We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Teniqua Treetops

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Teniqua Treetops
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Teniqua Treetops
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I booked this spot as this was a vacation after our engagement, and what a stay it was! From first arrival you notice you are literally in the forrest. The surrounding area is as lush as you could imagine. Great local trails and walks for those adventure inclined. (The local rock pool hike is recommended) The local town also has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graemeswanepoel2
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We have never travelled at peak season so was caught red handed when even the camp sites were full, we always have a back up when other accomadation is full or to expensive. We had two days to hang around and wait for our sons to join us, we could not find any accomadation or camping in and around Sedgefield...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtravellers852
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the input, we will check the knives, there should have been salt and pepper, we constantly replace it. I am sorry it was not really right for you Regards Robyn

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We spent Christmas here with the family and staying in the tree houses was really a great experience. Robyn and her team have gone through many efforts to ensure that the accommodation is as Eco-friendly as possible. The location is far enough from Sedgefield for you to feel isolated from the buzz of the towns but also close enough to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColetteFrans
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks for the input I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, this is second comment I have just received about knives, I appreciate it and it clearly needs to be Mondays focus. Regards Robyn

Cape Town
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Nice enough, but wouldn't return. Not really a treehouse per se, main bedroom is a tented area, but there is a spacious porch. Communal areas more suited to families and children and not so much for 'honeymooners'.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fidyl969
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry this was not the right destination for you, We try and let our guests experience our unique nature reserve while doing as little damage to the forest as possible Regards Robyn

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016

pro's: awesome view Cons's: - lady owner is not friendly and we did not receive a good welcome - massive spiders and nesting on top of the tent inside the treehouse (had to remove 7 spiders the one night...) - ant nest inside not cleaned out every day

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 30quintinj
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we do on our website warn guests that their can be rain spiders. They come and go, sometimes none, and then when its about to rain they can be there. They are harmless, they live in the forest and occasionally come in. They catch mosquitoes, they are not poisonous and...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We absolutely loved Teniqua Treetops and it turned out to be one of our favourite places to stay from our whole vacation! The amazing research and trouble they have gone through to make every single treehouse eco-friendly and part of the environment, really made us think about how we can actually live in harmony with nature. Such a great concept...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank snapmepretty
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thank you I am pleased you enjoyed our hideout Regards Robyn

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Teniqua is a unique experience. Residing among the jungle of Sedgefield provided an excellent opportunity to disconnect with the world. That said, excellent mobile coverage meant we could keep up to date with friends and world events. The facilities were good and well kept. Insects, including large rain spiders, live in this area and visit the accomodation. The accomodation has...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andre547
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2016

we spent two nights at this self catering lodge with our unit overlooking natural forest . it was simply amazing. From the deck overlooking the gorge below to the hot tub also so located as to have a superb view we were most impressed . The rustic nature of the accommodation was done with thought and was perfectly equipped .The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lavue15
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks I am delighted you enjoyed your stay Regards Robyn

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Really beautiful and eco-friendly accommodation in the middle of the most beautiful mountain range. Most definitely recommend this for a romantic get away. The facilities within the accommodation are great, there were nice braai (BBQ) facilities, they also gave us a welcome back with milk, tea, coffee and bug cream (which really worked!). If you stay here you wont regret...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheree O
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in our bit of paradise. Regards Robyn

Haarlem
Reviewed 18 December 2016

There’s the turn off at Sedgefield directing you to Teniqua Treetops. A sand road takes you into a forest area. It’s the end of the afternoon and walking to our home for this night we already discover the famous Knysna Lourie, that beautiful green bird. The forest where the tree houses are built in, consists of wonderful old trees, like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein W
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review

Thanks, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Regards Robyn

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
25.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
729 reviews
12.0 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
12.0 km away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
23.9 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#2 of 102 in Knysna
294 reviews
12.2 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 14 in Sedgefield
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Address: Foot hills of the Outenique Mountains | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Price Range: $112 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Teniqua Treetops staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a very different experience, so be open to nature coming to visit :)”
  • Kitchen
 of 5 bubbles NicolineBotha, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the forest”
 of 5 bubbles KathAMM, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to check out the various cabins as they are very different in location to each other”
 of 5 bubbles Retiredtravellers852, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This hotel offers wheelchair accessible accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles LeoeAleA, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Tents have great views”
 of 5 bubbles VPVerwey, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5