We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Erinvale Estate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Erinvale Estate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Erinvale Estate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We were not staying at Erinvale but had 2 evening meals at the Erinvale 'Pub', as suggested by our SA friends. We were not disappointed with the quality of the dishes that we chose from the menu on both occasions. The staff were engaging and the remainder of the diners seemed to be mainly English golfers, all of whom appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snipsirc
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your excellent review of our Skelligs Pub here at the Erinvale Estate Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your meals with us, and that you had a most pleasant and memorable dining experience. We do try to offer our guests a varied menu, from Pub meals to delicious A la...

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I have put off doing this review as I don't like to be negative, but, there is no way I can avoid it. The accommodation and setting are faultless. Clean, spacious, nicely decorated rooms. Dinner was just one huge disappointment. I can happily let one or two mistakes slide, but, for a hotel with 4 stars, the mistakes couldn't go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJC6464
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your contribution to TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you have indeed enjoyed your accommodation, the setting and the clean spacious and beautifully decorated rooms. I am however very unhappy to hear your disappointment with the dinner. This is most unacceptable to me and I can only apologise most sincerely for any inconvenience...

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Staff were amazingly friendly and accommodating for our honeymoon night, the room was very comfortable and clean, modern and lovely! The area was perfect, and quiet, within the close proximity to so many relaxing activities! Wish we could have had one more night!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roshan B
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of our hotel after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your stay truly memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Erinvale Estate Hotel in the very near future. Best regards Urs...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Our room was in the original part of the hotel and full of character. We ate under the oak trees in the gardens and were well looked after by the helpful and friendly staff. Playing golf with a late tee time was a little problematic as buggies were in short supply but the second 9 in particular had spectacular views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemaryat9
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of our hotel after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your stay truly memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Erinvale Estate Hotel in the very near future. Best regards Urs...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Overall a very pleasant and friendly hotel. Recent refurb not that great. Service and food generally good. Watch out for special events at reception only otherwise you'll miss out as we did when the hotel had a Valentines special dinner but we were not advised - just a note left in our room was all that was required.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999PAUL999
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Ok this is a little bit more than you need to spend but so worth it. A short walk on a Friday evening to the market at Lourensford Wine Estate will reveal a fantastic food drinks an craft market. Do not book into any restaurant, unless you want a quiet grey night, eat and drink here, a fantastic atmosphere and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of Erinvale Estate Hotel, after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you had a most relaxing and enjoyable time, including the service, food and particularly our wonderful location amongst the Vineyards of the Helderberg. We are...

Somerset West
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Nice premise with good facilities. The golf course designed by Gary Player was challenging for a "golfer" has not played for five years. Some syncronizing should be done with reservation systems between reception and spa/golf. Tee time and treatment time were not according to agreed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 292karin
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Erinvale Estate Hotel, after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel and its service and facilities on offer, and indeed it was a pleasure to host you. With regards to the Golf Course and bookings, due to the high season and the immense popularity of...

Somerset West
Reviewed 14 February 2017

the high standard of the hotel in every respect guarantees an enjoiable and memorable stay. Golf players should remember that it can be very windy at certain times of the year. Because of the popularity of the hotel and restaurants in the area and of golf courses, bookings should be made as early as possible. The same applies to flights...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q7754URpeterr
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of Erinvale Estate Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to make your stay truly memorable and most comfortable. It would be an absolute pleasure to host you again, on your next visit...

Somerset West
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Only minus point was that we could not use the golfcourse we are avid golfers and have specially your hotel chosen to play golf. We are allowed to go to South Africa again next year we will definitely visit again your hotel providing we can play golf.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herman v
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your most positive review of our hotel after your recent stay with us. I am most delighted that myself and my team have made your stay truly memorable and most comfortable in every way, and that our services and facilities have indeed not only met but exceeded your expectations. It would be a privilege...

Somerset West
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We visit this hotel for the second time. And again the welcome was perfect. We especially enjoyed the menu and the wine list. The staff at Erinvale provided an example of service that we thoroughly enjoyed. See you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J3901BQericv
ErinvaleHotel, General Manager at Erinvale Estate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback and review of Erinvale Estate Hotel, after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us once again, and that you have particularly enjoyed the service and care offered by my dedicated team of staff. They are truly a great asset to our...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
5.9 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
282 reviews
1.2 km away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
198 reviews
9.2 km away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
19 reviews
14.7 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,714 reviews
6.2 km away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Steeped in history, surrounded by the majestic Hottentots Holland Mountains, the Erinvale Estate Hotel & Spa offers distinctive and captivating hospitality. The property is only 40 minutes from Cape Town and 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Guests are a stone's throw away from a world of outdoor and leisure activities and have access to golf, spa, wine, chocolate and olive tasting at famous estates, in the 'Heart of the Helderberg'. The neighbouring Gary Player-designed Erinvale Golf Course offers a unique golfing challenge to all levels of players. The Erinvale Estate Spa is operated by the Lurra Spa and Wellness Group. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Erinvale Estate Hotel

Address: 1 Erinvale Avenue | off Lourensford Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: $117 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erinvale Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erinvale Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Erinvale Estate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The courtyard rooms overlook a pretty courtyard area which is closer to the restaurant and Bar but every room is close to all the amenties”
454stacyd, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms near the spa open onto the garden and are neat the spa pool”
EricK928, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room near the reception building”
TSN63, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“40+ numbered rooms are quieter.”
R4675BKkarenh, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a garden terrace room which had a lovely outside seating are to enjoy the sunshine.”
CharlPit81, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5