuru Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Khuru Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Khuru Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Khuru Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at Khuru Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Khuru Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does Khuru Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.