We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Amala

Show Prices
#16 of 138 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Amala
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Amala
See the most recent reviews
Showing 493: English reviews
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights over New Years in one bedroom spa villa and very much enjoyed. The staff really made the trip, nothing was too much trouble and they really went out of their way to make us feel special and comfortable. From paying for our taxi when their complementary car into Seminyak wasn't available to the beautiful rose petal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sciandav
Amala_LR, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear sciandav, Greetings from The Amala! Thank you very much for your detailed review and all your pertinent comments about the service and facilities experienced during your stay. It is a true pleasure to acknowledge what a delightful service you have received from all our Family members who take their duties with loving passion and great care. I am however...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had a short vacation in Bali recently. After much deliberation, we opted to stay at The Amala in a one bedroom pool villa based on the reviews here. The greatest strength of The Amala is truly their service. From the driver of the complimentary airport shuttle service, to the daily staff serving breakfast in villa, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A_Tan28
Amala_LR, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear A_Tan28, Greetings from Bali and Happy New Year! Thank you very much for your lovely praises about our service and lovely Family members. Indeed, our daily motivation is to provide all our guests with a personalised service, which is a true pleasure in such a boutique hotel. We are very happy to read that we made your stay a...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I had the pleasure of attending the cooking class at The Amala with the lovely Mang De. From the moment I was picked up by the friendly driver Wayan I knew this was going to be a good experience. I was fortunate to be the only one booked that day. Mang De was great and the food was amazing. 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karenll13
Amala_LR, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear Karenll13, I am delighted to read you had such a great time during the Balinese cooking class at The Amala. It is indeed a very different and entertaining way to discover the wonders of the Island of Gods. Our culinary team truly enjoys sharing its knowledge with guests since, on most occasions, we receive rewarding comments as yours. May...

Adelaide
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We had such an amazing time and the staff were amazing. Apart from a little glitch with the fridge and air conditioner off when we arrived, both were quickly resolved and the rest of our stay was incredible. The staff were all excellent and couldn't do enough for us. The villa was beautiful and nice and quiet. The front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chemicalricky
Amala_LR, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear chemicalricky, Thank you ever so much for your lovely words. I am delighted to learn you had such a wonderful time at The Amala and that you enjoyed your cosy villa. All our team members share a common passion which is "service". Indeed, it is a true pleasure to welcome all our guests and to share with them the...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I'll start this by saying...my fiancé proposed to me within minutes of checking into The Amala, so my review might be slightly biased, due to the fact that we were completely giddy & ecstatic for the duration of our stay! That being said...what an amazing, wonderful, special spot. Though it was in a location that you would think would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MagsSoCal
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear MagSoCal, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. All the team has been really delighted to be part of your magical event. I am very happy that all the conditions were met to create the most romantic and unforgettable memory. Please do visit us again on your honeymoon ! <3 Yours sincerely, Amelie & The Amala Team Resort...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We were greeted warmly and kindly offered an upgrade from a Deluxe room to a Spa room, as we were celebrating a wedding anniversary. They also provided an anniversary welcome, which was also wonderful. The spa villa was spacious and very comfortable and we appreciated having butler service to look after our needs. We only ate breakfast at the resort,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller204674
Amala_LR, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear Traveller204674, Greetings from beautiful Bali! Thank you very much for your detailed review and all the nice comments regarding our team's motivation to excel, flexibility, facilities and gastronomic offer. As a small boutique resort, we are delighted to read that our passion for service is so well embraced by our guests. Indeed, we like to call ourselves a "Family"...

Paris, France
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Next to all the shops in the center, The Amala is the ideal place to relax. We enjoyed with my wife a relaxing time with 1 hour massage. This is Yummy! We rented a Villa SPA with jaccuzi. A real delight too! The team is very careful with you. The restoration is relaxing. We recommend and will return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elliott-Gauthier
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear Elliott75014, I am delighted to learn that you had most relaxing stay at The Amala. We appreciate your comments that you love our Spa treatments and Villa concept, a relaxing oasis yet with the shops in the distance. Highly appreciated that you shared your great experience, our friendliness and genuine hospitality. We can see that you cannot wait to...

Denpasar
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Spent our honeymoon at the Amala, our room was also FREE upgraded from spa pool to private pool. The room was absolutely 'too' big for us. Thank you the Amala! Everything is just Awesome!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank freddysouisa
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear Freddysouisa, Thank your very much for choosing The Amala for your honeymoon. We are delighted to know that you have an amazing romantic holiday at The Amala and you were immersed in serenity at our Pool Villa. Your glowing praises will be shared with the team, which I believe will encourage them to do even better and make every...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

I am little bit dissappointed about the experience in the Amala. When I entered the villa, many ants and worms insides. I undetstand that it must be some animals insides due to close to the nature. However, when we entered the rooms in the villa, the matress was dirty with 3 brown stains. It made me feel scared. I hope...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heroinek
Amala_LR, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear heroinek, Greetings from The Amala. Thank you for your feedback regarding some of the aspects of your villa. I am sorry you faced some inconveniencies regarding some unwanted visitors. We do perform a very thorough cleaning of the villas prior to each guest arrival which is backed-up by qualitative checks. However, as a tropical island, there is a risk...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We were upgraded to the 3-bedroom pool villa and had a personalized welcome note upon arrival. Breakfast menu was diverse, tasty and best of all healthy. Staff was really nice and helpful. There was a free hotel shuttle service to Seminyak. Spa services are superb but much pricier than what you would pay at other spas nearby. My only criticism...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TeMinka
Amelie T, Resort Manager at The Amala, responded to this review

Dear Teminka, Thank you very much for your great review. We were so happy to receive your last minute booking and we love to treat our repeater guests with something special, thus it was our pleasure to do something special for your second stay with us. I am glad you could have enjoyed our Spa, we do also have a...

1,032 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (632)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (158)
Viewed
Dining (91)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (235)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (19)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Pool Villa (48)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Spa Villa (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.1 km away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 138 in Seminyak
1,666 reviews
2.1 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 138 in Seminyak
646 reviews
0.4 km away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#7 of 138 in Seminyak
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
2.1 km away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#6 of 138 in Seminyak
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Price Range: $168 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Seminyak, Bali
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Amala staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Worcestershire, United Kingdom

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Amala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the left hand side of the pool if you're not staying in a villa”
 of 5 bubbles Breadsticks, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pool villa”
 of 5 bubbles pchols, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The spa suites offer a spacious and very private stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller204674, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was great ”
 of 5 bubbles emmaaU9751OI, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Spa room with your own patio and jacuzzi in the middle!”
 of 5 bubbles Yvon_Amsterdam, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5