We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jan Harmsgat Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jan Harmsgat Country House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jan Harmsgat Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Worth the 2 hour drive from Cape Town. We loved everything about this place. The service and venue is unbeatable And The food was the highlight. We'll be back with friends. We will be back with more friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cindyn283
JHG-GM, General Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review and for the high praise, much appreciated! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our unique property, our lovely food and staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back with your next visit to Jan Harmsgat Country House. Kind Regards Johan Dippenaar

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived on a terribly rainy off season wintry night. As soon as our car hit the driveway, two super friendly staff ran out, armed with umbrellas to greet us. Our spirits were instantly lifted - and that was BEFORE we were blown away by the absolutely beautiful rooms. The Manager very kindly let us take over both complexes as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle F
Joanne S, General Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review regarding your recent visit to Jan Harmsgat Country House. It is lovely to hear that you and your family had an amazing experience and enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food and our lovely staff. We strive to be the best at what we...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We got ourselves one of those rare wow moment one s got a few times in one s life. Spectaculair View from our room in the top of the building overseeing the pecan nut trees in the garden and the mountains in the background. The time we arrived it was low season. We got upgraded by the manager Johan,a very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike V
Joanne S, General Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

We thank you for writing such a beautiful review of your recent stay at Jan Harmsgat Country House on Trip Advisor. It is our love for people and our passion to make our guests happy that drives us to give every visitor the most memorable experience at our beautiful Country House in the Robertson Wine Valley, and we're delighted to...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

This hidden gem came as an amazing surprise. We were met by the friendly manager, who immediately made us feel extremely special. The attitude of the team, the superb luxury in our room, with lots of attention to detail, the tame game drive with a Jan Harmsgat wine tasting at sunset... it all adds up to memorable moments. A super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flyinghennie
Letishia_Charles, Marketing Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

Dear FlyingHennie Thank you very much for your kind words! We are delighted that Jan Harmsgat Country House has surprised you so pleasantly. We pride ourselves on our professional and friendly team as well as our charming guest house and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With warm regards JHG Country House Management Team

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

JHG is an outstanding example of pure luxury yet elegantly sophisticated and understated. The staff, many of whom are local, provide excellent friendly service making one feel very welcome and at ease. The quality of the accommodation and attention to detail make this a very special place to stay and SO well located for the Garden Route. Beautiful bed linen...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantal S
Letishia_Charles, Marketing Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

Dear Chantal S It is always with much pleasure that we read such a delightful review from yet another happy guest! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us, and everyone else, know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Warm regards JHG Management...

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Beautiful setting & most definitely worth taking up the offer of a free mini safari with the knowledgable Jonathan (Jonty) and the wine tasting. Sadly food disappointing and service poor. Loved the pool and setting but sadly just too close to the R60, trucks along the route that had to change down a gear as they chugged up the hill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoshTottie1410
Letishia_Charles, Marketing Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for taking the time to review Jan Harmsgat Country House. We sincerely regret that we did not completely fulfil your expectations while staying with us. We appreciate your constructive feedback and comments as this helps us to continually improve our service and offerings going forward. Best regards JHG Management & Team

SFBayArea
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Stunning property, warm and friendly hosts. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. We had a terrific Easter lunch and dinner. The tour of the grounds which included the vineyard, almond and pomegranate groves was enjoyable. Our day was windy so the wine tasting was at the inn but normally would have been at the top of the hill with a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJCheers
Letishia_Charles, Marketing Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

Dear CJCheers Thank you very much for taking the time to review our beautiful property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, it is a pity about the weather, but that only means you should visit us again to experience the wine-tasting at the top of the hill some time soon! Warm regards JHG Team

Langebaan, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2016

The executive suite we stayed in was really beautiful,service from all staff top notch. We got to enjoy a picnic (so much food!) under the pecan trees, and see wildebeest during our morning walk around the working farm with Jonathan. We also sampled a few very nice bottles of the boutique wine made by Jan Harmsgat. An ideal location for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmann_350091
Letishia_Charles, Marketing Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

Dear Imann Absolutely delightful that you enjoyed your time away with us! That picnic under the pecan trees is certainly a memorable treat, we agree. We hope you went home with a bottle or two of our delicious JHG wines and some great memories! Hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm wishes, JHG Management and Team

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

What an amazing experience! Driving thru the beautiful vineyards in an open landrover, listening to the experienced and knowledgeable guides Jonathan and Glenda, picking our own grapes and then pressing them with a very nostalgic and old-fashioned press, and all that crowned by an excellent breakfast. Thank you, it was great fun working for our breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renata H
Letishia_Charles, Marketing Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

Dear Renata Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful guest farm with such lovely words. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us and certainly hope that we will be welcoming you back again soon in the near future! Warm regards JHG Management & Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We had a great stay. the staff were amazing and went out of their way to help us. One big negative is that we were not given the room we had booked. This was fortunately rectified in the that the couple the room had been given to could not climb the stairs so we got the room in the end....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandys669
Letishia_Charles, Marketing Manager at Jan Harmsgat Country House, responded to this review

Dear Mandy S Thank you very much for your review of our charming country house! We really do apologise for the inconvenience but we are happy that it all worked out in the end. We shall certainly do our best to ensure that this does not happen again on your return as we do endeavour to take special care of...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
23.0 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
21.9 km away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 37 in Swellendam
440 reviews
20.7 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
597 reviews
22.8 km away
Augusta de Mist Country House
23.5 km away
Gaikou Lodge
Gaikou Lodge
#14 of 37 in Swellendam
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jan Harmsgat Guest Farm has seen a renaissance that captures its rich past, in a way that fits in with the discerning traveller's needs: Space, charm and an unsurpassed opportunity to indulge in an authentic country ambience and history. Guests are treated to understated elegance and comfort, combining the power of its original meter thick walls, yellowwood details, and authentic 'Overberg' style while every modern convenience available. The indulgence does not stop with the accommodation but is carried throughout your experience. Jan Harmsgat is registered and has been awarded the Fair Trade in Tourism S.A Trademark. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jan Harmsgat Country House

Address: | R60 District Bonnievale/Drew, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Price Range: $184 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jan Harmsgat Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jan Harmsgat Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Jan Harmsgat Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 has a lovely veranda overlooking the garden”
 of 5 bubbles suemercer5, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The thatched roof gave no noise insulation & a room downstairs may have been better.”
 of 5 bubbles PoshTottie1410, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you like a quick swim before breakfast, get one of the rooms adjacent to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles alanrwillis, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Best to pass by and try to find somewhere better in Swellendam. The fact that somewhere is "Cape Dutch" is no guarantee of quality”
 of 5 bubbles 340carolinej, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We requested Room 6, which we liked for its spaciousness, light colours and nice veranda.”
 of 5 bubbles sosofar, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5