We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Fontaine Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Fontaine Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Fontaine Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 276: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2014

La Fontaine stands right in the heart of Franschhoek so it's within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Our rooms were away from the main house in a building with its own lounge and kitchen set in a charming garden. The "honesty bar" was a well-stocked fridge in the kitchen. Guests wrote down what they had selected from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RayMagsandBruce
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. The late 19th century building has such charm and character but with all the modern day amenities. Our location is great - no need to drive to the restaurants so that you can enjoy the wonderful selection of wines that Franbschhoek has to offer. We look forward to welocming you or your friends...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in February 2014. A party of 4 we were in the adjoining property, which far from being a dissapointment was really peaceful and we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast is very good, the only downside is the tables are much too small for 4 people, However this pales into insignificance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wrinkleytraveller
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Hi seasoned travellers! Thank you so much for your review. We do agree that the tables are a bit small for 4 people but as we serve breakfast outside under the vine covered pergola, the space is slightly limited as most of the guests want to enjoy the sunshine and do not want to sit in the breakfast room where...

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Kathy, Dawn, Richard and team were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them.Being here for 6 nights we tried many restaurants but it was extremely busy over Valentines day and Kathy and dawn tried many restaurants to get us in, they did. Stayed in the stables which was like having your own little house and garden, a very large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Archee E
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and I must admit I was sad to see you leave but we are looking forward to welcoming you at La Fontaine again, hopefully in September. The sugar birds are still in the garden which has kept many a visitor enthralled!! Warm wishes,...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Well located guesthouse in town. Easy walk to restaurants. Somewhat dated establishment with rooms spread over different buildings. Large rooms with good beds and bedrooms. Free parking and (weak) wifi. Good breakfast served inside (dark) or pretty garden. Can recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcinbrussels
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The buildings are historical, with the main house being built in 1926 and was used as a girls' boarding house and the Victorian section built in 1895 each with their own charm. There are not many of these buildings left so we must treasure them. Free Wifi is available throughout the property and sometimes the...

Umea, Sweden
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Once again back at La Fontaine. The service and the good people running La Fountaine Guest House made us come back. The hostess also helped us to book dinners in town as that can be a problem especially during the high season. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dalle_villanas
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

It is such a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and to see familiar faces. Even though you have returned to us once more, we will always ensure that you get the same friendly, helpful service which you deserve. Until next time! Warm wishes, Kathie and the La Fontaine Team

Libreville, Gabon
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I loved this B&B. The proprietor was VERY friendly and extraordinarily accommodating. My schedule was very inconvenient for them but she made it work and cooked me a breakfast to go to boot! The room was very nice and very clean and there are all sort of little bits and bobs to explore around the house. I would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff B
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service to make you feel completely at home and relaxed. One guest wrote "if hospitality is an art, then you all definitely are great artists!" - a great compliment to my team. We hope that you will return to La Fontaine with friends and family...

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Fontaine for just one night on our trip from Cape Town down to PE. On arrival we found they had a problem with the room. But there was no issue and no fuss as we headed out for lunch. When we came back, all was sorted and we had a nice garden suite room overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart_Goble
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Stuart It was quite a challenge to find a restaurant on New Year's Eve! My advice to anyone staying in Franschhoek over Christmas and New Year is to ask us to pre-book restaurants. Fortunately we were able to sort out the burst geyser quickly with no damage to the ceiling and the carpeting in your room! Good wishes for...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This place is truly one of the most beautiful places we have been to in South Africa. The houses and the decor and all the small things they have done is just making everything so comfortable and relaxing. The staff is extremely helpful. The place is quiet. They have all kinds of stuff to make your stay perfect like a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Henning K
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We at La Fontaine strive to create a "home from home" atmosphere but on a professional basis. Although our positioning is within a short walking distance to the town, it is extremely quiet and we have created gardens which attract the sugar birds and sometimes the neighbours cats!! We look forward to welcoming you back...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at la fontaine just One night. The house is really nice, an ancient atmosphere, center city posituined in a very nice village. The room was comfortable,big bed and loads of pillowes. Our room was not very well fornitured: oldish stuff and the bathroom was a bit poor,not very coordinated accessories but however cleaned. The temperature was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank solecheride79
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All our rooms are decorated differently to create a homely atmosphere and in keeping with the style of the house. All the garden rooms have fireplaces to keep the rooms warm and cosy. Good wishes for the New Year. Kathie

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 3 nights in main house which is beautiful classic style, well maintained and in good location from main eating area of Franschhoek. Breakfast also very nice and staff helpful. All in all a good choice to stay. Even met an Ex Springbok whilst staying :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimClarkeManchester
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Jim Thank you for your review. I thoroughly enjoyed your interesting discussions about your work. I hope you were able to unwind even though you had to do work but at least there was plenty of sunshine and tranquil surroundings. The former Springboks broken leg has mended well and he has started to walk on it - time to...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
618 reviews
0.6 km away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
543 reviews
0.3 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 65 in Franschhoek
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $128 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Fontaine Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms seem to have good amenities”
 of 5 bubbles fionah628, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Poolside cottages (Lemon Room particularly) are private and romantic”
 of 5 bubbles nealandjenns, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a rear or garden room as o The street can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles peter7685, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was quiet and spacious. The orange garden room is perfect for a family.”
 of 5 bubbles 202dianal, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“the bacon at breakfast is excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles Warren278, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5