We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hout Bay Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hout Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hout Bay Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated in the heart of Hout bay, with an amazing view of the bay. The harbor is just across the road and also the Hout bay harbor market is within walking distance (around 15 minutes). A bit expensive for a backpackers since you also have to pay for the wifi (you get a voucher when checking in – but when... More 

Helpful?
Thank ErikKraft
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Me, my two teenagers and my mum stayed there for a week and would go back any day! Lovely location, safe and very clean More like a guest house than a backpacker! Our room was very spacious, cleaned daily and we had clean towels daily.Rules are clear and obeyed by all residents.Value for money indeed! Sarah, our host, was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marais l
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Our group of 22 (geology students, Germany) took essentially possession of Hout Bay Backpackers for four nights. We had a great time and felt very comfortable there. The location is very convenient (beach, shopping, transport all within walking distance), and several major attractions can be reached within 15 minutes driving. Sarah and her staff were relaxed, helpful and competent. Check-in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christoph H
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Christoph, Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our fantastic venue and hope to see you all again soon. Cheers Sarah, Molly and the team! More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Fantastic base, especially for cycling Chapman's Peak. Some good places for walks (in groups) and watersports. The hostel is small but has a very friendly, family vibe. There are good kitchen space and en-suite rooms, plus a large sun-room and decking.

Helpful?
Thank tafrica2016
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Great place . Clean and neat. Friendly staff. Helpfull staff. Value for money and excellently positioned in hout bay. Whats more, i left some items behind in the room when i left and the owners arranged to have this misplaced items sent to my home address. Hout Bay is excellent and the hostel is very close to the beach, restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dale M
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Dale, Thank you for your review and hope to see you and your family soon! More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I felt really comfortable and was happy that I've chosen this backpackers. It's a small backpackers but it feels like being in a family because everybody knows each other. I always had really nice conversations with the other people in the lounge. Everything is really clean and I never had something to complain about. I would recommend this backpackers to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mtrenner96
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Maike for your review, hope you visit us again! More 

Oudtshoorn
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We stayed in the family room for one night,including granny and niece and we were all very impressed with the high standard of this hostel.Even though the wind howled outside everything inside was perfect.I definately recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to stay in the area

Helpful?
Thank MariusWilken
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Marius and family, hope you stay a bit longer next time! and thank you for lovely review. More 

Tranas, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2016

I stayed for 3 weeks and had a great time here. Perfect location, nearby everything you need in Hout Bay and also obviously at a comfortably short distance to Cape Town. Friendly staff, good facilities and a nice atmosphere overall. Beautiful view of the bay with the beach and the surrounding mountains. Awesome to be able to park my rental... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindenjohan
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Johan, Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back here soon! Cheers Sarah More 

Monster, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We stayed with our two sons, 7 and 13 years old and had a super time! 4 nights was too short! Location super, market, hop on hop off bus nearby, harbour, Staff very helpful and friendly!! Excellent room, clean, comfortable and spacious and trendy. Safe place, The best place we have been staying in in South Africa!!

Helpful?
Thank francis_schinkel
Sarah G, Manager at Hout Bay Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon, Molly will be waiting for you with her ball! More 

Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

The place was very nice, everything prepared and they even did our laundry that was so great. Will definetly visit the place soon. The view was spectacular and the fact that its closer to the beach. It's also secured and we felt safe. It's really a place to go and enjoy some time away from the rush of the city.

Helpful?
Thank Tulisa M

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hout Bay
18.0 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.8 km away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
364 reviews
0.3 km away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#9 of 61 in Hout Bay
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#10 of 61 in Hout Bay
37 reviews
0.4 km away
No photo provided
Brightwater Lodge
#29 of 61 in Hout Bay
39 reviews
16.2 km away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 128 in Cape Town Central
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hout Bay Backpacker Lodge is situated a stone's throw away from Hout Bay Beach with uninterrupted views of beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. The Lodge is quiet and comfortable, just 20 minutes from Cape Town and on the public transport route. Our hostel suits budget travelers wanting to experience Hout Bay (restaurants, harbour, beach, Seal Island, World of Birds, etc), discerning backpackers requiring a base from which to hike Table Mountain National Park, bike Chapman's Peak, surf Llandudno and travelers interested in township tours and meeting volunteers working on community development projects.The dormitories all have en-suite bathrooms, sleeping a maximum of 6 people per dorm, we also have 4 en suite private rooms and the communal lounge area has DSTV and a large fireplace. Knowledgable staff are on hand to advise and assist in planning a vast range of activities for you, including: surfing, fishing, diving, sailing, hiking trails, top restaurants, wine and township tours, pubs and if that's not enough, there's loads of live entertainment!Loc al volunteer and language courses are also available. Dune's Lodge, Hout Bayis a 3 star lodge run together with Hout Bay Backpackers and comprises of 4 luxury en-suite rooms with DSTV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms lead out on to a private wooden deck with views of Hout Bay beach, habour and the majestic Chapman's Peak. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hout Bay Backpackers

Address: Corner of Harbour and, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hout Bay Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hout Bay Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floor rooms have the better views, of course”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“for families the family room!!”
 of 5 bubbles francis_schinkel, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor have a nice view over the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles Amy880211, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Chose a room with one of the decks stunning sunrise and views”
 of 5 bubbles francois208, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the bottom floor are half below ground which means they are cooler, but don't have a view.”
  • The view from the terrace
 of 5 bubbles Luk_Miska, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5