We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hout Bay View

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hout Bay View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hout Bay View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Most words do not do justice to our fabulous stay at Hout Bay View recently. We were warmly welcomed and treated like family for the duration of our stay. The rooms were perfectly comfortable and clean (we opted for a Suite for added convenience) and the property was maintained to a very high standard throughout. Our daily highlight was being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natobrown
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Dion and Natalie. Thank you for your kind comments. We are humbled that you felt our home was your home for the time you stayed with us. We very much hope that your comments will be seen by many prospective guests and give them reaasurance to come and stay with us Thank you again for your kindness. Very best...

Brussels
Reviewed 1 January 2014

great room, nicely furnished, excellent service and breakfast. good starting point to explore the Cape Peninsula. great view on the Bay and the hills/mountains around. a place I definitely would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KristinMW
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Hi Kristin. How reassuring your comments are that the service you recieved met your expectations. We do all we can to make sure that guests are confortable when they stay with us. Thank you again for your kind comments Best regards Andrew

Easton, Connecticut, United States
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Maybe I was lucky, but my recent and first experience ever in ZA was absolutely a good one. Recommended by a friend from Amsterdam, NL, I spent a week at Hout Bay View, a very comfortable B&B with breathtaking views over the Bay and surrounding mountains. A perfect place in proximity of beaches and town, restaurants and bars. A perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georg P
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Hello George. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Hout Bay View. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during the winter months. Your comments will hopefully reassure guests that Hout Bay has much to offer in the winter as well as the more popular summer months. Thank you again for...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have just returned from my third stay at Hout Bay View. It was just perfect. The rooms are looked after by friendly staff and are always immaculate. The owners are always available to help with information and advice. I want for nothing while I stay at Hout Bay View. I am able to use my I pad as they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjanetstorey
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Janet Thank you so much for your glowing review. It always provides a lift to get such a lovely review. We very much look forward to seeing you this tiome next year. Thank you again. Andrew

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Not a place to be recommended, the owner was very cold to us on arrival, gave us a room more expensive that the one we booked, DSTV and Wi Fi were not working, and the hot water in the shower came after 10min of running, No view from the room, only from the garden.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank charlesLef
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Charlse Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are naturally dissapointed that you and your female companion found the Accomodation unsuitable for your needs . When you booked you asked for a ocean view and the price was quoted to you. Accordingly you were booked into the garden suite which has 180 degree vista...

zuerich
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We went there with family.Location and views are nice. The rooms are very small and there is no privacy.Bed is very hard and we didn't get a thiner cover. The owner just forgett it. As the breakfast was every day the same, no choice (toast and eggs), i've kindly asked for french toast and again the owner was not keen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emma w
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We have duly noted your comments and would like to take this opportunity to respond. Having accreditation now for some years by the south African Tourist board of 3 stars we are sorry you felt that the accommodation was not to your satisfaction. We believe we offer a varied and tasty breakfast for...

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great spot, great views from breakfast area, rooms clean and small number of rooms is perfect if you want a quiet stay. Breakfasts excellent and all staff were very attentive! Hot tub with a view over bay was a welcome surprise! Would definitely recommend a stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJC3006
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guests It is very satisfying to know that all our hard work behind the scenes creates the right atmosphere for you to enjoy your stay with us. Your comment are very welcomed and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Hout Bay View. Thank you again for your kindness. Regards Bryan

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This will be my second visit to Hout Bay View, the first was a number of years ago. What a great job they have done with renovations. So wonderfully calm and the views are simply magnificent. The rooms are very comfortable and the attention to detail makes the stay very welcoming. All the staff are polite and cannot do enough...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Unabalauna
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. Thank you for your very kind comments. It is simply a pleasure to have you stay not once but twice!. Your review is generous in its praise and we thank you for that as we continue to work hard to maintain a consistently high service for our present and future guests. Please dont forget if we may...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Excellent B&B with eight rooms and modern decor. Attentive owners and staff. We used the great room, the outdoor patio with a stunning view of the mountains and bay, the pool, and the hot tub, all excellent, and stayed two weeks in February, 2013. Thanks, Bryan and Drew.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N4Matrix
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guests How grateful we are that you have taken the time to review Hout bay View. Spending over two weeks with us gives you a great feel for the atmosphere we try hard to maintain at the guest house. We are glad you felt comfortable with all amenities including the guest lounge and free wifi. Please don't forget that...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A great little B&B idealy situated overlooking the stunning Hout Bay. The views really are superb! The friendly owners arranged our tranfers and car hire although we also found it very straight forward to get to the centre of Cape Town using public transport. The Blue Route Tour Bus even picks up and drops off at Hout Bay Marina. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank imm58
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Hello Izzy Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hout Bay View. It is advertising that we simply cannot buy and offers a real insight for prospective guests. Your kind comments are very pleasing as we work hard at the small details so the overall experience is enjoyable. I will let all the staff know how pleased...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.7 km away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#11 of 61 in Hout Bay
166 reviews
1.6 km away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#28 of 61 in Hout Bay
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#13 of 61 in Hout Bay
244 reviews
0.9 km away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#27 of 61 in Hout Bay
70 reviews
1.7 km away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#4 of 23 in Hout Bay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: $104 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hout Bay View staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hout Bay View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would choose the suite No. 8 with air condition. the other rooms have a fan.”
 of 5 bubbles 966heidis, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a large room with windows and a view.”
 of 5 bubbles 217murray, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room 8, amazing views...”
 of 5 bubbles CarlyLONDON2016, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The room adjoining the Reception Area.”
 of 5 bubbles 71dianeh, 6 Feb 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable so feel free to choose any one. All the rooms are different sizes too.”
  • View of the harbour from the terrace.
  • View of the beach from the terrace.
 of 5 bubbles 348andres, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5