We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Booking.comUSD 179*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 211*
USD 179*
USD 211*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Start your review of L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
 Click to rate
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The location is stunning. The breakfast view is one you cannot beat. We stayed in 2 room villa which was spacious. Great sized rooms to accommodate longer stays. The bar is great spot to try some wines. The pools although small, offer fantastic views. Our AC was broken and during high occupancy our cleaning and towels were a bit inconsistent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrizzTravel
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

thank you very much for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. Your comments are noted and we will definitely strive to improve our offering and service. Kind regards Cynthia

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This was our most disappointing stay whilst in South Africa. Most of the staff didn't seem to want to give you any attention. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was in the main building and was very nice but that's where it stopped. Most of the villas are privately owned and so the hotel doesn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LondonLost
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Unfortunately the construction at the privately owned apartment at the pool commenced without the hotel being informed and we apologise for the inconvenience that this caused. However, I am glad that you liked the villa you were upgraded to and I hoped that you enjoyed your dinner...

Cape Town
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We had out of town family visiting and we brought them to franshoek for lunch. Since we stayed at this establishment in the past and knew of the excellent food quality, picturesque setting and great service would not let us down. Made a booking which is wise as only two or three groups can be accommodated on the Terrance overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelFeetZA
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive feedback and I will ensure that our chef receives a copy of your comments on his food. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Cynthia

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. My husband and i were given the honeymoon suite which was spectacular - the bathroom was huge - big bath set in marble, very big walk in shower, separate toilet and 2 basins set in a huge expanse of marble - and a walk in wardrobe area. The tea and coffee making facilities are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo8084
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very extensive review. I assure you that any feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us in improving our offering and the service. The swimming pool is something that has been discussed with the owners and they are looking into making some changes. Kind regards Cynthia

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Th room was very spacious in fact enormous and actually had a washing machine which came in very handy! Food was good staff were very helpful and friendly and the bed was extremely comfortable. Would definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claire09092016
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the property and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Cynthia

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We had a great stay here. The room had a fantastic view, the room decor was a little dated but very spacious and great choice at breakfast. We had some problems checking in (our booking could not be found) but they found another villa for us and very kindly reimbursed us for the inconvenience. We were very impressed with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMC1395
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and your comments are noted. Again our sincerest apologies for the mix up with your booking. Kind regards Cynthia

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We arrived by car and found the hotel just outside the village. We were met by Cystal who was on duty when we arrived. She was very helpful and even tried to sort out the internet problems for us. The rest of the staff where helpful. Breakfast was served on the terrace near the reception. plenty of choice. Nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Dear Sue Thank you for taking the time to review the property. It is greatly appreciated and only through your feedback can we improve. We are currently working with our ISP to rectify and resolve the issues we are experiencing with free WiFi to all the rooms and it should be resolved shortly. My sincerest apologies for the internet problems...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed 3 nights in the villa accommodation (#29). Based on the 5* price ($350/night) and the wonderful photos and descriptions on the web-site, I was expecting something fairly luxurious. What is not clear on the web-site is that some or all of these villas are privately owned and L'ermitage has no control over what is and is not included....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveW_MSP
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your input and your complaints have been forwarded to the owner. Please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the owner and we will address all the issues with the owner. Kind regards Cynthia

Moreton-in-marsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Our first impression after our arrival was of a little village plus church at the end of a lovely valley. On a Sunday lunchtime we were surprised at so few people in the restaurant, the food was fairly standard but tasted very nice, with lovely friendly service. Only afterwards did we realise that there are so many fantastic rearaurants here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your comments are noted. There are so many fabulous restaurants in Franschhoek and it is worth another visit to experiencing but a few of what the valley has to offer. Kind regards Cynthia

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous property! We were a party of 11 and booked 4 rooms. The rooms are like a palace- we had a two bedroom and it had enough space for all of us( almost). The views and finishing of the property, the service and friendliness is top notch. I am amazed how it is not 5 star but perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy J
CBarnard1234, Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive comments. it is greatly appreciated and I will pass on to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Cynthia

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.8 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
3.5 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
630 reviews
0.8 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.1 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
149 reviews
1.4 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $208 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 room villas”
GrizzTravel, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe room”
claire09092016, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a mountain view!”
AMC1395, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be careful about villa vs hotel. Avoid villa #29”
SteveW_MSP, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms/villas overlooking the lake and mountains”
559annc, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 179* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 211
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates