We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lakeside Lodge & Spa

Expedia.comUSD 167*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We enjoyed our stay. The location of the hotel is fantastic and all of the rooms look out onto the lake. The rooms themselves were perfect and we had an enjoyable meal at the restaurant. The staff were extremely friendly but we did think that the check in process could have been a lot better. It would have been nice...

Thank Christine P
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We will take your feedback on board and ensure that we make immediate improvements in our check in and information processes. I am glad that you had a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 10 January 2017

Truly deserves its 5* status, as this place really is a delight to stay in. The moment we arrived we were ushered to lunch while we waited for our room to be ready (which ended up being ready ahead of schedule). The food was fantastic, we enjoyed it all thoroughly, and though were was a lack of option for vegetarians,...

Thank Emily T
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review and I am glad to hear that the team went out of their way to accommodate you. All of our restaurants are geared to cater for special dietary needs and i am glad that Kelly-Ann accommodated you. The staff will all be thrilled to hear that their attentive approach was appreciated. Please come...

Reviewed 31 December 2016

Lakeside is exquisite luxury and dining. The service is of the very highest standard with well trained and friendly staff. Lunch overlooking Swartvlei is food for he soul with prices affordable for the locals. Meeting with the chef was a treat and explained the passion for wonderful dining. The in-house Benguela Cove wines farmed and cultivated in Hermanus are spectacular....

Thank Craig S
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of Lakeside Lodge & Spa. I am so glad that you enjoyed dining with us. The staff at Lakeside Lodge try their utmost to go the extra mile and i know that they will appreciate your comments. We hope that you will return to the lodge soon.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We enjoyed our stay. The staff and management were excellent and the accommodation extremely comfortable. The food was delicious. I had a back massage at the spa and it was one of the best I have experienced.

Thank milesw305
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lakeside Lodge and that the staff made you feel welcome and comfortable. It is great news to hear that our spa gave you a back massage that was one of the best you have experienced. That is quite something. I do hope you get the opportunity to return for another break...

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We so often come across establishments that are accredited 5 star, but are that in name only, whereas our experience at Lakeside Lodge was such that I believe the 5 stars are well deserved. From the welcome greeting to the final farewell, nothing could be too much trouble. Think friendly service and conversation without being imposing, attention to detail in...

Thank Desmond E
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

The team have worked so hard this year and it boosts everyone to have such great feedback. It is good to hear that every little detail of your stay was taken care of as we do believe it is the attention to little details that make your stay extra special. Please come back and see us soon.

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

A great place for a pamper in a lovely setting. Easy booking as a tourist. Will definitely return if I return to South Africa. So much to do in the local environment, with the WildOats market on a Saturday being a local favourite.

Thank SpecialMemories
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

I am glad you had a lovely pamper experience in our spa. Sedgefield is such a great place to visit with some much to see and do, we do hope you return soon to Lakeside Lodge and South Africa.

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

So I've stayed at a lot of nice hotels all around the world and this lodge is tied for first place! It would be quicker to say what they DIDN'T have as opposed to what they do because they had pretty much everything! The room smelt devine with huge beds, service was exquisite and the views of the lake were...

Thank Andrea J
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review of Lakeside Lodge & Spa. We are only a small property but we aim to make sure our guests have a relaxing and luxurious stay with us. We are in a national park so hence the wifi sometimes can be hit and miss and hopefully this will improve over time. I hope you get...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

From the moment we arrived Gert and the team made us feel very welcome and created a home from home experience. 9 modern contemporary rooms with excellent en-suites and every one of them with a lagoon view. The restaurant offers perfect breakfasts, lunch, brasserie dinner and wine tasting experiences 7 days a week and nothing is too much trouble. We...

Thank BillandEmma
Leonding, Austria
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Lakeside Lodge is a very personal run B&B just across the road of the laguna. You can stay in the main house or in little cottages in the garden. As we arrived we found out that we stayed there already 11 years ago! Nora, the new owner, gave us the same room we had before, which was the honeymoon cottage...

Thank teeny29
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however you have unfortunately posted to the wrong Lakeside Lodge, we are Lakeside Lodge & Spa near Sedgefield, Knysna. The Lakeside Lodge you stayed at i believe is in Knysna.

George, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

What an honour to have our wedding reception at this tranquil and perfect setting. Many thanks to Lakeside luxury lodge and the team for the royal treatment we received - from dotting the i's to crossing the t's, right down to provide the finest detail, Lakeside team created our perfect and very memorable wedding day. We can highly recommend this...

Thank Elmarie_D_F
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to host your wedding reception at Lakeside Lodge & Spa. I am so glad that you had a wonderful day and that you have taken away happy memories of the day. The team enjoyed looking after you and congratulations once again on your wedding. We hope to see you back when you celebrate your...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (75)
Dining (8)
Hotel & Grounds (23)
View from Room (8)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (3)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Videos (1)
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (8)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
33.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
776 reviews
19.1 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
26.5 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
29.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
27.7 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the magnificent Wilderness National Park amidst lush vegetation, Lakeside Lodge & Spa literally is situated on the banks of the beautiful Swartvlei Lake. The Lodge & Spa is unique and offers luxury accommodation. Lakeside Lodge & Spa is truly a wonderful place to escape from city life so simply kick back and enjoy. We offer the following facilities: We have the Benguela Brasserie at the lodge. The Brasserie is open 7 days a week from 8 am for breakfast right the way through the day until 9.00 pm. Serving a delicious local menu and wines at cellar door prices from The Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate. Lakeside Lodge & Spa is fully licensed for your enjoyment. The rooms are all luxurious and include full bathrooms, free standing baths and 2 of the rooms have spa baths. Every bedroom has a large walk in shower. Complimentary luxury toiletries and soft fluffy white towels fresh every day. The rooms all have king size beds, beautiful linen, flat screen TVs, minibar, safe, air conditioning, fans, Nespresso coffee, alarm clocks and music. The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated, with luxurious linen and every bedroom is Lake facing. The Lodge has its own spa so why not treat yourself to a massage? In addition to these facilities Lakeside Lodge & Spa being a water retreat has its own jetty and hotel guests are welcome to bring their own boats (sail, power, jet ski). The lodge has shallow water launch facilities and deep-water facilities close by. Secure boat parking. The lodge also have a number of mountain bikes for the complimentary use of our guests as well as canoes, kayaks, windsurfers, a pontoon boat, a speed boat and fishing facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge & Spa

Address: 3 Lakeside Drive | Swartvlei, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Price Range: $199 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lakeside Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“...Lake view rooms obviously”
X6480IUjanew, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose rooms next to the restaurant (such as Room 8) as there is some noise in the mornings.”
Frenchypen, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a lake view”
emilytT6572RA, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All have lagoon views”
BillandEmma, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“honeymoon suite”
teeny29, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
USD 167* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 167
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates